We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A oldy but a Goody”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Global Village Backpackers
Ranked #54 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Toronto
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
1 review
“A oldy but a Goody”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed here for 5 weeks and I loved every minute of it. I think some of these reviews are harsh towards it. It is not the ritz carlton, it is a great priced hostel with a friendly staff. Yes it has it has its problems but it is a really old building it is going to have problem or two. Personally i think the warped floors are a fun challenge while drinking. Which brings me to the bar great music , great theme partys, fun Karaoke and you get to meet lots of fun interesting people. Sure global is not perfect but if you are looking for the time of your life then this place is for you, if you want higher class the ritz is down the way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    31
    28
    65
See reviews for
Families
0
22
58
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

How this place is allowed to operate is beyond me. Cleanliness? Well more appropriate to list is filthiness. Doesn't look like a cleaner has set their eyes on this building. Grimy, slimy filth bowl. Flies everywhere in the kitchen, i spotted 3 mice on 2 different floors and several people in my dorm had bed bug bites - no wonder i checked out the next morning.
The positives? Location is perfect, just a shame management don't appear to have any desire upgrade the facilities.
Staff - RUDE. When i brought down the 'clean' sheets i was given at check in - which had several blood/god knows what streaks on them, the staff member gave me another set but put the filthy ones back on the shelf for another poor guest/victim.
Ideal place to shoot a reality horror film, otherwise stay clear of this revolting tip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSundin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Telling you not to stay here could be my best advice I'd ever given. Rude customer service (when you could find someone to help you), a stench to all rooms, and an infestation of bed bugs. This place should be condemned.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasha r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Those mouse lovers among you, may have the pleasure of sharing your room with a noisey rodent.
Staff were helpful finding us another room, when it was discovered our room (207) was already occupied by our little furry friend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DangerMouseII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed for one night with friends for a night out in Toronto. I'm a moderately experienced hostel traveler, Global Village satisfied our needs. Could use a little updating, fan in the room was falling apart and bathrooms were very small and a little messy. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 41DaveJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hostel is filthy, being a manager of a hostel in Australia and travelling through hostels throughout Australia, New Zealand, Bali and Canada, this is by far the worst hostel I have ever stayed in! There were mice all through the kitchen and bed rooms, when you couldn't see the mice you could hear them scurrying through the walls as you try to sleep, the bathrooms were blocked the entire stay I was there and the staff would not fix it even after being asked too, the desk staff are more interested in listening to their ipods then helping their guests, all in all do yourself a favour and dont stay in this dump!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benny2481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YouthHostel, Owner at Global Village Backpackers, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for the comments about your stay with at at GVB. I am sorry we did not manage to meet your expectations. I would like to point out however that the two blocked toilets were an issue for those two days--only after repeated attempts by staff to clear them out. We called in the plumber who discovered that someone had intentionally put brown paper rolls down the pipes.

The hostel is cleaned professionally each and every day and during this slow month the cleaning staff are actually doing their rounds of deep cleaning, while we undertake repairs for the spring.

This is an old building but we put every effort into trying to keep it clean. Thanks again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hostel was awful! We stayed there with a big group for two nights. The staff was friendly but they didn't tell anything about the rules that they had there or warn us about the mice and bed bug problem that they have! SO WE SAW A MOUSE AND HEARD MANY!! THERE WAS ALSO BED BUGS (saw those too, bloody marks on our sheets etc)! Bed Bugs will travel home with you so it is not worth of staying there! Cheap and the bar staff was nice but it is dangerous for your health!!! They also threw all of our unopened soft drinks to trash without asking. Just horrible...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YouthHostel, Owner at Global Village Backpackers, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I wish that you had enjoyed your stay with us, however I would like to address your comments. Like many large city hostels, our property has an ongoing pest management program in place each week with an outside professional company. The minute we find out any pest issues we shut down rooms and put them out of order until they are professional detailed--no exceptions. This is an issue we take quite seriously.

Again thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Queen Street and West Queen West
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#77 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Downtown West
Templar Hotel
Templar Hotel
#84 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
East York
The Only Backpackers Inn
The Only Backpackers Inn
#30 of 97 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Downtown West
Atlas Suites - CN Tower & Convention Centre Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Village Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Village Backpackers

Property: Global Village Backpackers
Address: 460 King St W | (near Bay Street), Toronto, Ontario M5V 1L7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Toronto
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Global Village Backpackers is Toronto's original backpackers hostel. Since 1997 the "Village" has hosted thousands of travellers from around the world. Our facility offers 24 hour operations, large common area, backpackers pub and restaurant, kitchen, laundry and clean and comfortable rooms. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Global Village Backpackers Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing