We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #60 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good stay, but...”
Reviewed June 6, 2009

If thinking about booking a room at Delta Chelsea, spend a few extra bucks to get a "Premier Room". I didn't so had an unrefurbished room with the typical ugly carpeting and bedspread, etc. But I was very happy at the hotel and would stay there again. The location can't be beat - bordering Yonge Street, a couple blocks from Eaton Centre, and around the corner from the bars on Church Street. I appreciated having a balcony to step outside and enoy the view and nice end-of-May weather, although the balcony itself was ugly, contained no furniture and was full of pigeon droppings. The adult pool area was great - high up with a great view and nice to take photos from the sundeck up there. The restaurants downstairs are decent - I only ate breakfast there once and it was good. Staff was always pleasant and said "hello" and even though it is a big and busy hotel, it was easy to check-in, ask a question and check out.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keithb789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,165
    2,170
    1,663
    690
    391
See reviews for
1,490
1,702
492
1,319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

First Rule of customer service is don't argue with the customer.

Andrea in guest services did just that.

What happened?
I returned to my room on the last night of my visit to find the do not disturb sign on my door gone which I know I placed on the door before I left.
I enter my room no Don not disturb sign on the inside of the door either to find sure enough housekeeping had cleaned my room and were pretty much hands on with everything I owned in the room, suit case moved laptop opened up things on the desk neatly arranged.
Now I can understand the hallway is a fairly public place someone may have taken the do not disturb sign and housekeeping didn't see it, so I call guest services to ask if it was noted that the do not disturb sign was missing for my room.

A lady named Andrea picked up the phone; I asked my question and she was immediately confrontational "sir, first of all we would never enter your room if you had put the do not disturb sign on the door in the first place".

I explained to Andrea that I prefer my privacy from the beginning to the end of my stay. in another words the do not disturb sign is posted out side of my room for the duration of my stay.

Andrea's response is a curt "well sir I will tell you that you must have not put it on your door".

I tell Andrea I actually did make sure it was on the door before I left in the morning because it had fallen off when I opened the door to leave and I had picked it up and placed it on the door.

Andrea in another curt and short voice says she is going to call the manager and see what they say.

ok...? 15minutes pass...

Andrea calls back to tell me brashly that the manager says I didn't put the sign on my door this morning.

I ask her how the manager would have that information?

Andrea's condescending response was as follows "because if you had, then your room wouldn't have been cleaned" like it was the punchline to a joke.

I explain to Andrea that I kind of felt a little uncomfortable with her tone and the way she was handling the situation more than the broken taboo of the do not disturb sign.

she says she will talk to the front desk and call me back.

before I can ask her why she would need to talk to the front desk when she's already spoken with the manager she hangs up.

I did not receive a call back the rest of the night.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDUB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toronto hotels

eagles34
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Probably would give the hotel 4.5 out of 5. I liked most things about it. Didn't have the problems waiting for the elevators or the crowds like alot of other people had. They gave me a renovated room which was real nice but it looked like the they only renovated about 80% of it. The balcony was old like people said but looked at it as a plus to even have one because alot of high rise hotels don't anymore. Internet worked great and not too expensive. Parking was a little expensive (I think 20 in canadian) and was the only part of the hotel I didn't like alot - the lot was real tight and confusing and old. Fortunately everything is nearby so you could park your car and forget about it until you leave. Liked everything else - location and service was great. Had alot of options to eat inside the hotel that were pretty cheap. Also the bed was awesome - only hotel I slept at in a while the didn't hurt my back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eagles34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The double room was small, cramped, dark, furnished with dated furniture and sad. You could tell the room was probably nice in the early 1980s. It seemed mostly clean to be fair but the dreariness of the room made it feel dirty.

My balcony was locked with a bar that prevented you from stepping out onto it so it was pointless. The balcony was also a hangout for birds since it was covered heavily in bird excrement. It was not pleasant to look at.

The elevators are not enough for a hotel of this size and are extremely slow. There was typically a cue to squeeze onto one and often I would wait for a couple to pass before I could manage to get on one. The elevators were a complete time waster. Sometimes I used the stairs as a faster option.

The upsides are the location and the ground floor restaurant . It is convenient to nightlife on Church Street and the shopping in the Yonge Dundas area. The restaurant on the ground floor served a good breakfast and was very busy.

Hotel staff are pleasant but again nothing special. It you are looking for exceptional service you will not find it here. It was adequate like everything else this hotel offers.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2009

Huge hotel, with good service and clean rooms. Very centrally located, walking distance to many attractions and facilities, and about a two minute walk from the subway. The food in the hotel is a bit expensive (as are most hotel restaurants), but there are lots of places to eat right next to the hotel, with a 24 hour pharmacy and many convenience stores within a five minute walk.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayfare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Upgraded room to a newly renovated room when checking in. The bedding in the room was comfortable and seemed clean. However, the bathroom was not. The tub had dirt built-up and was nasty. I felt like I needed to wear shoes.
It is a very large hotel with a lot of activity. Our room on the 16th floor did not have good insulation to keep out external noise. We heard everything in the hallway and from the neighbors throughout the stay. Stayed in a 4 star hotel at Niagara Falls the previous night and it was not like this at all. I am not sure why this hotel is 4 stars on some sites.
Also the patio was shared and not finished - bare cement.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travlhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Five things you need to know:
1) Go with the upgrade: We landed the room through an unbelievable web-deal--the one that rhymes with "fire" (not "fine"). After learning the hotel's identity I was concerned about the mixed room reviews on Trip Advisor. We followed the TA advice from others to get the $20/night upgrade-it's definitely worth itl!!! The room was much newer and nicer than their baseline rooms, PLUS even after the $$$ upgrade, the total rate was still better than anything else you can find in town. (Just know you'll also get hit with a $26/day parking charge, but that's standard for downtown hotels).
2) Great location: A good home base if you're plan is to "do Toronto." There's a general buzz in the hotel lobby all the time (compared with tranquility at somewhere like the King Edward). Fits the Yonge Street feel where the full city experience is right outside your door (sights, smells, sounds, everything). If you're trying to "get away from it all," this isn't your place.
3) Convenient food options: Good food offerings within the hotel, but everything you'd want is nearby (from fine dining to pizza by the slice). Coffee was o.k., but Starbucks and Tim Horton's were both just a couple blocks away.
4) Service satisfactory (not much more). Had a couple requests of the staff during our stay. They were eventually honored, but felt begrudgingly.
5) Adult pool and fitness center a hidden gem (26th floor with plenty of state of the art work out equipment).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheapTravelSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#57 of 136 in Toronto
2,610 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Property: Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TravelUp, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing