We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but smaller Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Ranked #36 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good location, but smaller Marriott”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This Marriott is located above the Bloor/Yonge Street Subway, which makes it easy for guests to hop on the trains to CN Tower (8-10 mins) or Eaton Center (5 mins). Walking to the Royal Ontario Museum takes about 10 minutes. And Longo's Supermarket next door is very handy for taking away prepared food and groceries. Hotel is quite small -- on just 6 floors, with private apartments occupying the floors above. We stayed in a Standard 2-Rooms with Double Beds, at C$132 p.n. Room is quite spacious and clean, but the view is poor, overlooking railway tracks behind the building. Hotel has a Sauna but no Pool. (One can use the Pool at the Marriott Courtyard which requires a 15 minutes walk.) Valet Parking is C$35 p.n. but we preferred to use the Self-Drive Garage beneath the Shopping Center, at C$25 p.n.
WiFi is costly in room, but free in the Hotel Lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PettRuss8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    459
    165
    41
    36
See reviews for
167
291
89
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Late evening (July 14th) I arrived at the Marriott Toronto Bloor Yorkville. I stay here often for business and have always found the service to be excellent, better than I have experienced at any other Toronto hotel. However this time the care and service I received was, without hesitation, exceptional. The front desk staff member Mya (I may be spelling her name incorrectly) recognized that I was unusually tired, limited in my functioning and in pain from a recent shoulder fracture. Not only did she process my check-in with alacrity, she arranged for an ice pack for my shoulder to be immediately delivered to my room, found an iPhone charger cord and adapter for me to use (I had forgotten mine at home) so that I could stay in touch with my family, and arranged complimentary transportation to my next morning meeting so that I would not have to walk there while carring my bag . Her personal attention to my needs and her obvious concern regarding my unfortunate condition was greatly appreciated and speaks to the culture of this hotel.

Room Tip: The are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Good hotel in excellent location on both the Bloor and Yonge Subway lines. Pleasant concierge and front desk staff, good restaurant and bar on the first floor. The executive lounge is excellent with a good breakfast and snacks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed for a week at the Marriott Yorkville in Toronto just recently. In fact we arrived Saturday night of the Gay Parade weekend and while the hotel was full of people and activities we were welcomed so warmly by all the staff - the front desk and helping us get luggage to our room. You always expect this response, but the staff here seemed to really want to welcome the guests and they enjoyed each other as well. Will definitely stay at Marriott Yorkville again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Fair price with quality room and service in Toronto.Reserve early for good rates.Front desk staff very helpful.Excellent shopping and restaurants nearby.Room large comfortable with excellent bedding.Bathroom well provisioned

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ettinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed with this hotel for business purposes for almost three years and was always recognized as a regular client and treated like family. Management changes in the last of these three years affected quality of service and staff morale, yet the staff with whom I interacted mostly did their best to not let these administrative policy changes affect my treatment.
The bar is a fun way to top off a day of meetings, the restaurant has delicious breakfasts and dinners. Rooms were always extremely clean and the gym was tidy with modern working equipment.

Great location to Yorkville, downtown and subway connections.

Would I stay here when not in town for business...most definitely!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
211 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I was all set to rate this wonderful hotel 5 stars or more until the day I
checked out and discovered "DMP" charges on the bill slipped under
my door. What's DMP? Good question. It was never explained to me
upon check-in and the acronym wasn't decoded on the bill either. So I asked. DMP stands
for Destination Marketing Program, a VOLUNTARY program of Greater Toronto Hotel Association (GTHA) in which Marriott chooses to participate and to add a fee
to your bill. Just as the basic room rate is taxed 13%, to add
insult to injury, the DMP fee is also taxed, resulting in an additional 3% surcharge on your bill! The hotel staff I spoke with admit it's a bad idea to charge guests extra for a marketing campaign. It's also a bad idea that this arbitrary hidden fee is automatically added to guests' bills with the hope it will go unnoticed

If Marriott chooses to donate 3% of its profits to
help Toronto market tourism, that's fine with me. When I buy a $20 toaster in Walmart, of course I pay $20 to Walmart plus legally mandated sales tax to the government. But the $20 retail price of the toaster includes Walmart's expenses, including marketing or advertising. In the case of Marriott, their decision to surreptitiously pass this marketing cost along to hotel guests as a check-out surprise will only discourage, not encourage, visits to Toronto.

Remember this is NOT a tax imposed by a legitimate government entity, but rather a marketing surcharge to enrich the "for-profit" GTHA. Shame on Marriott for voluntarily participating, and shame on Marriott for opportunistically passing the deceptive DMP fee on to its guests.

This is a great hotel with outstanding accommodations and service, but I doubt I'll be back until Marriott renounces this unethical business practice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank 1NicePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#14 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Downtown
Windsor Arms Hotel
Windsor Arms Hotel
#40 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel

Property: Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Address: 90 Bloor Street East, Toronto, Ontario M4W 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#25 Business Hotel in Toronto
#31 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#35 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville is a top choice among Yorkville hotels, located in the heart of Yorkville, which is Toronto's fashionable downtown area. In Yorkville, guests can enjoy shopping, dining, and entertainment in an area known for vibrant shops and venues. Our Yorkville hotel's location puts you in the middle of it all. You have direct access to the Yonge and Bloor subway too, plus we offer newly renovated guest rooms and beautiful public spaces for relaxing in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing