We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wheel chair friendly attraction!”
Review of Toronto Zoo

Toronto Zoo
Ranked #19 of 515 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Toronto Zoo is a living centre for education and science, committed to providing compelling guest experiences and inspiring passion to protect wildlife and habitats. Did you know that your admission into Canada's premier Zoo helps support the over 5,000 animals? In addition to having award-winning outdoor and indoor exhibits, education programs, special events, daily Keeper Talks and the Discovery Zone*, the Toronto Zoo is home to Canada's only giant pandas! Don't forget to visit with Da Mao, Er Shun and her dynamic cubs-Jia Panpan and Jia Yeuyeu-before they depart March 2018. NEW at the Toronto Zoo, visitors can now see our state-of the-art Wildlife Health Centre*. This new facility is the first of its kind in Canada and further enhances the Toronto Zoo as a centre of excellence in high-quality animal care through veterinary and reproductive sciences, nutritional physiology, and conservation and wildlife research.Exclusive to our Zoomobile tour, you can now see first-hand a glimpse into the work we do behind-the-scenes. Your Zoomobile ride-all-day wristband* or Membership Card gives you access to a viewing gallery featuring the following rooms: Diagnostic Imaging, Treatment, Surgery, Clinical Lab and Endocrinology Lab. *not included in Zoo Admission, additional fee applies. To help plan your day please visit our website and we look forward to seeing you very soon! *Seasonal schedules apply. Special events subject to change without notice.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Wheel chair friendly attraction!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Zoo was really spread out which meant it wasn't so annoying and busy like some other zoos are, we didn't feel like we where all on top of each other either which meant it was quite a relaxing day. We where also able to loan a wheel chair FREE for the day which meant it was easier for my disabled father to get around. Lots to see and do here, a whole day is definitely needed. You can get some excellent photos of the elephants and the rhinos too! Super helpful staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PrincessPink653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,911
    1,303
    503
    157
    83
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Everything is PANDA orientated at the moment and much to the cost of the other animals as the zoo has two pandas on loan from China so they want to make the most out of absolutely EVERYTHING panda and the zoo has really gone over the top. This zoo covers a tremendous acreage and so you really MUST be fit and enjoy a LOT of walking and sometimes the paths are very hilly and NOT suitable for disabled visitors or those with buggies/strollers. Not greatly impressed with this zoo. Although there is a little train shuttle the driver was in a very bad mood and the chap giving the informative talk was to say the least annoying and condescending and the train moved too fast to be actually able to see the animals so you need to get off the train and walk to the animal enclosures and then wait for the train to do its round trip and pick you up again to take you to the next enclosure. The Canadian exhibit of animals was the worst I have seen anywhere - my daughter waited 3 years to see a moose - she couldn't - it was too far away !!! Negative points - your children will get bored with the walking, and if you are disabled there are areas where you just won't be able to go. If it is a hot day it is way too tiring and if it is wet - well just don't go ! Plus the zoo is about a 45 minute hair raising drive down the Don Valley Park Way and if you get your City Pass which gives you a 30% discount you will have to hire a car AND pay extra for parking at the zoo ! or take an expensive taxi all the way out. Unless you are a zoo fanatic or fanatical about pandas specifically this is an attraction which I wouldn't put very high on my "must visit" list. And of course the refreshments are SUPER expensive so do take your own ! Again, be careful in the various gift shops as you can get the same stuff a lot cheaper in Toronto City. OK if you need to fill a day but there are better attractions to go visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank southernbelle758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Popular zoo despite what Bob Barker says”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Toronto Zoo is one of the largest zoos in North America and has a great collection of animals. With the recent addition of pandas it's well worth a visit but be warned be prepared to spend.

Entrance for an adult is $30 plus you have to pay for parking. Since this is an attraction be prepared to pay a lot for food but they do allow you to bring in your own food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“1st time Zoo'er”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had an absolute wonderful & fun time at the Zoo, lots of animals, lots of walking. I'd recommend bringing your own lunch & water, and give yourself lots of time (took us about 6hrs to enjoy the whole Zoo at a relaxed pace). Outta curiosity I asked if they do CAA discount and they DO give a discount 10%, which is great considering Parking is $10 + $30per ticket. Enjoy!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank NaTT609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lots of Walking”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Lots of hills to walk.The animals look sad but in good shape. The grounds are in amazing shape. Great value for a whole day event

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toronto Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Toronto Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing