We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Zoo”
Review of Toronto Zoo

Toronto Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.13*
and up
Toronto CityPASS
Ranked #19 of 513 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Toronto Zoo is a living centre for education and science, committed to providing compelling guest experiences and inspiring passion to protect wildlife and habitats. Did you know that your admission into Canada's premier Zoo helps support the over 5,000 animals? In addition to having award-winning outdoor and indoor exhibits, education programs, special events, daily Keeper Talks and the Discovery Zone*, the Toronto Zoo is home to Canada's only giant pandas! Don't forget to visit with Da Mao, Er Shun and her dynamic cubs-Jia Panpan and Jia Yeuyeu-before they depart March 2018. NEW at the Toronto Zoo, visitors can now see our state-of the-art Wildlife Health Centre*. This new facility is the first of its kind in Canada and further enhances the Toronto Zoo as a centre of excellence in high-quality animal care through veterinary and reproductive sciences, nutritional physiology, and conservation and wildlife research.Exclusive to our Zoomobile tour, you can now see first-hand a glimpse into the work we do behind-the-scenes. Your Zoomobile ride-all-day wristband* or Membership Card gives you access to a viewing gallery featuring the following rooms: Diagnostic Imaging, Treatment, Surgery, Clinical Lab and Endocrinology Lab. *not included in Zoo Admission, additional fee applies. To help plan your day please visit our website and we look forward to seeing you very soon! *Seasonal schedules apply. Special events subject to change without notice.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Oshawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mediocre Zoo”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Compared to other world zoos the Toronto Zoo is mediocre at best, with few animals thinly spread over a vast area. Few new animals of interest have been added recently, as the focus seems to be on adding restaurants. Hopefully it will be better when they have the pandas.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,855
    1,259
    483
    150
    80
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lots to See and Explore!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

It came with our CityPass ticket.

We went into February, so there wasn't a lot of crowds. In the Summer, it's beautiful. But it was covered in snow. It's a big place, so there's a lot of walking. The animals appear rested and content. There were penquins, monkeys, apes, kingaroos, hogs, pigs, Tigers (two), Buffalo, bats, fish from Australia, and yes, a polar bear, and yeah.

There's more in the summer. No elephants or giraffes in the Winter.

The staff were helpful and gave us information when asked! Some of the monkeys were eating snow, which was funny.

We didn't have kids with us, but the kids who were there seemed to be enjoying themselves. There's some playgrounds and lots of statues to pose with. There's always information about the animals at the zoo and their habitats. It REALLY brings in-sight into how important it is that we protect endangered animals.

The Tigers were separated within two big cages and the one bigger one (I assume male), kept growing for it's mate! They were talking in between distances. It was cool. I'm not sure why they keep them separated, though.

A good site for kids and adults.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rayndroplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent zoo”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

It is a must see and the best zoo to give quality care in the world. they know what is good for the animals and want to preserve endangered species

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole family”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My 4 yr old daughter loved seeing all of the different animals. She especially liked the animals. There are plenty of washroom facilities and affordable food options. Expect lots of walking! The waterpark is always a big hit on a hot summer day as well. We brought a wagon full of snacks, our swim suits and a chage of clothes. Our daughter ened up riding in it a lot of the time too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellatraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Zoo”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have spent a lot of time at this zoo and would recommend it to anyone. There is a wide variety of animals to look at, plenty of opportunities to learn from zoo keepers and interactive displays, and you can take comfort in knowing that the animals are well cared for. It is a big zoo, so do be prepared for a lot of walking. I will say the options for food aren't amazing, so pack a lunch (WITHOUT plastic bags) if you are really picky.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank hurricane34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toronto Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Toronto Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing