We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A work in progress” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #58 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
burbank, ca
Level Contributor
295 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A work in progress”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel was recently renamed and boasts an attractive lobby, no doubt recently renovated.
Our room, however, could stand a makeover. Although clean with comfortable beds, it just
seemed tired. And, the bathroom really showed it's age. The elevators were very slow.
One big plus: the good-looking cafeteria that was perfect for late-night snacking. The hot
breakfast buffet also scored well. Definitely worth visiting once the renovations are completed.

Room Tip: Check beforehand to make sure renovated rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodhoundBurbank_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    2,092
    1,590
    652
    371
See reviews for
1,444
1,633
466
1,211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have stayed here many times, the most recent being with a friend during the first weekend of October, 2013. Formerly the Delta Chelsea (prior to July 1, 2013), this hotel is conveniently located in downtown Toronto near the Eaton Centre. It is especially great for tourists who are visiting Toronto without a car because the Airport Express shuttle begins and ends at this location. Upon check-in we were greeted by a delightful clerk named Sarah who graciously upgraded us to a deluxe room in light of the fact we were both celebrating birthdays that weekend; thanks Sarah! Our room was facing south and provided us with a partial view of Yonge Street just north of Yonge-Dundas Square. Overall the entire staff was friendly and the guest rooms were well appointed and clean. While offering a very comfortable setting, the rooms are void of a fridge, microwave, and expanded cable selections on the TV. If these items are ever added I would easily rate this hotel as a "5" (excellent). While we never ate dinner at the restaurant, we did eat breakfast in the Bistro on our last morning there; it was satisfactory. There is also a gift shop near the Yonge Street exit, a 24-hour store going west on Gerrard Street, and numerous other stores and shops in the area. I have enjoyed each of my visits to this hotel and will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors offer a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apatejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Apatejr,

Thank you for choosing the Chelsea for your birthday celebrations! I am so pleased that your overall stay was enjoyable and Sarah was able to make it a little bit more special. Good news! Mini fridges can be brought to rooms upon request and are free of charge. We also have rooms with full kitchens including a microwave should this be required. I hope this information will be helpful to your next booking. Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here while in Toronto on business. It was a short walk to the Eaton Centre and other downtown locations. Lots of restaurants nearby for every taste and budget.
I really like the fact that they had a separate pool and hottub area for adults only on the 27th floor, nice view of the city and a relaxing way to enjoy the factilities without having to worry about screaming kids and water diapers. The hotel was quite busy the weekend I stayed there but the noise was minimal and maybe due to the fact that I faced Elm street very little street noise. Beds were comfortable.

Bathroom was a little dated and could use some sprucing up, cracked floor tiles, broken grout in the shower and the drain was broken.

Great price compared to other hotels of similar quality in the neighbourhood

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trip365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Trip365,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review on your recent business trip. I am pleased that despite the business of the hotel, you enjoyed a quiet relaxing time and you were even able to enjoy the adults fitness and pool. We know this space can be great when catering to a verity of travelers. I have noted your comments regarding the condition of the washroom in your guest room and passed this to our facilities team as we seek our biggest areas of opportunity. I hope that we may welcome you back soon.

Thank you,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for four nights while visiting the city.I understand it is the largest hotel in Toronto and it always seemed to have people coming and going.I think they do a lot of business courses etc.The reception desk dealt with customers efficiently and competently.The Concierge desk was available to book tours through City Sightseeing.We did a city tour,island tour and Niagara Falls tour through the Concierge desk which were good value in my opinion.Various dining options within the hotel although we used local restaurants apart from breakfast.As we had a late flight on the final day our bags were stored and an airport limousine was arranged for us.The hotel is situated near the Eaton shopping mall and food hall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tony2mayston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Tony2Mayston,

Thank you for your feedback. You can trust that the information provided is used to improve our services and let our staff know how they are doing. It is great to learn of the great experience and value you had on your city tours. It is the best way to see most of the sites in Toronto. We hope that you will visit us again soon and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
327 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stay here for during a conference. Hotel is in a fantastic location with plenty of eateries just outside the hotel. It is close to the University of Toronto (about 10- 15 min walk). Hotel itself is quiet and our room at a small balcony with sliding door.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler0632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear WorldTraveler0632,

Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased that your overall experience was enjoyable and our location was beneficial to your visit. We hope we may welcome you back again soon.

Thank you,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, ont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We went to Toronto for our anniversary and the Maple Leafs home opener. I bought the stay on-line so the price was right. The huge hotel is under going renos so there is lots going on. The front lobby looks great along with the bar and bistro. The room we stayed in on the upper floors is in dire need of some TLC. They told us they are working on all the balconies first. it will be a massive job. The location is great! You can walk everywhere but the subway is very close also. We ate at an Indian/Thai restaurant right around the corner on Elm street. It was excellent. Overall, goodnight but I wouldn't have wanted to pay full price.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HomeyBowmanville_ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear HomeyBowmainville_ont,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel. It is great to learn the considering the deal you found online, your stay was overall enjoyable. I have noted your comments regarding the rooms condition and have shared it with our management team. As we move forward with the refurbishments we will share the exciting news with our guests. I hope that we may welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Go Leafs Go!

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

A great place to stay, the Toronto experience was special to be seen from the windows on the 42 floor, there was a spectacular thunder and lightning storm while we were staying, and with the lights from the city below were twinkling in the distance...very beautiful. The in hotel bar was a great place to unwind and have a quiet drink. The staff were all pleasant and amiable. The comfort of the room was evident and the restful sleep that we got was priceless.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael-paulsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Michael-Paulsen,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide some feedback on your most recent stay with us. We are delighted to learn that your experience was most enjoyable and the thunderstorm added to the experience. T|Bar is a great place for guest to enjoy a quiet drink with some light snacks. On your next visit, check out our signature Caesar's, made from scratch right here at the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,544 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#23 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Property: Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing