We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good alternative to Casa Loma”
Review of Spadina Museum

Spadina Museum
Ranked #53 of 530 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The years between the two Great Wars, when Toronto experienced increased immigration, the vote for women, the stock market crash, prohibition and the introduction of public health and welfare. It's also the time of the Charleston craze, tabloid journalism, new technology and more. And it can all be seen, heard, felt and lived at Spadina Museum - Toronto's only museum to represent the 1920s and 30s, a transformative period that dramatically changed the City. For over a century, Spadina was home to three generations of the Austin family. Opened in 1984, it is one of 10 historic sites operated by the City of Toronto. Spadina Museum completed an extensive interior restoration in 2010, bringing the house back into the twentieth century. Visitors may view what the house looked like during those years through artifacts, furnishings and reproduced and original decor or explore the estate's six acres of restored 1905 gardens. Today, Spadina Museum interprets the interwar period through a rich slate of guided tours, school programs, special events, changing exhibits, lectures and workshops. Spadina Museum is one of 10 historic museums operated by the City of Toronto. Toronto's Historic Sites engage visitors, inspire passion, challenge ideas and connect the past to the present.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

It is not as pricey as Casa Loma (located just across the street), but of course the house is much more modest too. But having been in both places, I find this smaller house more charming in terms of interior decoration. That being said, a visit to Casa Loma cannot be replaced by this one. They are very different, but this house is earlier and its "Palm Room" is a predecessor to Casa Loma`s conservatory. Visit to the house is only through guided tours, and I actually like that because you get to interact with the guide. The orchid and gardens of the House is very beautiful too.

1  Thank rchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas F, Program Officer at Spadina Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

As you say, both houses are very different. Casa Loma and Spadina are nice reminders that not everyone lives the same way in any one period. Seeing the original furnishings and décor within Spadina and the grand structure of Casa Loma, it is fun to imagine what the conversations were between these two families. Or even better what they said about one another.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 173 of 250 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

I preferred it to its neighbor Casa Loma. It had a warm lived in quality. The gardens are lovely and it is well furnished with original furniture.

1  Thank aileenTorontoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas F, Program Officer at Spadina Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you. That "warm lived in" feel is the result of the generosity of the Austin family, the work of curators, conservators, gardening & housekeeping staff and many others. We wish every room to look as if the family just stepped out (and could step back).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our tour guide did a great job and spent a lot of time explaining features of the house and the family that lived there. So much better than Casa Loma at 1/2 the price!

1  Thank ctbeachbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas F, Program Officer at Spadina Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for your review. Part of our mandate as a City of Toronto Museum is to be accessible. Our pricing is part of that, but also our tour staff. We are open to a wide variety of visitors, those who just like to let the visuals soak in, those who have lots of questions and those who have their own stories to share of the 1920s & 1930s. Check our facebook page for theme tours and upcoming special events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

You must to see it anyway ! It's a real time -machine in Victorian Age of middle class in Toronto. In same time it a real house of real family. You can see the interiors of this mansion- beautiful woodwork, fixtures, antiques, and the history of the House is fascinating !

2  Thank zhanplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas F, Program Officer at Spadina Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

The authenticity of the home, having original artifacts and decor is our greatest asset. And to have the majority of objects where they actually were in the 1920s and 1930s does take the home to another level. Since it is a bit much to take in during one visit, we encourage return through different themed tours and special events. Check out our facebook page for details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I recommend visiting, because it is very interesting. You can also have a birthday party there. The only trouble is parking, since there are virtually no parking spaces. You may be able to park at Casa Loma and visit that as well. Warning: it is pronounced Spadeena and spelt like Spadina, unlike the street (pronounced Spadina.)

1  Thank Party444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas F, Program Officer at Spadina Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for your notes to future visitors. Visitors may also wish to come by public transit. We are a short walk from 2 subway stations. As to birthday parties, these are offered when the museum is closed to the public. The birthday group get to use the house as their own time machine into the 1920s without being distracted by other groups. Give us a phone call to inquire about details for your birthday child age 5 to 12.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spadina Museum also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Spadina Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing