We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not Great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #58 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I recently stayed at the Chelsea over New Years and brought in 2013. The hotel, again being centrally located and only several blocks away from all amenities...was reasonably clean and confortable and provided what I was after....a clean hotel with a reasonably comfortable bed. Yes it is a little dated, and a little worn...but if you look around, I`m confident you`ll receive a great rate....making it a totally acceptable experience for the money spent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskatoonbanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Saskatoonbanker

Thank you for your note regarding your recent stay. It is so great that you chose to ring in 2013 with us. I am happy that the hotel was well suited for your needs and price point. The location of the hotel is some of our guests favourite feature and allows for great opportunities in the down town core. We are currently planning our next stages of renovations and hope to have them started soon. Since your visit we have completed the installation of complimentary wireless internet in all guest rooms as well as updated all the television in our guest rooms. We are excited by the completion of these projects and look forward to have our guest experience these upgrades. We hope you will join us again soon!

Thank you,

Alistair I
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    2,089
    1,589
    650
    371
See reviews for
1,442
1,631
465
1,211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I checked in after a travel expo I was working. This is a fine hotel, nothing amazing and nothing terrible. If you want a clean reasonably priced hotel the is a good choice. It is in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brucie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Brucie35

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your recent stay at the Chelsea. By taking 15 minutes to tell us how we are doing, you are helping on our journey to continuously improve the level of service we are providing to our guests. I was pleased to learn that you stay was overall most enjoyable. It is great that the hotel was well situated for your needs and came at a reasonable price for value for you. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you

Alistair I
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed at the Delta Chelsea for 2 nights, Feb 1 & 2, 2013 while in Toronto on business. The room I had (on the 24th floor) was very dated, wallpaper was peeling and was very small. I booked through Priceline, so taking that into account, perhaps I was given one of the older dated rooms due to the price I paid. The value I'm giving the hotel is based on regular room rates, and not what I paid through Priceline.

The staff however, were very efficient and friendly and room service is somewhat reasonably priced.

Location is excellent in the heart of Toronto, but I don't think I'd stay at this location again due to the overall condition of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Louisbean

Thank you for completing a review of your stay at the Chelsea. It is such a great opportunity for the hotel when guests provide feedback. We use this information to better our services and facilities. I was concerned with the condition in which the room you were provided was in. I can assure this is not a representation of the level of service we aim to provide our guests. We have renovated floors to better suit some guests and are currently planning the next phase of renovations. We hope to have these renovations started soon and look forward to their completion. It is great that you were able to enjoy some other facilities in the hotel and our staff provided friendly, welcoming service.

Thank you once again for your feedback,

Alistair I
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
267 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was quite pleased with my 2-night stay here for business. I specifically requested a renovated room, thanks to the tips online. The room was spacious, with a kitchenette. It was clean and comfortable with modern furnishings, a comfortable bed and lots of space. The bathroom had modern counters and sinks, but the bathtub was still somewhat older. Wired internet in the rooms is complimentary, but there isn't wifi.

The hotel is well-placed for meetings in the core of Toronto. There's lots of good restaurants nearby. The gym is very large, with good weight machines, a limited number of free-weights, and good cardio machines. I would say this is probably the largest and most well-equipped hotel gym I've been to. There's also a swimming pool and hot-tub situated in the gym area.

Overall, the renovated area of the hotel is nice and pretty standard for a Delta. I had no complaints!

Room Tip: The rooms on Floors 4-9 are more-recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FunkyMan3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear FunyMan3333

It was a pleasure to read your review and learn of your positive stay with us. I am so glad you were able to be situated in a room which suited your needs and met expectations. Our fitness facility is one of a kind and many of our guests love this feature also. In terms of no WiFi in our rooms, we no longer have this problem! As of January 31, 2013 we officially offer complimentary wireless internet in all guest rooms and common areas. We have upgraded this service to better service our business clientèle.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. The Hotel uses this information to better our service for our future guests. I hope to welcome you back to the Chelsea soon!

Thank you

Alistair I
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel was perfect for proximity to the general hospital. The room itself was starting to show some wear, however the front check-in/out staff made up for the lack of the updated room. They knew we were there for a hospital visit and were very caring and considerate and even asked how we all were, and wanted to make sure we were all comfortable.
We will use this hotel again for sure, and would recommend to anyone who wants a short walk to the general hospital.

Room Tip: We chose 21st floor, it helped minimize the noise of the emergency vehicles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear TT

As many of us know and can relate, having a loved one in the hospital is never easy. Our staff understands this and we train our staff to have compassion and understanding in these situations. I am happy that you were able to experience and benefit from these added services. It is also great to hear that our staff made you feel comfortable and at home. This is one of our main goals when serving our guests. Our location is also another plus as we are very close to majority of the down town hospitals and I am glad this was of great help to you. I am excited for the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you once again with exceptional service.

Thank you for you feedback,

Alistair Innes
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We recently stayed at the Deltea Chelsea on New Years eve. Now I have to begin by saying that our reason for being ther was that we were visiting my 4month old nephew who was staying at Sick Kids hospital. The accomodations were decent but truthfully we really didn't stay there long. I'm not one to complain but I felt that the price tag was a bit steep for what we did get but that might ahve been because it was new years and we booked last minute. Unfortunately our room was beside someone who playing Dance music until past 2:30 a.m and it sounded like 30 people were in the room. The party was already going on when we checked in (6 p.m.) and when we got back into our room around 1:00 a.m. On a good day we woulldn't have complained. We know it was new years and we've been there. Around 2:30 when the music didn't stop and if anyting got LOUDER we called the front desk and wound up changing rooms at 3:00 a.m! Now I appreciate that they were able to do this , but would have liked maybe a free breakfast or a discount in return. we got nothing .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mystique7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Mystique7

Thank you for you feedback and comments on your stay over New Year's Eve. Though a very busy night for us, this should not effect the quality of our rooms. I apologize that the room you were assigned did not meet your expectations, and can certainly understand your disappointment. I also apologize for the disruptions caused by loud partying on your floor. We have our security team on 24/7 to monitor guest corridors and common area's. I am sorry we failed to intervene in this instance. It is great to hear that when you did call down to the front desk they responded quickly and provided you with another room and breakfast! I will be sure to celebrate our team members and pass you comments to the department head. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Thank you,

Alistair I
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night while I was in Toronto for business. Granted, I took the cheapest option, but this hotel needs to be updated. Everything is looking pretty tired like the carpets, walls, elevators, etc. My room was not cleaned very well (hair on the toilet, creased visitor's brochures and questionable shower), but it was tolerable.

The staff were very nice though, and helpful. I ordered room service, and it was decent food for what I paid.

I didn't realize I would be charged for making local calls in Toronto from their phone though, which I was not impressed with. I guess I should have read that fine print somewhere on the phone or in the room, but I was not told about at this at any point until I checked out.

Location is great, it is right in the middle of downtown and well located near the TTC. Very convenient for me to get around by walking.

I would stay here again for the price, but not for the room.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the green tower if you're looking for luxury rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanimal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Kandy4

Thank your for completing the review on your recent stay at the Chelsea. I am happy to hear that overall the hotel provided for you needs. I am pleased that our staff provided you with great service and that you were able to enjoy some of our amenities. I do apologize for the condition of your room and can understand your disappointment. As you stated you chose the lowest room category offered, I would suggest trying our deluxe or signature rooms as they have been recently renovated. Our Delta Privilege program is great for business travellers and includes benefits such as complimentary local calls and high speed internet, as well as special promotions through out the year. I encourage you to consider joining the program so these services can add to your overall experience. I look forward to your next stay with us!

Thank you

Alistair Innes
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,544 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#53 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Property: Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing