We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #59 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Honeymoon visit”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We spent the first two nights of our honeymoon at this hotel and were lucky enough to have our room upgraded by a really nice member of staff who was working on the Reception desk. While it wasn't glamorous, it suited us just fine and we found the hotel to be incredibly convenient when considering the places that we wanted to visit. The only downside to our stay was the fact that there were renovations occurring and random workmen appeared on our balcony several times whilst we were resting in the hotel room. That said, we'd stay here again and would like to thank everyone for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyMaeLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear LucyMaeLou,

Thank you for choosing the Chelsea for your honeymoon in Toronto. We are delighted to learn of your experience while staying with us. Your feedback will be shared with the management team for review. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,200
    2,207
    1,694
    705
    398
See reviews for
1,527
1,743
497
1,343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had a few reservations about staying in what is described as Canada's largest hotel. We were, however pleasantly surprised. It was run very efficiently even though the reception area was always busy and bustling. Our room was a good size but didn't have the best view! Also the decor was a little dull and dated. It's in a great position with restaurants very close by. We had 3 nights here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Susieesmith,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your first stay with us. We are delighted to learn of your overall experience. We are in the process of planning our next phase of renovations, and your comments will help us address the areas of biggest opportunity. We are excited for these plans to move forward and share with our guests.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel is conveniently centered in Toronto but man is it busy. All hours of the day and night it is a bustling place. Staff was great but I would not stay there again just because of the amount of traffic through the hotel. Rooms were average, nothing special and mostly clean.

Room Tip: Try to get a street facing room as the view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadianwannab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Canadianwannab.

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to learn that the busy nature of the hotel was not suited to your needs. Due to our down town location and proximity to area attractions, there tends to always be a hive of activity going on. We hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back in future.


Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We have stayed here numerous times before when it was still the Delta Chelsea and we were never disappointed this is the first time we have stayed here since the Eaton company has fully taken over and it will be the last. We in countered a few hiccups upon check in which can happen but it is how the staff handled it which is what we has a problem with. We felt as though they were just placating us and really not dealing with the problem. My husband had to go down many times to finally clear up all the issues and each time no one really helped him one woman in particular was extremely rude and condescending and he asked to speak to a manager and was told there wasn't one available. The food has also changed and was not that good and the staff is just not as friendly as they used to be. It's too bad that we had such a bad experience because the location is amazing! But it's way over priced for what you get! Never again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Timmins
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I bought tickets for a Jays game, payed 30 for parking, stayed at Eaton Chelsea, payed 39 for parking. Doesn't make sense for travelers to visit Toronto, Very noisy from the streets, all you hear is sirens. Don't stay downtown, travel a little each day.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keldonben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Downtown hotels in Toronto are chronically sold out, but the Eaton seems to have room most of the time. The rooms are a little dated (carpet, wallpaper etc.), but the furniture is reasonably modern. Desk/ chair are pretty good if you have to work from the hotel. I like the cordless phone, nice when you can walk around with it when on a conference call.

The bathroom has the typical shower/ tub combo, also a little older but the two times I was there everything worked fine, with plenty of water pressure. Sink/ fixtures have been updated recently, with a granite counter top. Nice array of toiletries, with a faux turn-of-the-century labeling ("pharmacopeia"). Both the room and bathroom were clean.

The A/C in the room was OK. The fan was a touch noisy, but it kept the room at a good temperature.

The beds are very comfortable, and the linens were spotless. Because of this I've not felt the need to find a different hotel in this area. There is a good radio/ alarm clock with an iPod dock.

The TV is fairly large, flat screen, but picture quality is sub par because of the standard TV input. Hotel managers, let me let you in on a little secret. This HD thing is here to stay. Wireless access is good throughout the hotel, I did not have any connectivity issues nor dropped VPN connections. Speed is adequate but not stellar. There is a wired connection available as well, which I did not use. Clothes iron worked well, definitely above average.

On the top floor there is a lap pool, hot tub and gym. The lap pool is definitely for exercise, it is not warm. You have to keep moving. The hot tub was pretty clean. The fitness equipment is excellent, modern and well maintained. Treadmills, ellipticals, weights, stationary bikes etc. Most have a TV. The only downside is that it's all one open area. The air is quite moist because of the pool, so 5 minutes on the treadmill and you're already sweating. The (men's) locker room was clean, good showers, and a sauna. A nice touch is the swim suit dryer.

There is a coffee/ snack place (Starbucks), a restaurant, and a bar. Service is good, quality is reasonable, but it's expensive. I'd go as far as saying a little overpriced. But there is definitely lots of room to sit, including a courtyard area at the back.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, and provided some good restaurant/ shopping recommendations.

Room Tip: Look for a room away from the elevator. A colleague had a room next to the elevator and said it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

It's a lot like work getting a room at the Eaton Chelsea that justifies the price they charge. Forget about pouncing on some discounted rate from a third party online vendor: you'll be treated like a second class citizen. And heaven help you if you arrive late when they're fully booked and get the last unoccupied room.

I booked on the hotel's own website and reserved a "Standard" room for two nights for $400 (Check-in Monday, June 23, 2014). When I arrived around six p.m., check in was swift, and within minutes I was stepping into:

Room #1: Which reeked of some industrial strength cleanser, I'm guessing a vain attempt to undo the damage from one too many incidents involving bodily fluids. Back to the desk, dragging luggage for:

Room #2: In the same block of the hotel (BEWARE THE BLUE ELEVATOR), and last touched by renovators long before the turn of the millennium. When exactly did that mellow yellow shade of porcelain in the tub go out of fashion? And when was the last time you saw a tub whose drain sealing technology was a rubber stopper on a chain? The rest of the room confirmed the age of its finishings. Back again to the desk for:

Room #3: Sensing a pattern, I finally asked for a room that had been renovated in the last decade. The desk clerk mumbled something about the fact my reservation was for only a "Standard" room, suggesting that getting one with plumbing fixtures made in this century should cost more, and I should feel humbled by her largess. The room provided was no bigger than the first two, and it probably had been renovated within the last ten years, though not the air conditioner, a thunderous unit that required increasing the volume on the TV every time it erupted.

Make sure you insist on a quality room here. Give the owners a reminder that some of the money they get out of a property should go back into it.

Room Tip: Insist on a room that has been renovated within the last decade, or in this millennium at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#57 of 136 in Toronto
2,642 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Property: Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing