We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“2 Very Different Locations - Pitman Hall and International Living Centre” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ryerson Student Residence

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ryerson Student Residence
Save
You added Ryerson Student Residence to your Saves list
160 Mutual St., Toronto, Ontario M5B 2M2, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“2 Very Different Locations - Pitman Hall and International Living Centre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

There are two very different locations - I've stayed at both for different reasons

Pitman Hall 160 Mutual St - single room with a single bed and a desk - no restroom/bathroom in your room. Shared bathroom and shared private shower/tub. The mattress is very basic and very hard, not the most comfortable. They have extremely restrictive rules about having visitors to your room, and no one permitted past 11pm into your room. Breakfast is basic but ok. Location and price is fantastic - a couple of blocks east of the Eaton Centre is the primary attraction to this location.

International Living Centre 240 Jarvis St - Queen Sized Bed - some include sofabed(which is useless since the mattress is worse then Pitman hall - I couldn't sleep on the mattress without having pain throughout my body. I had to sleep on the cushions from the sofa bed on the mattress which was challenging) I mentioned it to the front desk at checkout, and the young woman laughed at me. The room is better then Pitman Hall, includes private bathroom/restroom with shower. Still with restrictive access at night though, no guest access after 11pm. Breakfast is good. There is a TV in these room.

Both have common rooms with a TV, fridge and stove.

If you find a hotel at a similar price and location, I would recommend to choose the hotel over either of these locations as the reduced flexibility and improved customer service would be a better experience for most.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JoeMCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
5
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

we stayed at the residence for 3 weeks for a study tour. The hotel was quite pricey it was like paying for a 5 star hotel. The staff were lovely and accommodating and so were the cleaners. but our room was quite disappointing, the rooms had a stench, our room had a toilet that always smelt like urine. Cleaners would cover up the stench with a deodorizer but comes back after a few hours. The location is brilliant, close to Eaton centre and the CBD. overall it didn't affect our stay, just a few minor flaws. We stayed a year ago, so things could be different

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pennypoopoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

I stayed with my brother for 4 nights here. The room was certainly bigger than I expected, but I've never been in a dorm before.

The room wasn't sparkling clean, we even found an open bag of nacho chips in one of the cupboard (but by the looks of it they'd only been there a day or two at most). That didn't really bother me, as there were no bugs or stains in sight. There was some noise from some kind of construction/renovation happening on the floor above, but it always started late in the morning and stopped early in the evening.

My only real problem was that although they'll advertise that they have rooms for multiple occupants, they only allow 1 key per room, and as my brother and I were doing our own separate things all day, I had to hold onto the key and run back when he needed to get into the room. Another little thing is that while they did have a decent sized closet, they didn't include any hangers, not even a couple cheap wire ones. Also, while not a real problem, I was a bit annoyed that they only had one internet outlet, and it was in the bedroom, not the living room that had a proper desk.

The continental breakfast was okay I guess, but every time I went they had all jelly and no peanut butter, and the one time they did, the toaster stopped working, so I couldn't thaw the partially frozen bread. The fruit was fresh tough, along with the juice and pastries.

Overall, the room itself wasn't bad, it was mostly the 1-key-per-room thing that really bugged me. Due the the location and price, I'd still come here again, but maybe with a travel buddy rather than just someone to split the bill with.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zonglars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

great service, very friendly staff , the rooms are very comfortable (considering the price), and above all EXCELLENT LOCATION. it's very safe as it is part of the Ryerson University campus. i would def stay there again when im in Toronto

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacationista86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong or Orlando, Florida or London, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

My stay at the Ryerson was very relaxing and comfortable. Granted it's not a 5 star hotel, however, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the bed was very comfortable! There is a Metro supermarket across the street and it is a short walk to Eaton Center Mall. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mypet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2007

I didn't expect too much since I knew this is a budget/economy hotel, but the staff there were so not professional. Checked me in a room where someone else is still sleeping on the bed, and gave me grill cheese while I ordered a burger. The hallways are so dark and dirty. I could stay in some other better places at the same price.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank KLeeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

Stayed here for 4 nights in August. The room was dead on, as was the bathroom. Had a sofa and tv too.

Breakfast was included in the deal, and there was free internet in the lobby.

A less than 5 minutes walk brought you to the Eaton Centre on Yonge Street.

Overall, if you are looking for clean and cheap accomodation in Toronto I would definately recommend Ryerson.

  • Liked — Location, value for money
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank p13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#84 of 137 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#101 of 137 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence
Downtown
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
Downtown
89 Chestnut
89 Chestnut
#104 of 137 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryerson Student Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryerson Student Residence

Property: Ryerson Student Residence
Address: 160 Mutual St., Toronto, Ontario M5B 2M2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 450
Also Known As:
Ryerson Student Residence Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing