We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will always love the boardwalk”
Review of The Beach Village

The Beach Village
Ranked #44 of 506 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Undiscovered by tourists, this quaint neighborhood is home to an academic crowd and contains trendy antique stores and restaurants.
southern ontario
Level Contributor
155 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Will always love the boardwalk”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I am biased because I used to live within walking distance of "The Beaches", east-end Lake Ontario, Queen St E./Lee Ave. area.
You have the lake, an extensive boardwalk along the lake, beautiful parkland, great, old trees, a bike/roller-blade path - and just a block or two north, little shops and restaurants.
People always seemed more relaxed down there - like everyone is on the same page re: enjoying the all-round atmosphere of the surroundings.
Finding a parking spot will be the biggest challenge, but after that, it's a great piece of Toronto!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank burooxtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    199
    54
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great vibes and fun”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Beaches is a village within the city. Its like a slice of Venice Beach from LA plopped down on Lake Ontario. Great for people watching and then pop up to Queen St east for draft beers and suicide buffalo chicken wings on a hot summer's day!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roberta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opteron
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An unexpected delight”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We often take a short-term apartment if we're visiting a place for more than a couple of days. In this case, we had decided on a week in Toronto, so, in looking through what was available on VRBO.com, I saw a number of listing for places in the Beaches area. We chose a place right on Queen Street, which is the main street through the area. Located at the eastern end of the city, we found an active community that offers good food, lots of walking convenience to stores of all kinds, including markets, galleries, an Ontario Province Wine Store, walk-in medical clinics, lovely small municipal parks, etc. Reflecting the highly diverse population, there are eating places of all sorts, including Italian, Asian, Middle Eastern and Greek, as well as a variety of European choices at all price points. And then there is the Beach on Lake Ontario, which stretches a very long way in both directions. With a paved path for bikes and skaters and a beach level boardwalk close to the water with benches under trees and out in the sun, you are assured of a pleasant, relaxing experience. We saw lots of people of all ages walking (quite a few with their dogs) and folks on paddleboards and kayaks out on the water. There are also public restrooms at intervals. Access to the center of Toronto is easy - just take the red trolley on Queen Street and enjoy the slow 25 minute ride downtown. Undoubtedly, many of the places will be closed off-season. But, given the substantial (and increasing) number of people who live there all year, it's fair to assume that a substantial number will be staying open. With a relaxed pace and easy public transportation to the center of the city, we'll be looking to stay in the Beaches whenever we next visit Toronto.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank opteron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, null, Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Greek Festival”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The taste of the danfort is an aboslute must if you are visiting Toronto.They celebrate it every year where you can go and taste different foods such as the Greek cuisine Souvlaki and Spanakopita. You will also enjoy Thai, Indian, Cuban and others.You will enjoy it very much ifrom, you are a foodie like me.There's some activities also going on all day from dancing, musical perfomances and sports team.Come and enjoy and feel like a greek for one day! I love these festival! Wish to be here again next year.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mimi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lacking Character”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Beaches could and should be a quaint area, filled with charm and character. Instead, it is packed with tourist stores and restaurants with low quality offerings. As soon as summer ends, it is empty. It is such a shame. This area could have been so much better.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JaymieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Village also viewed

 

Been to The Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing