We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a summer wedding”
Review of Casa Loma

Casa Loma
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.14*
and up
Ultimate Toronto Tour
Ranked #14 of 505 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Canada's majestic castle and Toronto’s premier historic attraction. In 1911, Sir Henry Pellatt engaged noted architect E.J. Lennox to help him realize a lifelong dream,the creation of an Edwardian castle on the top of a hill overlooking Toronto. It took 300 men nearly three years to complete the nearly to 200,000 square foot castle at a cost $3,500,000 (at the time). Situated on 5 acres, Casa Loma was the largest private residence in Canada. Sir Henry Pellatt with his wife Lady Mary enjoyed Casa Loma for less than ten years before financial misfortune forced him to abandon his home. The tour of the castle is self-guided. Visitors can experience the castle at their leisure with the aid of multimedia audio guides.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator
ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a summer wedding”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This venue is perfect for a memorable wedding. Guests are treated to the grand history of this castle while being coddled by professional caterers. The patio and gardens were impeccably maintained and a wonderful backdrop for pictures.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kingston007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,481
    1,810
    624
    129
    61
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
105 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

old castle on a hill with an amazing garden and a wonderful view. You can imagine how it was when it was built. It is on the hop on and off bus tour or a fifteen minute walk from the dupont subway

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank lamandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Wow, what a beautiful castle. It was well worth the $20 admission price. The gardens are incredible.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Charity D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
571 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Shakespeare @ Casa Loma!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I went to Casa Loma (for the first time) yesterday and I live in the area! I wish I had have visited sooner. Very beautiful place, unfortunately I didn't get to see much of it or learn the history because I went at nightime specifically for "The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (abridged)." I have never been to anything like this before and it was fantastic! Very funny, time flew by, booze being served and beautiful scenery. I believe this was their last show for the season, but if you get a chance, check it out! I will definitely be going back here during the daytime to check out the grounds and take some pictures.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovedgreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Not much of a castle, but Toronto culture nevertheless”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Any Torontonian who's seen the world knows this ain't much, castle-wise. It's a faded remnant of some really rich guy's glory days, but it's part of Toronto folklore, and interesting to this Toronto guy. See it once in a lifetime if you're from Toronto, pay the 20 bucks to go inside only if you're really pressed for something to do, if you're a tourist. If I were you're tour guide, I'd come up with many better things to do than go inside Casa Loma.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lennyhaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Loma also viewed

 

Been to Casa Loma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing