We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A tired 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Ranked #37 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
Level Contributor
159 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A tired 4 star”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The rooms are up to snuff and the location is perfect for shopping however the lobby, restaurant and hallways are looking tired and are in need of an update. I had to wait close to 1/2 an hour to get my car from the valet. We did get a good deal so I didn't mind too much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennybobenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    462
    167
    41
    36
See reviews for
170
293
91
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Marriott is a very comfortable hotel, the staff are friendly, and the location at the intersection of Toronto's two main subway lines is very convenient. It's a solid hotel if you can get it at a reasonable price.

However, because my employer was shelling out more than $200 per night for my stay (and that's with a government discount!), I had higher expectations than basic comfort and cleanliness, and these expectations were not met. For $200-plus a night, I expect free wireless (or even wired) Internet in my room; the Marriott charges about $15 per day, which is pretty chintzy. I expect a quiet room; while I couldn't hear traffic noise, conversations in the hallway were easily overheard. The furniture in the rooms was nice, they could use a little touching up — the wallpaper was starting to peel off. And the towels were pretty rough, not the nice fluffy ones you'd expect at a three- or four-star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karpa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The location is perfect and is close to shopping. The staff go out of their way to assist you. This is a upscale hotel. The subway and the musuem is located next door and is very easy to find. Yorkville is located next door and i cant forget louis vitton is on the same street

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterj1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

A big thank you goes to the staff of this hotel as we enjoyed our stay even though the fire alarm
went off twice during our visit. Once, when we were about to check in the hotel and secondly,
at about 2:30 in the morning. They gave us an upgrade and a free breakfast which I thought was very fair. I would definitely stay there again as it is an ideal location right downtown and close to everything. We were able to go to the Santa Claus parade and come back and relax
at the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back on the 400's near the elevator. Very sunny and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgm792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on Nov 30. On Saturday morning we were awaken by a jackhammer. When we checked out the hotel gave us a $50 voucher for our next stay at any Mariott.

Contrast this with our Sunwing Airlines flight to Jamaica. We booked non stop to Jamaica from Toronto. 48 hours before our flight to Jamaica we were going to Montreal then Jamaica. We were told that on the way home we would be travelling to Toronto non stop. Even though it would take another 3 hours to get to Jamaica we decided to go knowing that it would be equal on the way home.

We left the hotel at the end of our trip and made it 300 feet down the road when the driver stopped and a Sunwing rep stepped on the bus and let us know that we would be flying to Montreal the Toronto. So we were on the plane a total of 14 hours the equivalent of travelling to London and back. We were offered nothing, not even a free drink because of this.

The differance Mariott cost $157 and we received $50 for being bothered early one morning.
Sunwing $2800 and we received nothing for losing over 6 hours extra on the beach and spending 14 hours in a plane. DO NOT FLY SUNWING THEY DO NOT GO NON STOP TORONTO TO MONTEAL

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, IA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I spent three nights at the Marriott and overall, I would say it was a pretty good experience. It had the normal frustrations, including Marriott's policy of still charging for internet - my number oen reason for avoiding the chain whenever I can. But in this instance, the price and location over-ruled this annoyance and expense. Located within a half a block of Yonge and Bloor, and therefore close to Toronto's version of the Miracle Mile, University of Toronto and Yorkville, not to mention the confluence of the two main branches of the subway system, the Marriott is in a great location. The rooms are comfortable, with great beds and a wonderful work desk for those on business - plenty of electrical outlets for computer, phones, etc. But for some reason, the interent speed was painfully slow, almost to the point of being unusable.

As a side note, there was a firealarm during my stay - at 2:30 in the morning - and rather than annoy me, it impressed me by how well insructions were given and how the staff handled it. It was a false alarm, but it gave me confidence that if ever there was a real fire, this hotel is ready to handle it.

Self park on weekends was a very reasonable - for downtown Toronto - $15 per night!! Apparently, it is much higher on weekdays.

Finally, the staff were great - from the doormen to the front desk to the cleaning staff, I could not have asked for better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chillin51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Arrived @ Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville around 9pm on thursday evening. Check in was quick & friendly & we were offered 2 Queens or 1 King for our rooms (selecion is not usually an option @ check in with most hotels)... The rooms were clean and spacious although I could smell a mildew-ish scent in some areas :(
The Location is awesome in the center of amazing shopping on Bloor St & plenty of great restaurants nearby (Eatons Centre is about a 15-20min walk)..

The restaurant food was decent in the hotel but the service was terrible... you'll see if you decide to eat there... next time I would opt for room service.

Unfortunately the second day we found out there was some construction going on that was hammering away for HOURS until about 9pm at night, the construction was also effecting our tv so we couldn't even drown out the noise!! Also, this is the day that the room next to us was occupied by the noisiest group of guys (6 in one room), who decided it was ok to have a party in there room until 5am after there friend got locked out of the room and banged on the door nonstop for an hour at 2am!

Because of this I have given the hotel a low rating as I think it is the hotels resposability to keep an eye out for people throwing parties in there room late at night and that I should not have to call the front desk all night :(

I would, however, stay at this hotel again (in hopes that the people in the room next door can refrain having a frat party)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley_C123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#14 of 134 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Downtown
Windsor Arms Hotel
Windsor Arms Hotel
#39 of 134 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel

Property: Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Address: 90 Bloor Street East, Toronto, Ontario M4W 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Toronto
#26 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#31 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#35 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville is a top choice among Yorkville hotels, located in the heart of Yorkville, which is Toronto's fashionable downtown area. In Yorkville, guests can enjoy shopping, dining, and entertainment in an area known for vibrant shops and venues. Our Yorkville hotel's location puts you in the middle of it all. You have direct access to the Yonge and Bloor subway too, plus we offer newly renovated guest rooms and beautiful public spaces for relaxing in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing