We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“customer services is annoying!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Ranked #33 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2011

i'm staying for this hotel for a business trip, and just now, the fire system alarmed.
so i call the customer service if we will go out. she said no, and wait for the announcement.

then the security personnel said that the fire alarm system was on and now under investigation, but the fire alarm was still on.

so, i call again the customer service and ask if that was a fire drill, and she said with an angry voice (she is not shouting but you can feel that she was irritated) "didn't you hear the announcement? what does it said?"
i just said to her that i did not hear anything what we should do.
then she just said that i should stay on my room.

i understand that she feel irritated maybe because a lot of people is calling them and asking them what to do, but still, I am the customer, and i only want my safety.
she should still answer me in a good manner and assuring me that everything is under control and not to worry.

how rude this people can be!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,143)
There are newer reviews for Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

908 - 914 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2011

We had two room with an adjoining door on the second floor. Rooms were a good size and clean. Yurui in housekeeping was kind and did a great job of refilling the bathroom and coffee supplies. We were there on the day they lost power but it was a minor nusiance and they gave us free coffee and muffins. There was a working elevator during the outage so we did NOT have to walk up or down the stairs. Ashley and Farahna at the front desk were very helpful and Farahna even remembered that I had called 4 days prior and spoke to her about the adjoining rooms. Free mini-refridgerator and microwave provided for the asking. Longo's grocery store next door, Shoppers Drugmart and subway station just down the stairs. Talbots, H&M, etc. just steps away. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnAMissi0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I recently stayed one night at the Marriott on Bloor. I booked through Priceline and got a good deal for a spectacularly located hotel.

The valet was fantastic as was the staff checking in. The entire process was smooth and easy.

When I arrived in the room it was clean but seemed a little dated, which was no big deal. I did find a very unappealing hair in the sink but that is an easy thing for a cleaner to miss.

The stay was completely uneventful until I woke up the next morning to find a row of what appeared to be mosquito bites on my forehead. They were very itchy and took almost two weeks to disappear. When I had them checked I was advised they were bed bug bites.

My initial inclination was to say nothing but was compelled to contact the hotel by a friend. To that end, I sent an e-mail to Marriott and received a response advising that my complaint would be forwarded to the hotel manager who would contact me. A week later and I still haven't had any response. To think that the manager of a large and very well know hotel would ignore a customer who had experienced beg bug bites is amazing.

Every time I think of that night I am inclined to itch…..sorry I had to stop typing to scratch.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadaXxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirRooms, Manager at Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to respond to Trip Advisor.

I am happy that your stay started off so well, and am sorry that you experienced some discomfort as you found bites on your head.

I am happy to report that your room was and still is Bed Bug Free. We take such concerns seriously and called a Pest Control company to inspect your room. Thankfully, no sign of Bed Bugs were found and no evidence of their activity was found either.

We are fortunate not to have had any bedbug cases in over 12 months, and we will continue to focus our cleaning efforts into ensuring we provide a clean and safe stay for our guests.

I again apologize that it took so long to recieve a response from Management. However, we acted as soon as we were aware. Feel free to contact Management directly as we are always available to address your concerns in a more timely manner.

Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed here in a suite for 3 nights from August 10. Shortly after arriving early evening the fire alarm went off meaning we had to walk down 10 floors to reception and wait until given the all clear after the Toronto Fire Dept had inspected and found nothing. The following late afternoon, the same thing happened. On Friday morning there was a power cut which lasted from 0730hrs until sometime after 1145hrs (when we left the hotel for the day having had to use the bathroom by torchlight to get ready for the day). Again, we had to walk down 10 floors to exit the hotel. On Saturday morning, whilst preparing to check out, the fire alarm went off again at approximately 1100hrs. The building was evacuated, the Toronto Fire Dept turned up and again the all clear was given some time later. When we raised these issues with the manager, we were told that people had been smoking in the stairwell and therefore they were not false alarms and we were offered 5,000 Marriott points and the extra charge for our kid's rollaway bed was removed from the bill! Not good enough Marriott...this hotel is a disgrace to the brand and you need to do better.
Secondary to this: the room was fine, housekeeping was good (and their job was made especially difficult by the constant disruption) but could not be sure as to the true nature of the view out towards Bloor as the windows were so filthy.
Would not stay here again and do not recommend for reasons above.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel where fire alarms are not a daily event
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Discerning1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The location is GREAT...The subway is the only way to travel..This was the first time for all of us using the subway,and it was great.The people in the subway would direct you to the proper platform to where ever we wanted to go, so simple when you ask..and cheap.The subway is right under the hotel. We went there for a concert and blue jays game.There is a market right beside the hotel with everything you can imagine and fresh. Tim Hortons around the corner or up the street. Shopping and restaurants all with in walking distance..Hemmingsway restaurant is a 10 minute walk, and has 3 outdoor rooftop patios, service and food was great and good pricing.This hotel came recommended by Lisa from the Marriott in Sudbury and everything was well above our expectations.The rooms are huge and so comfortable and clean. ALL the staff are super friendly and go above and beyond every request or questions. Zlata, Diogo and Ashley were super people and made our stay even more fun. I would highly recommend this hotel.When I go back to Toronto I will stay there again. Thanks for the fun time. Sheila from Sudbury

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila2341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Front desk staff and management attitude not even good enough for a one star hotel. Rude and unwelcomming, and did not honour my reservation even though I gave them my credit card number when I did reservation online to guarantee my reservation. They did not even attempt to fix the problem or offer alternatives.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank Sheriff64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirRooms, Manager at Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for notifying Trip Advisor of your recent visit to Toronto. As we informed you earlier this week, your request for Two Queen Beds was noted, but unfortunately, we could not guarantee them to you as we did not have any rooms of this type available.

We did honour your reservation as guaranteed by Credit Card, but as you could not get the requested room type that you were looking for, you decided to cancel the reservation.

It is difficult to find a solution when we have provided the room type that was available at the time of booking, and we do not have any rooms with two queens available. In order to get two Queens, you would need to ensure that your room "Type" was guaranteed at the time of booking.
We do sincerely sympathize with your situation, and completely understand your frustration and in future, if you would like to contact me prior to arriving, I would be happy to make sure you have the room type you are looking for.

Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Over the course of the last 7 months, I spent 29+ weeks in residence at the Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel. I can say without hesitation that it is the best service that I have received while staying in a hotel across the globe. The accomodations are wonderful, but the staff are superb.

Starting with the front desk, you will be greeted by friendly, caring staff who will make every effort to ensure your accomodations are perfect. They are more than helpful in recommending restaurants, shopping, as well as any activities that you might wish to enjoy. The front desk is up-to-date on events occurring within the city, both current and upcoming. Please give Tamara, Sergio, Carol and all of the other staff my warm regards when you stay.

For those who have access to the Concierge Lounge, you MUST meet George. He is one of the crown jewels of this hotel. George oversees the lounge in the evenings and maintains a clean, friendly environment with delicious appetizers (actually, you could make a meal off the appetizers). He was quick to enquire about my day, and then truly listened when it was "one of those days".

The Bell Captain and staff are also fantastic. Victor will double-check to make certain that all of your luggage arrives safely from your mode of transportation to the lobby, as well as when you leave back safely into your taxi/limo. All of the staff are courteous, professional, and provide that "at home" feeling.

I would strongly recommend this hotel and when I next travel to Toronto, this will be the hotel of my choice.

Room Tip: Sign up for the Marriott Rewards program. Then ask for rooms facing Bloor Street.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerrDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#18 of 137 in Toronto
1,793 reviews
Downtown
Windsor Arms Hotel
Windsor Arms Hotel
#41 of 137 in Toronto
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#64 of 137 in Toronto
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel

Address: 90 Bloor Street East, Toronto, Ontario M4W 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#25 Business Hotel in Toronto
#31 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#35 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $190 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville is a top choice among Yorkville hotels, located in the heart of Yorkville, which is Toronto's fashionable downtown area. In Yorkville, guests can enjoy shopping, dining, and entertainment in an area known for vibrant shops and venues. Our Yorkville hotel's location puts you in the middle of it all. You have direct access to the Yonge and Bloor subway too, plus we offer newly renovated guest rooms and beautiful public spaces for relaxing in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing