We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Toronto East
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveler rating
10
40
97
130
240
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
40
97
130
240
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
358 - 363 of 517 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HojoTorontoEast, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Toronto East, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HojoTorontoEast, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Toronto East, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This place was filthy! There were huge rat traps around the property (because of this, I didn't have the appetite to try the Chinese Buffet restaurant attached to the hotel). The sheets were threadbare with holes. The courtyard needed a complete overhaul (there used to be an outdoor pool that was filled in with dirt but there was nothing done to the area to make it look halfway decent!). They rented out the indoor pool to a lifeguard class and the hotel guests were asked to leave the pool when the class was there. We're paying customers and we get thrown out like we're lower class?! The furniture in the rooms where pets were allowed was falling apart and the carpet was extremely stained. I had to make a note of where all the stains were so that they couldn't blame my crate-trained dogs with it! The cleaning people smoked heavily so the sheets smelled funny. The smoking rooms were situated in the middle so that you had to walk through the smoke to get to the non-smoking rooms. The "remodelled" room appeared cleaner but was missing a microwave. At least there were no bedbugs but I did come home with a souvenir of the 6-legged brown creepy-crawly variety...

Room Tip: Ask for the remodelled rooms but if you have pets, you get placed in the disgusting rooms and charged extra for each pet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mommyof3bratz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoTorontoEast, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Toronto East, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your review, the property has made a few changes since August 2012. The Courtyard has removed the outdoor swimming pool and had the ground repaved, we do apologize that the newly repaved ground was not to your liking. As to the CPR class in the swimming pool there were no obligations made that gave them the authority to denied entry for our guess to use the pool. I will look into this matter, and please do mention it to the front desk or our hotel staff when it happens and we will let the CPR class know that it is a public area for all guests. We treat our guest with respect and we try our best to make them happy. Although we are a pet friendly hotel, there are specific rooms for pets because some guests are allergic to pets. Therefore, we keep a number of rooms only for pets.

Unfortunately, I am unsure of your comment about “walking through the smoke to get to the non-smoking rooms.” Our smoking rooms are located at the north side of the hotel where as the non smoking are from the south side of the hotel to the east side. Also, I am certain the “renovated” rooms are non-smoking and are located at the south side of the building. If you smell smoke in those non-smoking areas please inform the desk about it as they will investigate and prevent future occurrence with fines. I will inform our housekeeping manager about your comment “cleaning people smoked heavily,” although our housekeeping room staffs do not smoke. It could be due to contracted agents who come in on occasions to aid in room cleaning. Thank you for pointing this out, we will request for non-smokers as our future third party agents to help with housekeeping. Once again we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews