We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See”

Canadian Broadcasting Centre
Ranked #122 of 508 things to do in Toronto
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Broadcasting Centre's CBC Museum is open and free to go into Monday to Friday from 9:00am to 5:00pm. There is no need to pre-book your visit. Also available to view is the Yvan Harris Gallery which is an open space below the escalators in the Front Street lobby of the Toronto Broadcasting Center.
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Must See”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Doors Open Tours lets you see inside the CBC broadcast centre. The Museum has many souvenirs of Canada's television beginnings. The Doors Open Tours are the best for seeing the working parts of the facility. It is part of our history and worth seeing!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    17
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Childhood memories”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

They have displays that include props from the Friendly Giant and Mr. Dressup that brought back a lot of memories to this 40 yr old kid. And best of all it's free. The gift shop is expensive but you don't have to buy anything to see the displays.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PANDK1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
200 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“CBC”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Located on Front Street, right across the Metro Convention Center. Lots of broadcast history to see. Being the main center for CBC broadcasting, you might bump into a familiar face seen on TV

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank denisf255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
352 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“A little gem even for Americans”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We spent over an hour in this small but unique museum located on the first floor of the impressive
CBC building. We read just about everything. Although we are not Canadians, we enjoyed learning about the history of CBS 's children's programs and about the many puppets that were used. it was interesting to see the many microphones that were displayed. Our favorite part was about the sound effects and how they were made. We were fascinated with the video with interviews with sound men from the past and with all the objects -- especially the "wind machine" that were used to create the sounds that were needed.

There was a sign on the street that said the museum was open from 10 to 5. The sign on the door said 9 to 5. As of May 2013, it opens at 9 o'clock . The museum is free.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bcnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Building Full Of Canadian TV History”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I love to walk the halls of the CBC Building looking at all of the photos and remembering great TV shows of my childhood. Photos line the walls paying homage to all of the great Canadians who made great TV and Radio of the past and present. There is always something to see there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canadian Broadcasting Centre also viewed

 

Been to Canadian Broadcasting Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing