We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ryerson Student Residence
Ranked #90 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Hong Kong or Orlando, Florida or London, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great bargain”
Reviewed August 3, 2009

My stay at the Ryerson was very relaxing and comfortable. Granted it's not a 5 star hotel, however, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the bed was very comfortable! There is a Metro supermarket across the street and it is a short walk to Eaton Center Mall. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mypet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
6
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2007

I didn't expect too much since I knew this is a budget/economy hotel, but the staff there were so not professional. Checked me in a room where someone else is still sleeping on the bed, and gave me grill cheese while I ordered a burger. The hallways are so dark and dirty. I could stay in some other better places at the same price.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank KLeeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

Stayed here for 4 nights in August. The room was dead on, as was the bathroom. Had a sofa and tv too.

Breakfast was included in the deal, and there was free internet in the lobby.

A less than 5 minutes walk brought you to the Eaton Centre on Yonge Street.

Overall, if you are looking for clean and cheap accomodation in Toronto I would definately recommend Ryerson.

  • Liked — Location, value for money
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank p13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2007

This is by far the best deal you can get in downtown Toronto. My friends and I booked a four-room suite which had four little dorm rooms, two bathrooms (4-piece and 2-piece), kitchen and sitting area for only $89 a night -- for the whole thing!

Let's be realistic here, this isn't a four-star hotel, and nor should you expect it to be. What you can expect is a clean, quiet, secure place to stay in the middle of downtown Toronto.

There is a 24-hour grocery store a block away, but if you need any extras such as a hair dryer or an iron, you'd best to bring them yourself.

This time I stayed at Pitman Hall and the year before I stayed at the ILLC (they're across the street from each other) and both were fine.

  • Liked — Great value for your money
  • Disliked — One of my drawers wouldn't stay shut
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank plstccstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2007

I love Toronto and have been trying to find economical alternatives to hotels since I began going there. Ryerson was NOT all i expected - small room with a regular bed, pullout, desk, closet-type unit, dresser, tv, bath, phone, but everything was so tightly packed into the room that when the pullout was out there was really no walking or standing room. Items weren't new but decent. Bath tub/shower needed unclogging (water gathered when i showered), but this is a dorm type facility that maintenance probably hadn't gotten around to yet, but it was a great deal. Hated the fact that there was no pool and only 1 computer in the lobby. Food was decent. Safe deposit box at desk came in handy. The location makes up for everything though. We walked to eaton, subway, buses, etc. It's at the heart of everything. Bad side...not close to beach and you have to pay fee to use the campus pool/rec center.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small room, no pool
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SONJANITA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 25, 2005

I've stayed at this hotel every summer for 3 years, and have already made reservations to return this coming July. I've read the other reviews and feel it has to be pointed out, the rooms cost around $100 a night, high-season downtown Toronto.

While other hotels just blocks away are charging over $200 even over $300 for their rooms, this place is a great deal!

You can't expexct the world for $100, but if you shop around, and compare prices, you'll see this place has them beat! The hotel is entirely run by students who are training to work in the hotel industry, so you have to expect a little roughness around the edges.

The bottom line is this hotel is VERY inexpensive, the rooms are very modest but include the essentials (bed, telephone, cable TV, private washroom, alarm radio, air conditioning) and is a great outlet for new students to enter the hotel industry. At $100 a night, you can't expect the Four Seasons, and at the same time, these kids to a better job than many Ramada's and Howard Johnson's I've stayed at in my time. If you're ona budget, this is the place!

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 22, 2005

My daughter stayed at Ryerson for the month of July - she was part of the National Ballet Summer School Program which uses Ryerson as their housing. When I went for a visit my daughter complained they would not give her a plug for her bathtub. As she was dancing everyday she wanted to soak in the tub. When I went to the lobby to ask for a plug they said due risk of students committing suicide they could not allow the rooms to have plugs. Give me a break, if someone wanted to hurt themselves they could think of other ways than a tub. I was very upset with this rule, talked to many people at Ryerson but they would not allow a plug under any circumstances. When I went to the store and bought my daughter a plug, the cleaning staff took it away. Come on Ryerson, if you are advertising tubs in rooms then let the guests use the tubs!!!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#79 of 136 in Toronto
262 reviews
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#112 of 136 in Toronto
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
bE SixFifty Hotel
bE SixFifty Hotel
#84 of 136 in Toronto
103 reviews
Downtown
89 Chestnut
89 Chestnut
#103 of 136 in Toronto
114 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#76 of 136 in Toronto
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryerson Student Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryerson Student Residence

Property: Ryerson Student Residence
Address: 160 Mutual St, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2M2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ryerson Student Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryerson Student Residence Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing