We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the right food to fill up on after exploring Toronto”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caplansky's Deli

Caplansky's Deli
Ranked #623 of 8,432 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Canadian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just the right food to fill up on after exploring Toronto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

After walking around for several hours this was a great place to sit down and fill up with great food. The smoked deli sandwich was very tasty, and the BBQ beef brisket was juicy with a nice pickle.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    143
    66
    48
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This place ain't great - so if you are visiting Toronto looking for something keep looking. It is an ok corn beef place - nothing more. It is in my area so I find myself so I find myself there a couple of times a year - each time the price never matches up to the experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank localguy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWMARKET
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Go to montreal for some real tasty smoked meat.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The wife and I had an appointment next door. And have been wanting to try the smoked meat. We usually hit the famous deli on the Main in Montreal every time we pass through.
Caplansky's was more expensive the the meat does not taste up. It was extremely disappointing.
Even though we asked, go light on the mustard, it was drowning in it. There had been reviews in the local media campareing the smoked meat to Montreal's. Go to Montreal

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ken090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“great deli”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

decided to visit based on the positive reviews. Went on sunday afternoon, after a very short wait were seated. The decor is a modern take on the traditional deli. Service was very good and pleasant. Had the smoked meat, which is very good. The meat was sliced thick, it had a smokey & sweet taste, different from the classic montreal smoked meat. I liked the selection of mustards, experiment to find which one is best. i liked the hot combined with the classic yellow. The portion was just right.We also ordered the latkes, there were 5 medium sized portion, which were also very good & tasted homemade. My daughter had the grilled cheese which she raved about. We did not have room for desert, but they looked good. This was a great deli experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank agac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Late lunch on the patio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Me and my son son stopped in for some eastern europeon food. We had the borcsh witch was very good but too small a portion for the price. It was less like borch but more like Bigos ( polish hunter stew), very good quality ingredients. We also had the smoked meat sandwich, it was very good but the large size was too pricey for the portion. I would come back again but order the smaller sizes because the larger sizes where not much bigger portion for the extra money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caplansky's Deli also viewed

 

Been to Caplansky's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing