We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property in Transition but Still a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #58 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Guelph, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Property in Transition but Still a Great Location”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The lobby has been renovated and the restaurant increased. The desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and there was no noise. The cleaning staff were thorough and provided additional towels immediately upon request. The hotel is within walking distance of Eaton Centre, lots of restaurants, an LCBO and a metro station so it is well placed if you don't want to drive. The only down side was that there is a lot of construction on roads around the hotel making it difficult to reach and even on the Gerrard front of the building itself. The hotel can't be responsible for Toronto road maintenance and once their renovations are complete the building entrance will be as accessible as it was in past. Nice upgrade and I enjoyed my visit thoroughly. I wiould go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,218
    2,242
    1,715
    720
    404
See reviews for
1,569
1,763
503
1,359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DC, USA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night while visiting Toronto on a long weekend. The lobby was under renovation at the time, but it was fine. The water with fruit in the lobby was a nice touch. The elevators are a bit of a pain as they don't all go to all floors. The room was very small but clean and adequate. The bed was very comfortable, and there was a fantastic view of the skyline which included the CN Tower. The rooftop style indoor pool was alright, showing it's age, but the views from it, the attached fitness center, and outdoor patio were fantastic and it was nice to just sit out on the patio for a little while.

The area around the hotel is nice, but fairly quiet. It's about a 10 minute walk to get to just about anything worth seeing or doing, but many things are at least walkable as long as you're prepared for it.

Overall, it was acceptable for the rate I received from Priceline, but I'd only stay here again if it was a great deal, otherwise there are nicer hotels in better locations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjb42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed there 1 night and was okay, but not what it used to be. The bathroom was in disrepair as were the hallways. It smells and looks old. Likely not rushing back. Staff at check in and out were functional but certainly not overly pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R1D3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The staff are friendly, there is free wifi and the elevators are a bit confusing but they work. For a downtown hotel this place has seen better days, it's old. I was staying on the fifth floor looking out over a roof/balcony where previous guests had smoked and no one has bothered to gather up the butts in quite a while (gross). The bathrooms are so small you can't sit on the John and open the door at the same time, the hair dryer didn't work. The place has a feel of decay, needs a refit. For the price it's not bad for downtown T.O.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 5th floor go higher to reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottawa_uhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here in July for 3 nights on business with my family. Was monitoring the hotel after it's change of hand from the Delta. Two swimming pools, one for families & the other for the over 19, my husband took my children to the family pool & I went to the adult pool thinking it would be nice and quiet, it was, for about 15mins when a party of "grown ups" came in and turned it into a pool party, I left. That evening the hotel was noisy with party goers, and had some knock on our door. The day before we checked out we came back to our room & discovered my eldest's' treasured bear, he's had since day one (almost 10yrs) missing from our room. We were told he probably got mixed up in the laundry, (why the bedding was changed the day before our check out, I've no idea, not very environmentally friendly, you'd think a large hotel would keep the laundry to a minimum) , two months later no sign. On initial investigation the staff were rude & unhelpful. It wasn't until I put a comment on their fb page did they "perk up". Two months down the line the hotel have concluded their search, end of. I feel my sons bear was stolen. Not an expensive item, but priceless to my son. I will not be recommending this hotel, not just because of the theft, but because it's too big a hotel to value it's customers. Big mistake!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 252Ali_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, General Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear 252Ali_H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay at the Eaton Chelsea.

The safety and security of our guests is the number one priority at the Eaton Chelsea. We certainly understand the value as well as the emotional attachment of your treasured bear.

We have thoroughly investigated this and none of our team recalls ever seeing the item in the guest room or, any other area of the hotel. We have done an extensive search of our laundry, in the hopes that it had inadvertently, been mixed with some bed linens. Unfortunately, despite our very best efforts we have been unable to locate it. (We posted pictures of the bear throughout our staff areas, in the event that it had been accidentally dropped or misplaced, and assisted as a police report was filed)

As an act of good will, we arranged for a package, with some child amenities to be sent out immediately after concluding our search. We recognize that it does not make up for the lost bear however, as Toronto's number one family hotel, we felt the need, to at the very least, send a small token letting them know that we do place a high value on the loss of such a sentimental item.

Thank you,


Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisburg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed here when it was the Delta Chelsea and from reception till checkout, it sems to be a colder, get-in-and-get-out type of place. The menu - although the food was good - was about 1/3 the choices of what it used to be. The room service has the tip (15%) and transporting (about $4) added to it, but the guy who delivers it still looks for more. The prices are out of this world as you would expect. We got two $29 steaks and they charged $13 on top. The beds were firm, possibly too much for some, but you can't please all. All in all, just an okay stay.

Room Tip: Great view from up high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shueyville
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We recently spent four nights here and had an enjoyable stay. It seems to be run very efficiently, and the entire staff is quite friendly and helpful, especially the housekeepers who clean the rooms in the 2230s. They did a tremendous job and added some nice little touches that we appreciated when we returned to our room every afternoon after sightseeing. We also requested a refrigerator right after we checked in, and it was delivered in about fifteen minutes, which can't be beat. It was also free, so if your room doesn't have one, don't hesitate to ask.

We ate just a couple of meals there, but the food was decent and at a very reasonable price for a downtown hotel. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you're a smoker, use the Elm St. exit because you're much less likely to be pestered by p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gringo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Gringo G,

Thank you for taking time to post a review regarding your recent 4 night stay at the Chelsea. It is great to know that the service provided by our staff made your stay that much more enjoyable. We hope that you will come join us again soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 137 in Toronto
2,658 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Property: Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing