We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“enjoyable weekend stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites
Ranked #74 of 131 Hotels in Toronto
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“enjoyable weekend stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

upon arrival we were upgraded to a junior suite. rooms were very nice and very clean. nice decorated and complete with a Keurig brewer.
spent some time in the lounge in front of the fireplace and enjoyed our breakfast the next morning which was a full breakfast included with our room price.
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank needingsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    221
    184
    96
    96
See reviews for
203
171
50
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I recently took advantage of a special internet offer for a night at the Toronto Don Valley Hotel. I'd read some mixed reviews so decided to take them up on their offer of a 30$ upgrade. The room had been recently renovated and included a docking station and flat screen tv. The bed seemed new and firm. Because it's an older building the walls were a bit thin and any hallway activity was easily overheard. Nice little bar/bistro downstairs that was fairly priced. Affordable pizza delivery to your room was a nice offering. Pool looked great, and though I didn't go in, others said it was warm. Best thing going would be the proximity to the 401. A few minutes after leaving the hotel, you could be rolling down the highway avoiding any of the traffic you'd encounter when staying closer to the city centre.

Room Tip: upgrade your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KnowAboutTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Lobby - Welcoming and holds true to their motto "urban resort". I feel like they could use some new speakers though... The music creates such an akward radio- music, which really did not suit the decor.

Rooms - We had the basic 2 Double Bed rooms situated on the 2nd floor. I think it was supposed to be a Queen sized bed but it looked more like Double beds. Which was pretty disappointing. The lighting was pretty dim, and the bathroom was really small. Also, the heater/ac switch was basically an on/off thing, but can't control how hot/cold it is... or at least the button/temperature thing was stuck on "wait"... whatever that meant.

Parking - Free for us since it was a part of the deal we got but the parking lot was pretty packed. I would've paid a little bit more if there was underground parking available (not offered)

Indoor Pool - The indoor pool looked so good in pictures and basically what made us want to celebrate new years eve here. But it's a little disappointing once you get there. First of all, we had issues locating the actual pool and you basically have to know that it's that it' a part of the R--something club. Then you get there and there was basically no lighting. Which, I guess is nice to have some dim lighting for the evening, but it's got that dim that's pretty much fine-line creepy.

Breakfast - For $13.95, they had the breakfast buffet from something like 7am-1pm (time may vary, but this was on for new years eve/day. Definitely worth it, the fresh croissants and the unlimited salmon and cottage cheese got me. I wish that they made fresh eggs benedict along with the customized omelettes. --not everyone wants a ham/meat eggs benedict.

Room Tip: If you had the extra $$, try and see if you can get one of the upgraded rooms. I never went but I he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank empss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here with another couple. Very nice inside - décor. Very helpful at front desk. Rooms were nicely decorated, but could tell rooms were a bit dated. Bathtub was old, few things broken off wall in bathroom. Sliding door to balcony didn't work too well. Bed was very comfortable. We got a deal on WagJag (Jaunt) to stay here and also a deal for Toronto Dinner Cruise (please don't spend your money on the cruise!!!)
We had breakfast the next morning in the restaurant - very very expensive $70 for 4 - bacon/eggs!!! Food was not very good - not sure about lunch or dinner, but breakfast was terrible. Parking was included in the deal as well.

Room Tip: ask for balcony if you're a smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porchlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa canada
Level Contributor
332 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I signed up for their frequent stay club for free. This gave me $10 off the already low rate for this booking. Free Internet, free excellent breakfast, free parking. The hotel was clean, beds were comfortable. Location was great. Very near Eglington and don valley parkway. I'll go back.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canadian-eh777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tottenham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I recently attended a course for work in Toronto and it was my great pleasure to stay at the Don Valley Hotel for five nights. The staff are very friendly, the hotel is clean and the food is terrific. My room was very comfortable and quiet.
The pool was wonderful, I had it to myself most of the time. It is kept very clean and at a pleasant temperature. The sauna in the woman's change room was a real bonus.
The bistro was very warm and comfortable. The servers were very friendly and the food was very good. Nothing to complain about here!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. I was on the second floor and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KymmTottenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevipor, Manager at Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We would like to personally thank you for making the Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites, your hotel of choice while visiting Toronto and we thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I got a deal online with Groupon to stay at this hotel, obviously I checked the hotel out first and saw it was currently under renos. I hoped I would get a nice new room considering I was staying mid week, nope ended up getting an older one. There wasn't much wrong with the room but it clearly needed updating! Bathtub drain was clogged, the door to the balcony wouldn't fully close allowing outside noise to come in, but at least the bed was comfortable.
Overall I'd probably try out a different hotel next time unless I was offered a newly renovated room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snnelson15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
North York
Radisson Hotel Toronto East
North York
BEST WESTERN PLUS Toronto North York Hotel & Suites
North York
The Westin Prince Toronto
The Westin Prince Toronto
#46 of 131 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North End
BEST WESTERN Roehampton Hotel & Suites
North York
Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York
Scarborough
BEST WESTERN PLUS Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites

Property: Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites
Address: 175 Wynford Drive, Toronto, Ontario M3C 1J3, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > North York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto Don Valley Hotel is a spa like resort located near downtown Toronto where guests can relax in comfort. This Toronto resort offers a variety of vacation packages to suit any budget, meeting facilities, wedding venues, and multiple dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Don Valley Hotel North York
Toronto Don Valley Hotel And Suites
Crowne Plaza North York
North York Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing