We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A shrine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maple Leaf Gardens

Maple Leaf Gardens
Ranked #97 of 501 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Between October and April, the Maple Leafs play hockey in this arena, but be forewarned that obtaining game tickets is both difficult and expensive.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A shrine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Grew up watching games here. The atmosphere was unreal. Everything from the smokey hall ways to the defening crowds. Anyone who ever watched a game here will tell you the same thing. Now....its a shame to see what it has become

Helpful?
Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    39
    13
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My go to grocery store”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This opened a year ago as a huge Loblaws grocery store and I go there all the time...it has maintained the hockey theme and offers free music concerts on weekend...Ryerson University sports centre is also there

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MargC532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
720 reviews
337 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Nice Use Of This Building Now”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The oher otther week when staying downtown with my wife at a local hotel, I purchased some food at this place. They certainly have made use of the space for both the Loblaws store and Ryerson University. The grocery stotre is huge and has a number of specialty shops within it. After shopping, I sat down for a while and did some people watching. Been to show hockey games and many concerns plus events over the years here but glad they have been able to make good use of this space.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank b0b55russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Excellent conversion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This has been converted into a multi use facility from the old gardens. Loblaws , Liquor Store , clothing store on one side of floor one. Other side is now the ticket office for Mattamy Athletic Centre which houses on the 2nd floor volleyball/basketball courts a good sized modern gym and cafe. Third floor is the ice surface and dressing rooms for hockey. Fourth floor is Alumni lounge, seating for the arena and 2 food/drink concessions. Lots of space to wander around upstairs.
The building has been completely renovated and the roof is now bright white so the lighting is great. Facilities are available for rent with varying degrees of amenities right up to full dinner party set-ups. Ticket prices are very reasonable for sporting events.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tohockeyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“How the mighty...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I used to practice and play here when I was a kid. The smoothest milky ice ever. And while attended a few Leaf games, it was The Marlboroughs and St. Mikes that I watched every Sunday for several years. Keon, Mahovlich, Brewer, Mikita--before the league mixed in itinerant Russians and Swedes and Czechs, this was the last of pure Canadian hockey. The sight lines were flawless. First row of the Greens were all we could afford but still perfect. Confections were nothing compared with today--hot dogs, popcorn, that's all I recall.
MLG was one of a kind.

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maple Leaf Gardens also viewed

 
 

Been to Maple Leaf Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing