We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, clean rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #101 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location, clean rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is not a fancy hotel and is outdated in the sense that there is a tuve tv instead of a flatscreen and the building is not up to par with other modern hotels. But if you go to another city for fun and not to stay in a hotel room, this will be fine. The room comes with a nice sized frigde, microwave, enough dishware for two people and even a stovetop. Perfect for students or anyone travelling on a budget. Queen street is a 2 min walk, made it to the Rogers centre on foot in 20 minutes so no need for cabs. Given how ridiculously expensive things are in Toronto I would not hesitate spending another couple nights here. The room has an ac unit on the window that is controlled by a switch in the room. Worked extremely well almost made the room too cold. I would never pay double the price for a more modern or mainstream hotel as long as there was an alternative like the Alexandra.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamson07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks for the positive comments! We're always happy to hear from satisfied customers. It's true we do have old TVs, but we are replacing them with new models as needed. Glad you found the location convenient and we look forward to you returning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    56
    67
    20
    21
See reviews for
35
51
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night. The bed had a funny smell ... and as a result I was reluctant to get under the covers.

The AC unit was very loud and there was a lot of noise coming from the nearby skate park.


The location is great , especially if you need to get to the Billy Bishop airport

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaintBarabbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I apologize for the shortcomings with the room - we generally don't get complaints about the bedding and would have fixed any problems with your room had we been aware. But I'm glad you found the location convenient and I hope we can do better for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a basic, spartan hotel which was totally ok with me. There are plenty of places in Toronto for double the cost which offer a more traditional experience.

The location is INSANE. Probably the best in all of Toronto. So many shops and restaurants, and parking is very easy and convenient. Yes, its $5 a day, but good luck even finding parking in that neighborhood at all. The staff was chill and friendly and they had lots of resources (maps, brochures, snacks). They said there was a deposit for the hair dryer but they just let me use it, not problems. Also let us leave the car for the afternoon after checkout.

The cost for the room on Saturday night was $130, which was pretty steep but its the same as like the Howard Johnson nearby. Otherwise $80 during the week is super reasonable. There is a little kitchenette and the room and bathroom are huge for being downtown in a city. The biggest thing is that the room is meticulously cleaned, no bugs, no mold. The only weird thing is that there was a lot of long, black hairs. I think they need to be more diligent about that. The windows opened wide and had a nice view of the park.

I would happily stay here again and recommend this place to other people.

Room Tip: We stayed in 601...good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank powerrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thanks for the recommendation! We're happy you found the hotel to your liking and we will endeavor to improve our housekeeping. Hope you can stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The staff at Alexandra hotel were very kind and exceptionally accommodating in all our encounters during our brief (1-night) stay. Since we were coming from the States, we didn't have any Canadian currency, and the front desk staff readily provided currency exchange for any amount needed. They also let us store our bags after our night there, so we wouldn't have to lug them around for the whole day before our late evening return back to the States. The facilities were really clean, the location was just on the doorstep of Kensington Market and Chinatown, and physically situated on the very attractive Alexandra Park, which had an incredibly convenient, clean, large outdoor swimming pool open to the public. Definitely would recommend this place to anyone coming to Toronto. Since the room had a kitchenette, would be a great place for longer term renters as well.

For the price, what it is is wonderful. The room had a large desk, a nice view, and was perfectly spacious. Much better experience that what I might have imagined from other reviews on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schweek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Alexandra Hotel. We try our best to provide comfortable stays for travelers on a budget and we really appreciate the positive comments. We are fortunate to be near a park with a public pool, playground, baseball diamond, and (in the winter) two skating rinks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, ca
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Rooms smell terribly. And I cannot really complain about the cleanness in the room, it just all very old and requiring major renovation or even demolition and building the new hotel at the same spot. Front desk Lady was very dry and she was cutting the conversation and my attempts to ask questions. Maybe they need a more smiles in their service too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alex_sj_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello, and thanks for taking the time to review the Alexandra Hotel. Though your ratings suggest you found some aspects of our hotel favourable, I would like to apologize for our shortcomings regarding the room. Our staff strives to provide clean and comfortable rooms and obviously we did not succeed during your stay. We likely could have dealt with the issue which may have been related to cooking odours (the rooms do have kitchenettes). We will discuss this review with our Front Desk and cleaning staff to help us avoid complaints such as these.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Four stays in the last fifteen months. This is a converted single room occupancy apartment building.This may not be for rich people or those who require pampering.Yet the staff has been responsive to every single request we(my wife and I) or I made. Think dormitory.Yet the beds are good. Think spartan.Yet there is enough kitchen function to make breakfast,lunch,tea and toast,bedtime snack, chill beer,etc.Think functional minimalist. Yet steady wifi and old school tv with cable. Yes parking is $5 try finding anything less than $25 in downtown TO. No it's not a backpacker hotel and I've NEVER heard them represent themselves as such. I suppose ultimately there is a relative quality to cleanliness but i"m a retired Registered Nurse and nothing came close to setting off my cleanliness radar. Did I mention beautiful Alexandra park with daily morning/evening Tai Chi going on is right out the front door? Check a map. If location counts this place is eleven on a scale of ten.Please check my other Toronto reviews. This somewhat insular Bostonian thinks Toronto is beyond incredible and the Alexandra has become my epicenter.

Room Tip: The basic question is cityside or park side. City side try third floor up for the view. Park side Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, Thomas! We strive to provide affordable and comfortable stays for visitors and I'm glad you were satisfied with our services. We appreciate the positive comments and hope you keep coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was officially our worst hotel experience ever. The hotel was dingy with grim with depressing lighting. They charge you for everything. Parking was $5, you could borrow a hairdryer or coffee maker for $10. I felt like a criminal already. overall the hotel would have been fine if it was $40 or $50, but we paid $120, plus $10 deposit, plus $10 tax, enough to stay in a nice b+b. We left feeling grossed out and ripped off.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNaIIIIa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were not made aware of any serious complaints about the lighting or condition of any room so we do appreciate your opinion on the matter. I'm sorry you felt you had a bad experience, but we try to ensure our rates are reasonable and are appropriate for downtown travelers on a budget. Our parking rates are especially low at only $5.00 per day in downtown Toronto. We do not charge for amenities but do require a refundable deposit for some extra items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Chinatown
Studio 6 Toronto
Studio 6 Toronto
#90 of 132 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Chinatown
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
#63 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Downtown
Isabella Hotel and Suites
Isabella Hotel and Suites
#108 of 132 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#82 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Queen Street and West Queen West
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#78 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#107 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Property: Alexandra Hotel
Address: 77 Ryerson Avenue | at Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5T 2V4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Alexandra Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing