We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not going to EVER stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #60 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Made an Executive Suite reservation a month ago for great deal. Suppose to include King size bed, free Internet, Access to Signature Lounge etc. We checked in this evening for this little, well deserved getaway and there was an error in the reservation. So now my husband and I are in a Sardine Can of a room with no free Internet, not even a full size tub, and definitely no access to Signature Lounge. AND worst of all, pretty sure this is a double bed I am squeezed on right now.
The front desk claims there is nothing they can do and that this is what came up under our reservation.
We are stuck here now. I guess to make the best of it.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellwea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorontoJon, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2010

Dear Valued Guest,

This does not sound like a very good experience. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you personally.

Please contact me at your convenience

Sincerely,

Jonathan Holliwell
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,369 - 5,375 of 6,766 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2010

Having just returned from holiday I thought it best I write straight away. The hotel is in a good location but it is in need of a coat of paint, it looks drab inside. The worst thing is to be prepared for building works on two adjacent roads and these works will be lasting a long time, (looks like construction of two new blocks is taking place and is at an early stage). So at 6.45am you will be awake. The side we were in also suffered with pigeons, the 'balcony' was coated in pigeon faeces and the vermin would start with their noises before the works on some mornings.
Staff are very helpful and the restaurant at BB33 is good value, if you want a hearty breakfast it is FAR cheaper than the local breakfast outlets and provides high quality food and as much as you want. Nice pool on the 25th floor. Until the building works are finished I cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorontoJon, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2010

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. There is a new Condo development being contructed accross the street and we work very closely with the developer to ensure noise is kept to a minimum.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Holliwell
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Was in Toronto to run the Scotia Bank Toronto Waterfront Marathon,and this hotel was perfect for that. The location was with in walking distance of everthing. The room was large,clean and very comfortable. The service at check in and out,plus the nice size business center made everything very pleasant.
I highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Toronto.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navywrslr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorontoJon, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2010

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again for the Marathon next year (if not sooner).

Sincerely,

Jonathan Holliwell
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We arrived at the Delta Chelsea at about midday, knowing that our room would not be available until 3pm (check-in time) however we were able to leave our cases at the hotel whilst we went out to explore Toronto. This was facilitated by the downtown location of the hotel which is in easy walking distance to all attractions. We had a Signature Club Room, which was beautiful with views over most downtown Toronto and Lake Ontario from our balcony!

The complimentary breakfast was delicious as were the evening canapés, which we sampled on our second day. The rooftop pool only 2 floors up, has spectacular views and we would recommend going up to the terrace even if you don’t intend to use the pool. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful at all times, especially those at the front desk.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Delta Chelsea Hotel, and we will definitely to go back there next time we are in Toronto!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie-mark83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorontoJon, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2010

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about our hotel. We were thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay, and our city.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Holliwell
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

My husband, mother-in-law and I stayed here for two nights.

My mother-in-law called the hotel to book a seniors' rate, and she got one of the recently renovated rooms for $99/night.

Our room was bundled with our airfare, and we got an old room (not renovated) that looked like it was straight out of 1990.

What was good about this hotel:
- excellent downtown Toronto location
- our room/floor was quiet and relatively clean
- the service at the front desk was good. the bellhops were exceptionally nice and efficient.

What was not so good:
- everything in our room was old and out-dated. worn-out, ugly furniture and decor, tired and stained carpets, halogen lamps that looked unsafe and rickety, an old Bell telephone whose speed dial buttons (to various areas of the hotel) didn't even work properly anymore and a TV with a clunky system and limited channels.

- there were hardly any amenities in the room. we got 2 bottles of water, a coffee/tea maker and that's it. no bar fridge. no wi-fi at all in the room. internet access was available, but it was via ethernet an you had to pay something like $15 per day to use it. If you wanted free wi-fi, you had to go down to the lobby, and try to find a signal that worked.

- the heating and cooling system is central and ancient. it was cold at night in Toronto, so we wanted to put on some heat. the thermostat was the old dial kind, and when the heating would not kick in, I called down to the front desk to ask why. I was informed that the hotel was "not on heating yet" -- meaning that the *whole hotel* was either on A/C or heating. The hotel was still using air conditioning, and if you wanted heat in your room, too bad. The closest you can get to heat is to shut off the A/C.

- Even the windows in the room were old and seemed totally energy inefficient. Maybe that's why it was so cold in the room. The windows were also completely filthy -- so much so that someone had squeezed through the small window onto the balcony you couldn't use and had written in the dirt on the window. Wonder how long it's been like that? Ever hear of window washers, Delta Chelsea?

- The hallways also had old peeling wallpaper, dark and stained carpets, and lots of scuffs and scrapes on the walls. The couches in the hotel lobby were also dirty and had stains on them. Some parts of the hotel just seemed a bit trashy and old.

Although my mother-in-law really liked her room (it was basically brand new), she did not like the restaurant downstairs she ate at and said that even the sandwich she ordered was sub-par.

I should mention too that on our first night there was a fire alarm at 2:30 am. It was not clear initially that it was a fire alarm -- the sound of it was confusing -- and we had to read the notes on the back of our door to know for sure it was a fire alarm. About 5 minutes after the alarm started, the management made announcements over the loudspeaker and told the majority of the guests to stay in their rooms. These announcements were repeated every 2 minutes or so for the next half hour until the fire department determined it was a false alarm.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LolaWantsandGets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

after reading all the review i tought that i was making a good choice with this hotel, we did not use the pools so on that side i have no opinion but if you are travelling with friend,or spouse this is not a very good choice, the location is not that great, on part of younge street with lots of homeless, not so clean . no good restaurant walking distance. all in all we where desapointed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank d.poirier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We found this hotel to be very well located for most tourist attractions. Considering the close proximity to Yonge Street and Dundas Square it was surprisingly quite. The service in the hotel was very efficient as we had to report a problem with the bathroom, which was put right within the hour. The staff are knowledgeable and friendly. We did think the the restaurants were quite expensive. There are two swimming pools, one for families on the 2nd floor, and one for adults on the 27th floor which also includes a fitness area. The next time we visit Toronto we would consider staying at the Delta Chelsea again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank englander1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#58 of 138 in Toronto
2,759 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#47 of 138 in Toronto
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Address: 33 Gerrard Street W, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $122 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|bar Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, HotelPower, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing