We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It rained but it was still great.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toronto Zoo

Toronto Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.13*
and up
Toronto CityPASS
Ranked #16 of 500 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Toronto Zoo is a living centre for education and science, committed to providing compelling guest experiences and inspiring passion to protect wildlife and habitats. Did you know that your admission into Canada's premier Zoo helps support the over 5,000 animals? In addition to having award-winning outdoor and indoor exhibits, education programs, special events, daily Keeper Talks and the Discovery Zone*, the Toronto Zoo is home to Canada's only giant pandas! Don't forget to visit with Da Mao, Er Shun and her dynamic cubs-Jia Panpan and Jia Yeuyeu-before they depart March 2018. To help plan your day please visit our website and we look forward to seeing you very soon! *Seasonal schedules apply. Special events subject to change without notice.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“It rained but it was still great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

What a great family outing. The admission price is great, considering that you can bring a picnic and make it a day. The animals are fabulous and if you don't to wait for hours in line to see the pandas, just go while it's raining!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,736
    1,182
    445
    135
    72
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wuhan, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of the best days of our summer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hands down one of the best attractions in all of Canada. This is an epic sized soo with so many interesting creatures to see around every corner. There is a lot of walking involved but at least the layout is designed well and the paths take you directly from one attraction to the next. Food selection and prices is not too bad for a tourist trap. People stayed in 2 hour lineups to see the panda but I think the Polar Bears are the highlight of the park. There is a very large variety of animals here and their habitats look well maintained and quite luxurious. Another part our kid loved was the splash pad where there is water shooting up everywhere from status of various marine animals and the kids can just go crazy in there having a lot of fun and cooling off from a hot day.

The main sour points were having to park in the backup parking lot and having a long walk, crossing a busy road just to get in. Paying $10 to park in a horrible spot like that felt like a rip off but the price of the zoo admission was well worth it. Highly recommend this place as it is very entertaining for the young and old, just make sure you plan on spending the entire day there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank oneupcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, MO
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Happy that we visited”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The Toronto Zoo was a lot of fun for my wife two boys ( 4 & 7) and myself. There were lots of animals to see and the park was not very crowded. In fact, we were able to see the Panda's without any wait at all. The key was waiting until all the school groups and daycare groups left for the day ( around 2). A couple negatives. On the outside the park it is a little unkept, a little messy. The landscaping in the immediate area of each exhibit is very nice but in between exhibits it was unkept. I live in St Louis and might be spolied because the STL Zoo is so well taken care of all around the park. While it was expensive to get in the zoo, I thought prices inside the zoo were reasonable. The last 1.5 hrs of our day we spent in the splash zone, my kids loved it and could have spent even more time playing in the water. We had a great time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Giant Pandas and Beautiful Habitats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Watching the kangaroos lounge on the grass and seeing gorgeous fish, a Komodo Dragon and the Giant Pandas that are adorable was worth the drive. Very enjoyable for all ages.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Bring LOTS of $$$$$$ You will need it in this price trap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just home from a long day at the zoo which overall was great for my Grandaughter and I.
However, there are a few issues that really need to be addressed.

1. The entry free is quite horrendous $28 + $18=46 +$10 parking =$56 just to walk in the door.
2. The parking should be included in the price, its just a price gauge. The parking lot is huge, loads of parking and it's not like there is anywhere else nearby to leave your car and walk in.
3. The bathrooms are smelly and not once during our visit did I see 1 single attendant in there to wipe down the soaking wet and dirty sinks. We visited 2 bathrooms during our visit, the one by the main gates and the one by the Gorillas. The bathrooms need a good dose of bleach and elbow grease. The public toilets are unhygienic and a disgrace, especially after paying so much to walk in the door, you enter a dirty smelly toilet. Thank god I brought purell to sanitize our hands.
4. There should be a better way to get around. The exhibits are so spread out that I couldn't make it back to the front gate without a ride. Why should we have to pay another $16 ($8 each for zoomobile) on top of our entry fee due to poor planning like walking down that huge hill for the Canadian exhibit and having to struggle all the way back up. Why does the zoomobile not make some sort of stop in that area. I watched many young and old alike struggle with that hill. I didn't see any staff around to see if patrons were ok or needed any assistance. That's very poor customer service for any industry.
5. Food prices again horrendous. I can see adding a little on the cost of food but $4.50 +tax for a bottle of water sold for $1 elsewhere and $9 for a slice of pizza and a drink. $10 buys 2 whole medium pizzas at Pizza Pizza. Wow, even my Grandaughter said that's a "rip off"!! Again, the restaurant that had the Pizza Pizza was filty. I looked at the vents beside the tables and the glass and they looked like they had no been wiped down in over a year, Filthy.
6. Navigation was an issue, it was hard to navigate the maps. There were billboards showing the white tigers... not a single arrow anywhere to be seen showing which direction they were in. Even with the use of signs in the park and the map we still had no clue where we were or which way we were going... I saw this happening again and again.
We enjoyed the animals but for the money we paid to walk in and the price of food and transportation, it wasn't worth the money.
The animals were great, enjoyed the giant pandas, polar bears, gorillas, orangatangs, grizzly bears, otters and many more looked healthy and well looked after but, if you are rich and can afford to blow approx $135 for 2 without even hitting the gift shop... we were there 6 1/2 hours and didn't see everything

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Blue_eyez_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toronto Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Toronto Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing