We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Ranked #36 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location, close to TTC. Good if you going from/to the airport. The room is comfortable and spacious. If you stay on the 3rd floor you still manage access the lobby's WiFi what is for free. Overall, I highly recommend the hotel.

Breakfast is tiresome if you stay for several days
no pool, no lounge

Room Tip: If you stay on the 3rd floor you still manage access the lobby's WiFi what is for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EgilsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    484
    172
    42
    37
See reviews for
176
310
92
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Was in Toronto on business and this Marriott was a block away. Good restaurants nearby (great small Indian place a couple of blocks away - I might have been the only one who spoke English in the place, but the food was great). Comfortable room and seemed consistent with most Marriotts to me.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATL-RES-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here in October 2012, after attending the Cask Days festival at the Evergreen Brick Works. We had been here once before, and the experience was mostly the same.

This is a very solid hotel for business travel, or if you are in the neighbourhood for a function, as we were. Parking in the Bay garage is convenient enough, and the staff was very helpful. Also, there is a 24 market right behind the hotel which comes in handy if your reason for being there is nightlife.

Room service was satisfying, but it took a while for the order to be placed. Contacting the number, we were told they would page someone and "call us back". This is understandable if you are ordering during off hours, but this was at 6:30 PM.

Also, while the rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable, you can hear murmuring through the walls if your neighbours so happen to have buoyant voices. Also the pillows leave a bit to be desired; it is like laying your head onto a sack of pancake mix.

All said, I would recommend this hotel for the non-nitpicky business traveller, or if you are attending and event in the area. The location is great for shopping on Bloor, and close to some darn fine restaurants on Church, Just don't expect to be blown away by what they have to offer; it is comfortable, yet functional above all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Location was nice, room was well appointed, bed comfy. Breakfast and wifi extra, but easily overcome. Shopping and subway right there which is great for Toronto, We had breakfast at a great restaurant less than a block away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank przybylski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanda-shi, Hyogo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The location of this hotel is good for a shopping purpose but if your room is located the far end from the elevator, it takes time to reach to your room.. Since it may be a Japanese, when I went to the restaurant to have a breakfast, the waiter was very unfriendly, even they didn't say good morning. Very unfriendly service was provided.
ホテルのロケーション的にはショッピングには良いがホテルの構造上エレベーターから遠い部屋に当たるとエレベーターまで3-4分はかかる。また朝食をレストランで頂いたが、ウェイターが日本人だからか、非常にサービスが悪く、どこに座るかも顎で指された。サービス的には最悪だった。

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoshihiro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were totally surprised at the daily charge of $14.00 to use the in-room internet. When I spoke with the front-desk they said this is the standard charge for 'full service' hotels. I said we had recently stayed at a Marriott, a Westin, Sheridan and numerous other hotels in the US and Canada this year and not one of them charged us for in-room internet. She said well that's what we charge and she didn't have the authority to reverse the charge. I asked to talk with the Manager and calmly discussed why they would charge $14.00 per day and he basically said because 'they can'. I said this was a real 'cash grab' by their hotel since it is excessive overcharging for this service. We were standing right in the main lobby with other guests listening in and watching - he was extremely rude and talking with a raised voice while trying to defend the $14.00 per day charge! Quite unusual for a Manager of a high-end hotel... needless to say we won't be staying in this hotel again..there are lots of other great hotels in the area that don't 'nickel and dime' for services and the management and staff appreciate their guests and want a return visit.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank luxorenterprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirRooms, Public Relations Manager at Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to contact Trip Advisor. As a "Full Service" Marriott, we do charge for the in-room internet service within our hotel, remaining consistent with all "Full Service" Marriott's as well as other 4 Star properties within Toronto and around the world. Marriott does offer complimentary interent access in their "Select Service" properties by building the cost into the room rate and do not offer it as an additional chargable option.
Within Toronto, we feel $13.60 (Incl. Tax) is not excessive as many comparable properties are offering rates between $14.95 and $17.00 (+ Tax). We pride ourselves in offering fast, efficient internet and in 2013, we are looking to upgrade our service even further.
As an new option for our guests who do not wish to be charged for the interent, we are offering complimentary internet in our lobby, We have also newly installed work stations offering high speed internet access at no charge which our guests are loving.


Thank you for choosing to stay at the Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

we stay in 30-40 hotel rooms a year so we were surprised to be charged $14 per day for internet use since you can get a months worth for around $50 at home. My wife went and talked to the night manager to express our disappointment and was told immediately that the charge would be removed. The next morning upon check-out we noticed the charge still there, we asked to speak to the manager (Matt [-]) and explained that we had spoke with the night manager and we were told the charge would be removed. Well, you can imagine our surprise when Matt didn't believe us, basically calling us LIARS. They call this a (full service) hotel, I have never been treated this badly in any hotel ever. I can guarantee we will not be staying at a Marriott Hotel in the future. A recent survey showed that only 2% of hotels charge for internet services, choose yours carefully!!!

Room Tip: don't stay in rooms in the 40 group ie: 240, 340, 440 , loud service elevator next to them will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirRooms, Public Relations Manager at Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns on Trip Advisor. The Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville does charge for the Internet Service we provide, remaining consistent with Brand Standards and all “Full Service” Marriott’s within Canada and across the world.
On calling around all major “Full Service” branded 4 Star hotels in Toronto, I can confirm that our prices are comparable, and often found to be cheaper as we only charge $13.60 for 24 Hrs, inclusive of tax.
Guests have the option of accepting the charges and using our in-room internet service, or our complimentary wireless internet access in the lobby where we also offer three high-speed work stations if you do not have your own laptop.
We do apologise for any miscommunication, or the perception that our Manager may have been rude as we do not condone unprofessionalism.

Thank you again for choosing the Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#19 of 137 in Toronto
1,763 reviews
Downtown
Windsor Arms Hotel
Windsor Arms Hotel
#39 of 137 in Toronto
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#65 of 137 in Toronto
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel

Property: Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Address: 90 Bloor Street East, Toronto, Ontario M4W 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Toronto
#26 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#31 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#35 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville is a top choice among Yorkville hotels, located in the heart of Yorkville, which is Toronto's fashionable downtown area. In Yorkville, guests can enjoy shopping, dining, and entertainment in an area known for vibrant shops and venues. Our Yorkville hotel's location puts you in the middle of it all. You have direct access to the Yonge and Bloor subway too, plus we offer newly renovated guest rooms and beautiful public spaces for relaxing in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing