We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome value for money, friendly staff,great offers and vibe”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Global Village Backpackers
Ranked #54 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Toronto
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“awesome value for money, friendly staff,great offers and vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2009

we arrived at the global backpackers hostel in june 06. had booke dit aftre searching around on the internet. was very impressed with the location of the hostel , the prices, the service on offer such as buses to different tours and discounted tickets for likes of CN tower & Niagra falls tours etc. Internet was priced normal aswell, little bar in the hostel . only thing was no elevator so literally you gotta go with a proper backpack instead of a suitcase like i did lol. other than that defo highly recommend it. again its in downtown toronto so walking distance to central areas and just a subway ride to the likes of eaton centre

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pshiks09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    31
    28
    65
See reviews for
Families
0
22
58
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2009

This place is beyond filthy. I had stayed there in 2007 and it was acceptible then....but it seems that it hasn't been cleaned ever since. I booked for an entire week but then imediately checked out when I saw the despicable conditions the rooms as well as well as the bathrooms were. Staying there is a serious health hazard with 4 different shades of mold in the shower and a thick film of dust on anything that is not used on a daily basis. In addition, the carpets, matressess and pillows show stains. I will definitely not recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gone_aforeign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YouthHostel, Owner at Global Village Backpackers, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the hostel. We have cleaning staff on duty every single day (as well as evening shifts) and we always follow up on their work. I wish that you had come to us with your complaints so we could have dealt with any issue immediately. Best of luck on your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Heilbrunn, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2009

to stay. good facilities, bathroom a little bit dirty. free wifi, free towels

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaffyMcDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

if there hasn't been no light on at least two evenings and only cold water from the showers on two days and unfortunately on a cold water morning there no coffee at all, I'd given one point more.

fortunately we had not that much time to complain cause there was so much to see and to do in Toronto.

the rooms were ok, the beds were ok, the staff was kind. the washing rooms were old, but are cleaned up every day.
personally I don't like pancakes for breakfast, at least not every day, but that's not a big part of my rating

all in all for that prize it was quite ok.

Stayed September 2009
Helpful?
Thank MatthiasG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YouthHostel, Owner at Global Village Backpackers, responded to this review, October 7, 2009
Hello and thanks for taking the time to write your comment. You are correct that the hot water was out for two days due to a major problem with our tanks which had to be replaced. This episode unfortunately happened during a busy time, however the system has been completely repaired. We hope that you will come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

I have stayed at this hostel on two separate occasions - in 2003 and 2006, and even though basic, it was buzzing with energy. It is just around the corner from China Town, and also very convenient to downtown Toronto. The bar onsite was also a gem, as is sometimes nice to unwind after a day of sightseeing, and get chatting to other guests there.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkatingGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osoyoos, BC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

It was the dirtiest hostel I have ever stayed in, but I will say that it had the social atmosphere......but in my books, that doesn't make up for it.......do something about the bathrooms, they are a serious health hazard.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie77_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YouthHostel, owner at Global Village Backpackers, responded to this review, October 6, 2009
Thanks for writing your review. I want ti apologize for the problems you encountered at our hostel. We had issues this summer with several showers that were out of order for more than two weeks. It was very difficult to keep the washrooms clean during construction. This renovation work has since been completed and the showers and washrooms are clean and working again. Once again, please accept our apologies for these problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmopan
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

There are some good things about this hostel: the staff, the bar.
But the building is falling down, it's a really unclean hostel, the bathrooms are small and uncomfortable, lockers are not free (and they're not maintained, so there's like 5 for everyone).
The fourth worse hostel I've been in (from, say, around two hundred -in two years-)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Queen Street and West Queen West
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#77 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Downtown West
Templar Hotel
Templar Hotel
#84 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
East York
The Only Backpackers Inn
The Only Backpackers Inn
#30 of 97 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Downtown West
Atlas Suites - CN Tower & Convention Centre Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Village Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Village Backpackers

Property: Global Village Backpackers
Address: 460 King St W | (near Bay Street), Toronto, Ontario M5V 1L7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Toronto
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Global Village Backpackers is Toronto's original backpackers hostel. Since 1997 the "Village" has hosted thousands of travellers from around the world. Our facility offers 24 hour operations, large common area, backpackers pub and restaurant, kitchen, laundry and clean and comfortable rooms. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Global Village Backpackers Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing