We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Marriott that is better access by subway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Ranked #35 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“A Marriott that is better access by subway”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Arrive here for a weekend stay. I normally stay in the hotel nearer to the Eaton center but decided to try this Marriott at bloor and yonge. The unfortunate thing is I drive to Toronto and finding a street level parking in this area is impossible. Manage to find parking at the Hudson bay above ground parking. Cost on weekend parking is great $6 for 6am to 6am but expect to pay $12 if you checkout at any time after 6am. The fun part of parking at the Hudson parking garage is that there is no direct access to the hotel lobby ... expect to walk 500m around the block from back to front. Parking at the underground parking off bloor would have afforded better direct access. This hotel exit side door is internal into the underground bloor and is only 25 steps to the entrance to the bloor subway station .... so travelling by subway is ideal.

On the checkin, it was pretty fast. The lobby is a bit small compare to many other marriott. After checkin, the fun part begin that is to find your room through the long myraid of corridors. This is an older hotel but still well maintained. The room is clean and decent with a safe, fridge and coffee maker. Bed is comfortable.Washroom is a bit smaller and come with a shower in the tub. Water pressure is a bit lacking here.

As with other marriott which are still in the dark age of telecommunication, wifi is free only at the ground floor lounge area. I tetter through my mobile phone for wifi rather than pay $13 for wifi in my room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E-TravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    483
    171
    42
    37
See reviews for
175
307
92
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Typical Marriott which I use a lot. I had a bad cold when travelling and like the room to be 20 degrees celcius. I was delayed and arrived late so went straight to bed. I had a terrible night as it was so warm no matter what temperature I set the aircon to (the room was showing 24 C). When I went out in the morning I asked the hotel to look at the aircon which they promised to do. Got back after work and it was 23C! Went and asked to change rooms which management said was no problem but when the guy came to move me he said it would not make any difference as the aircon was turned off throughout the hotel to save money. When I queried this with Mgt they admitted it was the case and suggested I turn off the aircon/heating and leave the curtains open so that the room naturally cooled down a bit. Needless to say it only got down to 22C across the rest of the week. Moral is to check that you can control the heat in the room; something that I would normally assume was a given.

Usual moan about having to pay for wifi. When will hotels accept that this should always be free?

Room Tip: Check whether they have their aircon working before you book if you like a cool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandArti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirGuestCare, Guest Relations Manager at Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear David and Arti - Thanks for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at the hotel.

Unfortunately, some of the information your were given was not correct. I would be grateful if you would contact me so that I could clarify some of the details and use for training purposes with my team.

I can be reached at 416.515.2586.

Best Regards,

Susan Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Let me begin by saying that the room at this hotel was great. The room and bathroom were modern and clean, the beds were comfortable. I was in Toronto meeting up with a friend from college for a girl's weekend and we honestly spent little time in the hotel. After long days of shopping and adventuring, we enjoyed coming back here to relax.

The staff was incredibly accommodating and friendly. We had time to pass following our check out, and the front desk anticipated our need and offered to hold our luggage. This was perfect! We were able to leave our bags, enjoy a delicious meal in the on site restaurant, and do a tad more shopping before our official departure.

The location is VERY close to the public transit system. I took the subway from Pearson International Airport to the hotel. It was one express bus ride to the subway, then a direct subway ride to the Bloor-Yorkville station. When I ventured outside, I looked to my left and the hotel was RIGHT there. Very convenient if you are looking to budget and save yourself the $60+ taxi ride from the airport into the city.

My ONLY criticisms are that this hotel lacks a pool and the hallways are incredibly long and tiresome at some points. Due to the layout, it was a bit of a walk to get from the elevator to our room, especially after a long exhausting day.

Room Tip: Room close to the elevator to avoid walking a rather large distance to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristyMaireC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed there because we got a decent deal for the area (and Toronto in general). The hotel and room was very clean and the bed was very comfy. The room was a decent size and it was very quiet.

Some tips: on the hotel website, only $35 valet parking is mentioned. There is a self-park option for $20 in the same building.

There is a grocery store right outside that sells a lot of prepared meals and a food court. No need to spend insane amounts of money in the hotel restaurant or on room service (seriously? $20 breakfast? Who even orders that!).

There is free wifi in the lobby but it's $13 if you want it in the room. I found that disappointing to have to pay this much for wifi in the room and it was not worth the cost.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alice669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

I come to Toronto from the West fairly often. normally I stay at another chain but because I had a conference at this Hotel I stayed. The good: rooms are very clean and comfortable with modern TV and comfortable furnishing. Unless you are a Marriott Points member there is a charge for WiFi.
The Bad: no in room coffee makers - if you want coffee it's either room service or the lobby. honestly in this day and age what hotel does not have in room coffee. I came here in the depth of winter and did not want to go outside. I knew there are restaurants in the area and the hotel is in easy access to the subway. It chose to have dinner in the hotel's restaurant - ouch - the food was very good but overpriced for what you got. maybe Toronto does seem expensive. Overall if you want a clean room, in a hotel that is well located and easy to get to then this Marriott is fine. I would not say however that it would be my first choice when I come back

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cicero12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirGuestCare, Guest Relations Manager at Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay. I am glad that your overall impression were favourable. We do have coffee makers and refrigerators in all of our guest rooms. If we had removed one for any reason without replacement, it would have been an oversight that I apologize for. I hope that if your travels should bring you to the Yorkville area again that you would choose us.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I go to this hotel each time I am in Toronto. The staff is very nice, rooms are of a good size and clean. Bathrooms are updated and the beds are amazing. Location could not be better for shopping, restaurants and subways. Great value!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

If you have stayed at a Howard Johnson or any budget chain, you would feel about the same except the Mariott is a more expensive version. Parking is between $20-30 per night which is high for uptown.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless it's on sale or you really need to be in the Yorkville area.

Yorkville itself is worth the visit. High end shops and restaurants.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bansheeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirGuestCare, Guest Relations Manager at Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. Toronto's Yorkville area has lots of exciting things to do .....for everyone. We consistently review our hotel charges compared to others in the neighbourhood. Our valet parking rates are the same or less than others in our immediate area. I do hope that you had an otherwise enjoyable stay and will choose us again as a base for future stays in the Yorkville area.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#19 of 137 in Toronto
1,756 reviews
Downtown
Windsor Arms Hotel
Windsor Arms Hotel
#37 of 137 in Toronto
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel

Property: Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Address: 90 Bloor Street East, Toronto, Ontario M4W 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#25 Business Hotel in Toronto
#31 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#35 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville is a top choice among Yorkville hotels, located in the heart of Yorkville, which is Toronto's fashionable downtown area. In Yorkville, guests can enjoy shopping, dining, and entertainment in an area known for vibrant shops and venues. Our Yorkville hotel's location puts you in the middle of it all. You have direct access to the Yonge and Bloor subway too, plus we offer newly renovated guest rooms and beautiful public spaces for relaxing in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing