We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for the price, service could use some work.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ryerson University - Pitman Hall Residence
Ranked #95 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I stayed with my brother for 4 nights here. The room was certainly bigger than I expected, but I've never been in a dorm before.

The room wasn't sparkling clean, we even found an open bag of nacho chips in one of the cupboard (but by the looks of it they'd only been there a day or two at most). That didn't really bother me, as there were no bugs or stains in sight. There was some noise from some kind of construction/renovation happening on the floor above, but it always started late in the morning and stopped early in the evening.

My only real problem was that although they'll advertise that they have rooms for multiple occupants, they only allow 1 key per room, and as my brother and I were doing our own separate things all day, I had to hold onto the key and run back when he needed to get into the room. Another little thing is that while they did have a decent sized closet, they didn't include any hangers, not even a couple cheap wire ones. Also, while not a real problem, I was a bit annoyed that they only had one internet outlet, and it was in the bedroom, not the living room that had a proper desk.

The continental breakfast was okay I guess, but every time I went they had all jelly and no peanut butter, and the one time they did, the toaster stopped working, so I couldn't thaw the partially frozen bread. The fruit was fresh tough, along with the juice and pastries.

Overall, the room itself wasn't bad, it was mostly the 1-key-per-room thing that really bugged me. Due the the location and price, I'd still come here again, but maybe with a travel buddy rather than just someone to split the bill with.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zonglars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 34 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2009

great service, very friendly staff , the rooms are very comfortable (considering the price), and above all EXCELLENT LOCATION. it's very safe as it is part of the Ryerson University campus. i would def stay there again when im in Toronto

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vacationista86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

My stay at the Ryerson was very relaxing and comfortable. Granted it's not a 5 star hotel, however, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the bed was very comfortable! There is a Metro supermarket across the street and it is a short walk to Eaton Center Mall. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mypet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2007

I didn't expect too much since I knew this is a budget/economy hotel, but the staff there were so not professional. Checked me in a room where someone else is still sleeping on the bed, and gave me grill cheese while I ordered a burger. The hallways are so dark and dirty. I could stay in some other better places at the same price.

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank KLeeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2007

Stayed here for 4 nights in August. The room was dead on, as was the bathroom. Had a sofa and tv too.

Breakfast was included in the deal, and there was free internet in the lobby.

A less than 5 minutes walk brought you to the Eaton Centre on Yonge Street.

Overall, if you are looking for clean and cheap accomodation in Toronto I would definately recommend Ryerson.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank p13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2007

This is by far the best deal you can get in downtown Toronto. My friends and I booked a four-room suite which had four little dorm rooms, two bathrooms (4-piece and 2-piece), kitchen and sitting area for only $89 a night -- for the whole thing!

Let's be realistic here, this isn't a four-star hotel, and nor should you expect it to be. What you can expect is a clean, quiet, secure place to stay in the middle of downtown Toronto.

There is a 24-hour grocery store a block away, but if you need any extras such as a hair dryer or an iron, you'd best to bring them yourself.

This time I stayed at Pitman Hall and the year before I stayed at the ILLC (they're across the street from each other) and both were fine.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank plstccstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2007

I love Toronto and have been trying to find economical alternatives to hotels since I began going there. Ryerson was NOT all i expected - small room with a regular bed, pullout, desk, closet-type unit, dresser, tv, bath, phone, but everything was so tightly packed into the room that when the pullout was out there was really no walking or standing room. Items weren't new but decent. Bath tub/shower needed unclogging (water gathered when i showered), but this is a dorm type facility that maintenance probably hadn't gotten around to yet, but it was a great deal. Hated the fact that there was no pool and only 1 computer in the lobby. Food was decent. Safe deposit box at desk came in handy. The location makes up for everything though. We walked to eaton, subway, buses, etc. It's at the heart of everything. Bad side...not close to beach and you have to pay fee to use the campus pool/rec center.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SONJANITA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#59 of 138 in Toronto
2,744 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#105 of 138 in Toronto
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 138 in Toronto
3,767 reviews
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
North York
Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryerson University - Pitman Hall Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryerson University - Pitman Hall Residence

Address: 160 Mutual St, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2M2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $124 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ryerson University - Pitman Hall Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryerson Student Residence Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing