We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel halfway between Yorkville Shops and Finacial Business Center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Ranked #60 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
new york
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Hotel halfway between Yorkville Shops and Finacial Business Center”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This hotel is located halfway between uptown Yorkville Shops and downtown Finacial Business Center. The hotel has been around since the 1970's and has 2 extra additions over the years, so if you stay in the newer section it's a 3+ star hotel but the oldest section is pretty much a 2 star hotel. The hotel has underground parking but it will not take an SUV over 6' ft. The loddy has a large and open cafeteria restuarant everything is al a cart, for breakfast if your hungry, I would suggest going to the morning buffet restuarant $18.95 + taxes also located in the lobby, as it could be very expensive to order a lot of food in the cafeteria. I have eaten at the morning buffet before and found the food good, but this time the food was not that good, eggs beny where too dried up (left too long in the steamer) and bacon over cooked but the Continental Buffet side was fine and is cheaper $14.95, so before you decide whether to go for the full buffet or the continental check it out first. This is a very family friendly hotel lots of kids on weekends. The hotel is an all round type hotel that caters to both business traveler and holiday traveler. Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer section on check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northknight3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GESDeltaCHE, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

As a company, it is our mission to create communities guests can rely on for the comfort and emotional support they can’t take with them when they leave home.

I was glad your overall experience was enjoyable and that you found the location convenient for your activities. I have sent your comments to our Rooms Division and Food and Beverage departments to follow up on our areas of opportunity.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Happy Holidays,

Dasha Bortsova
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    2,148
    1,637
    677
    383
See reviews for
1,480
1,678
486
1,284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I stay at this hotel a few times a year. Usually the place is clean and comfortable. Rooms can be small in some areas but overall are not bad. Beds are amazingly comfortable. Construction noise can be an issue with the new condos being built north and west of the property.
I would recommend people join the Privilege program for the check-in speed and the free internet.
My last stay this past Friday was okay except for the hairy sink!!
I stay more often here than most other downtown hotels.

Room Tip: Use Privilege program. Ask for upgraded rooms if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GESDeltaCHE, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review us.

I was pleased to hear that you always have a wonderful stay with us. It is our goal as a company to provide our guests with a comfortable stay and exceptional service. I apologize about the cleanliness of your bathroom, and I have forwarded your comments to the Housekeeping manager to follow up with the team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Happy Holidays

Dasha Bortsova
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This is a wonderful elegant hotel in the heart of Toronto. The rooms are spotless and luxurious. The beds are fantastic, not to mention the giant bathroom! The service at this hotel is second to none. The staff is cheerful, polite and beyond helpful. I stay at this hotel every time I am in Toronto, sometimes we go to Toronto just so we can stay at the Delta.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GESDeltaCHE, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

I was happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and found the rooms clean and beds comfortable. As a company we work hard to provide our guests with a memorable experience and a comfortable stay.

We are looking forward to your next stay and Happy Holidays.

Sincerely,

Dasha Bortsova
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I spent a few nights at the Delta Chelsea in Toronto. The hotel is one (if not the) biggest hotel in Canada. It felt like a zoo sometimes, but I didn't mind that. The hotel is a bit old, which is evident by the worn out furniture in the room. The location of the hotel is excellent, being a three minute walk from Dundas Square/Eaton Centre. The room doesn't have wifi, but does have an Ethernet Internet connection. It comes with the room, as you'd have to pay a daily fee for it (unless you're a Delta Privileged member).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmsultan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I recently purchased a discounted rate for a room at the Delta Chelsea in Downtown Toronto. Lots of companies do this, mine was from Travelocity. My complaint is that they shud tell you that you are not getting a deal, which is how they portray this, you are just paying less for an inferior room. Once I complained I was told that we could pay extra for the renovated more modern redecorated room. The room had stains on the sofa chair. All the furniture was scratched or gouged, carpet was dirty. Bathroom faucets did not work. Bathtub drain was broken and dirty. I am ok with getting what you pay for but that should be my choice not false advertising.

Room Tip: You pay the premium amount and will receive the better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GESDeltaCHE, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that the condition of your room did not meet your expectations, and would like to apologize for the disappointment you felt. I can promise you that this does not represent the usual high level of service we work hard to provide our guests with. I am pleased to let you know we have renovated all of our corridors and our guest rooms on the lower floors and continually upgrade our guest rooms and features. We have installed iPod docking stations and LCD flat screen TVs in the majority of our upgraded rooms and hope to finish the process soon.

I have sent your comments to our Rooms Division to follow up with your concerns, and can assure you your feedback has not been taken lightly.

We look forward to welcoming you back and Happy Holidays.

Sincerely,

Dasha Bortsova
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I have stayed, and will continue to stay at this hotel. Reasonable rooms, most of which are up to date. Clean with an unbeatable guarantee - if the cleanliness isn't up to snuff, your first night is free. I have in fact received one of these free nights.

Last night's stay had a few bumps: an old technology television with not great picture quality. And more frustrating: the blasted key card wouldn't work. I can't stand having to go back to the front desk to fix a problem that shouldn't happen. It is a big enough hotel to make this a nuisance, particularly when one is on a timeline. This has happened to me on a number of occasions at this hotel, which til now I've assumed has been an infrequent problem. Now, they need to do something about it.

Still, the Delta Chelsea is a reliable friend. Great location, good service, reasonable food service, good loyalty program. I will stay again and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IaOrana_Maruuruu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GESDeltaCHE, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for reviewing us.

I was pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. However, I apologize for the issues you have experienced with your key card. Some of the reasons that keys get deactivated is if is kept close to magnetic items such as cell phones or credit card, then the strip gets wiped out. I apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced and the matter has been addressed with the maintenance department.

We are also in the process of replacing TVs in the rooms to improve the quality of the experience.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back and Happy Holidays.

Sincerely,

Dasha Bortsova
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Do not under any circumstances accept a room that faces Gerrard. Construction starts across the street at 7:00 am sharp!

Hotel is too big for it's own good and too dated to be of value. Rooms are relatively small. There is no wi-fi in most rooms and where there is it costs $14 every day - as does the hard-wired internet access. Market Garden has lots of choice - of very ordinary and expensive food. Only benefit is its location.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YarGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GESDeltaCHE, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I am sorry for the disturbance you experienced while you were here with us, and can certainly understand your disappointment. We do our best to assign guests to rooms on the south side; due to limited room types and high levels of occupancy we are not always able to do so. I am sorry for the inconvenience this caused.

We currently offer complimentary wireless Internet in the lobby, and assure you we are keeping track of the demand for wireless Internet. We understand the importance wireless Internet can play in choosing a hotel. As well, Internet is complimentary for our guests in the Signature Club and our Delta Privilege members. Membership is free and easy to sign up for on the Delta Hotels website.

We hope to have a chance to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Dasha Bortsova
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel

Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 134 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,590 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#52 of 134 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Property: Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing