We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in Toronto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #58 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in Toronto”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Hotel Delta Chelsea is located in Gerrard street in Toronto and this is a really a very convenient location as everything is very close by from here. The rooms are really very nice with spacious rooms and clean bathrooms. The food served here is also really good and service staff is superb. There are also lot of eating and shopping places nearby to this hotel. Overall this is a great place to stay in Toronto.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geetanshkatyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh W, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Geetanshkatyal

Thank you so much for your feedback! I am so happy to hear about the ways our hotel best suited you while in Toronto. Our location is some of our guest favourite aspect and is great for those wishing to spend ample time in the down town core. Thank you once again for the positive review and we hope you come and stay with us again soon!

Thank you,

Alistair Innes
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    2,241
    1,714
    719
    404
See reviews for
1,567
1,762
503
1,358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice and what I love is that the hotel is situated very conveniently, it's just a walk away from where the Hop-on Hop off CIty tour starts and it's very accessible to public transit if you need it. Staff were great, had a welcome package for my son that helped him enjoy the one week stay at the hotel. They have a kids playroom where kids could play, paint and even spend time with pets which is pretty cool. The only problem is that they don't have fridge in the room and we have to wait for the next day when one becomes available, not very convenient if you need to store milk...I suggest requesting the fridge during your reservation if you need one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _yyc_trvlr_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh W, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear. _leigh_yyc_

Thank you for your recent post regarding your stay at the Chelsea. It was great to hear that the location, as for many guest, is your favourite aspect of the hotel. It is great to get out and explore what the city has to offer. I am happy your child was able to use the children's centre and recreation area. I will be passing this along to our recreations staff. We look forward to your next visit!

Thank you

Alistair Innes
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

It is always a treat to Stay at the Chelsea It is close to everything and you are welcomed by courteous staff.I ave stayed solo and with my family and we will keep coming back. You can find more expensive places to stay but the Chelsea just feels like it is worth more than you pay for

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticon2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh W, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Ticon2005

It was a great pleasure to read about your positive experiences with the Delta Chelsea. It is so great that you enjoy everything from the staff to the location. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing and how you felt about your last stay. The hotel is great for suiting business travellers or family and its great that you have stayed in both situations. We look forward to your continued patronage and look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,

Alistair Innes
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel. I mainly choose to stay here when I'm traveling to Toronto on short business trips because very close to our Toronto office location. I remember my first time staying here I was not very impressed as they were having elevator issues (bad timing since it was during TIFF).

I remember the room I had before being much bigger, but maybe it was because I got a room with 2 double beds in it. In any case, my room felt so much smaller this time around with the 1 bed.

In any case, I wouldn't recommend staying at this hotel if you're planning to stay in Toronto a while. For shorter 1-3 day trips it does its purpose if you don't have any other option.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh W, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Jen1805

I would firstly like to thank you for your loyalty and patronage at our Hotels location. I am glad to hear that the location of our hotel best suits your needs for business in the surrounding down town area. I would like apologize for the size of the room. We have multiple room types varying in sizes. You may have been in a deluxe room in the newer wing of the Hotel on your last stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Toronto.

Thank you,

Alistair Innes
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

From the outside, this hotel isn't too bad. It's centrally located, but that comes at a cost, i.e., $29 (not including tax) for parking per night. It's $30 a night for non-guests. But this is typical for a downtown hotel. The staff was cordial and receptive. The room that I was originally assigned smelled like stale cigarette smoke. The staff quickly changed my room for me. However, the rooms were outdated. Looks like they haven't remodeled in 10+ years. The toliet had stains and the wall paper was coming off in some places. The carpet looked quite dated itself. The hotel is a bit loud, since against, it's downtown. For the price (as I got a priceline deal), was worth it. But I would NEVER pay full price for this hotel, and it's definitely not a 3.5 star. I've stayed in 2.5 star hotels that looked much better. Overall, if it weren't for the location and the price, I probably wouldn't give this a 2 star.

Room Tip: If you don't mind dated hotels at reasonable prices, this option might work for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahndoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh W, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Mahndoo

The hotel appreciates the time you have taken to provide feedback on your recent visit. I am happy you were able to enjoy the location of the hotel and that you found our staff cordial and receptive. I would like to apologize for the condition of your room. The hotel is just beginning the next phase of renovations and we hope to have them completed soon. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you visit again.

Alistair Innes
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've been to this hotel many times over the past few years and overall it's a good hotel. The prices are decent and the location is the best part about this hotel, it's located only a few minutes away from Dundas Square. The rooms are comfortable, clean and of a good size but the only issue is the decor and furniture are outdated and could use a facelift.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marky_mark17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh W, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Marky_Mark17

On behalf of of the Delta Chelsea I would like to thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed the location of the hotel as most of our guest do. Its great we were able to provide a good experience overall and hope you will return to the hotel once the next set of renovations is completed by the summer time.

Thank you,

Alistair Innes
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great service and food lot of choices for entertainment and children activities.

Hotel is central location. Check in was superb and quick.

The matrket garden restaurant had good eselction of menu items. Lot of exits from building to access downtown Toronto.

the rooms are very clean and housekeeping staff very friendly.

Internet service was adaquate and easily accessible for hook up

The room had a balconey with view of Toronto at night and during teh day

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh W, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Howard A Cochran

I was very pleased to read your recent review. Thank you for providing such positive feedback on your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read and I am thankful you enjoyed many aspect of the hotel such as the location, friendly staff, food and beverage, and the great view of the city you had from your room. It is encouraging to read these things and I will be passing these comments to the correct departments. We hope we will see you again soon!

Thank you,

Alistair Innes
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 137 in Toronto
2,658 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Property: Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing