We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WHOLE FOODS...."whole pay-check" as I call it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yorkville

Yorkville
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.38*
and up
Toronto City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #35 of 501 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Formerly populated by Bohemians and hippies, this gentrified neighborhood now contains a variety of posh stores and boutiques.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“WHOLE FOODS...."whole pay-check" as I call it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

So here's the deal...

Whole Foods has hands-down the best selection of produce and ready to go prepared food! Their selection of salads and vegetarian dishes is actually mouth-watering.

Now the down side....

Yes you do have to pay for parking. But the good news is you will undoubtedly spend the $25 dollars required to get free parking! In fact, you will easily spend $100 on just a few items.

So the moral of the story, be prepared to spend your "whole pay-check" but also be prepared to eat like a king/queen!

Enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dannno777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    190
    62
    20
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quaint and lovely city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was blown away by how wonderful Toronto was! Not only are the people extremely nice but also the shopping, restaurants, and various neighborhoods to explore make Toronto an excellent weekend destination. There are also plenty of day trips from the city including Niagara Falls. To top it off, their budget airline, Porter, is fast, reliable, environmentally conscience, and more luxurious than most of the major carriers these days. Truly a fantastic place to visit!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TigerL103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
454 reviews
230 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“this not the place for people traveling on a budget.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This area did not make me comfortable because I find the shops to be full of so many things that are not essential for living. Many over priced restaurants with high prices and not much quality difference to be seen in the food they serve. This is where people who wonder about the limits of capitalism watch other affluent people or those who want to think that they are as affluent as the next guy spend their money foolishly. Shows like the "Cash Explosion"or talk shows and Jeopardy programs might recruit people to spend their money here. Pretensions and high prices dominate the atmosphere. Snooty people trying to look as if they are just like you or me walk here endlessly. Conspicuous consumption is on display too. Celebrities are on display here with there cars and elegant wardrobes at night. This area is a show case for capitalism and the rich and famous. There is a good record store called "Grigorian" that you should visit to see what other stores do not sell in the full range of classical and jazz music. Many recordings in this store can not be found elsewhere to the best of my knowledge. I have found two or three good sale items for classical guitar music. Prices are too high too often, yet there are in this store many recordings of Renaissance music from France, Norway and Portugal and Germany on period instruments. Musicians from these countries have their recordings on sale here. There is a man who can and will speak with me about guitar music and related recordings. DVD's are plentiful and can be found. However, most of the merchandise is recorded classical and jazz music Some Canadian music available. Somewhat large collection of Naxos recordings makes the store a good place for me. There is a recording review guide to help you make a selection. Otherwise the Yorkville neighborhood is too out of the price range for my budget. I have looked at prices for food at the may expensive restaurant and they are too pricy for me. Too expensive clothing shops too. If you as a tourist need a lesson about capitalism here it is. Near-bye is an unusual library for reading books on Young north of Bloor. Within walking distance there are good places to visit with more reasonable prices but Yorkville as a shopping destination might call for you to re-set your compass. Simply because by itself it is too expensive a place for most average people. It might be like the art gallery that attracts people who know little if anything about the art on display. Pretensions and high prices attract many people for various reasons to this neighborhood and if you watch consumer behavior there is a lesson here for you. Those side walk tables and outside cafes for eating and drinking are a pretext for putting yourself in the display window. High end art galleries are small and might attract you but you really need to know much about art - otherwise it is like looking in a catalogue at expensive cars you can not afford to buy. So do not get suckered into the places. Whether it lacks charm is a relevant good question well-worth asking. Whether it has character - it depends on what you mean about this term. Maybe the credit card traveler is more comfortable here. People with deep pockets might feel more comfortable since they can spend money foolishly. If you are on a tight or small limited budget stay away from this neighborhood. I have often stopped to pick up take home menus from many restaurants. I read these things to compare price and food selections. There are some good eating places like the French restaurant named the "Le Trou Normand" (spelling?) but the prices are too high for what they serve you. There are one or two smaller asian food places that open their doors for eating on the level below the side walk. You can find good food if you ask the right questions but the prices are too high. This area is more for the elegant and rich visitor. The many quintessential things of life are not here. Yet, I did enjoy walking through the neighborhood to watch people and to hear what the shop keepers or head waiters say when I approached the front door and appeared to be ready to sit down and order a meal. Most interesting : a good lesson in consumer behavior for the rich and famous or people who want you to think that they belong to that group and are rich and famous. Traveling does different things to people. I did wonder how well paid were the custodial people and those who cleaned up after the tourists left. Shop owners want every visitor to buy something. I did also wonder if there was more browsing or purchasing. For a taste of Toronto visit the neighborhood but beware that this is not the best that Toronto has to offer visitors. Other places put the city on the map of important reasons to visit Canada.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GiudoLocattelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Lacking Character”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Yorkville used to be my favourite area in the City, but it has now become just an overpriced and pretentious area, lacking any real charm. The stores are the same as you would find in any other snooty area of the world and there are no good restaurants or cafes. Fortunately, Toronto now has The Distillery, which is what Yorkville could have been, if done properly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JaymieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“High priced street”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

In the 60's, the Hippies ruled this street. Today, it's home to high end shop and restaurants. A few small Art galleries in the area to visit

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank denisf255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yorkville also viewed

 

Been to Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing