We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“(2.5 stars) Don't be scared away by its location”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Studio 6 Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Studio 6 Toronto
Ranked #89 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“(2.5 stars) Don't be scared away by its location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

For tourists unfamiliar to Toronto, you might be put off by its location. It is near some housing developments in a shadier part of the city. However, you are steps away from the main streets where everything is happening! It is safer than you first feel when you arrive.

Pros: Price ($60/night from teambuy.ca)
Cons: Safety

To be honest, my friend and I were a bit uncomfortable when we arrived at Studio 6. Two men followed us into the foyer (which is not the lobby and is not attended) and asked us if we were staying there. The concierge came out from the side to get us and we all went to a separate room that is the lobby/office. We felt the concierge should have spoken with the two men first, as they were not guests, but he proceeded to check us in, in the presence of the two men. We had to ask him to write down our room number so that he would not tell the two strangers where we would be staying. Maybe because we were two girls in an unfamiliar neighbourhood we were being paranoid; that said, we should be!

The room we stayed in was very clean. As Studio 6 used to be The Grange, it was recently renovated so everything was still new-looking. The only thing that didn't look very new was the linen. There were some stains in the pillowcase and bedsheets. (Tip: Bring your own pillowcase or a towel to throw over your pillow.) However, it is a budget hotel so your expectations should be realistic upon booking.

P. S. Free WIFI! ($20 for parking)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkmeowmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumar S, Manager at Studio 6 Toronto, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Good Day;

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Studio 6 - Toronto. Your feedback is very important to us.

At Studio 6, we strive to provide a superior guest experience, and I am sorry yours did not meet expectations.

Rest assured appropriate measures are being taken to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns and hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Gajen Nadesan
General Manager
Studio 6 Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    51
    54
    18
    19
See reviews for
20
74
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

The customer service sucks and they guy at check in was really rude. It was suppose to be a good place to stay and affordable but instead we were forced to put down an $100 deposit. The room was comfortable and there wasn't any bed bugs but the bathroom wasn't that good low preasure and the shower head is very low anyone taller than 5.8" will have a difficult time using in the shower. Its also in a very sketchy neighbourhood lots of people drinking outside and very angry people. The good thing is its close to Kensington market but I don't recommend it and next time I stay in toronto I will go somewhere else. Plus they would hold are bags after 11am

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumar S, Manager at Studio 6 Toronto, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Good Day;

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Studio 6 - Toronto.

At Studio 6, we strive to provide a superior guest experience, and I am sorry yours did not meet expectations.

Rest assured appropriate measures are being taken to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns and hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Gajen Nadesan
General Manager
Studio 6 Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toronto hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

I stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night in room 203 Studio 6 is very convenient to many of my favorite places. The rooms are recently renovated and nice. My room was clean and I felt very safe in the hotel and neighborhood. If you're looking for a convenient, inexpensive place and your OK with no fuss, this place fits the bill. Daily housekeeping is an extra $10 per night otherwise it appeared that they did housekeeping every three days. However, you could go to the front desk anytime to get new towels and sheets for your bed. Where I was only there two days I did not get any housekeeping during my stay, nor did I really need it as I was only sleeping there. This is just something to keep in mind if you stay. There's also a kitchenette with a good sized refrigerator/freezer, two burner stove top, microwave oven and all the utensils and dishes you'd need if you want to cook your own meals. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brad10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumar S, Manager at Studio 6 Toronto, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Good Day Brad;

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Studio 6 , Toronto.

Your feedback will be shared with the team to serve as recognition and encouragement; as we strive to continuously improve our guest experience.

Thank you again for sharing. We hope your next visit will be even better.

Sincerely,

Gajen Nadesan
General Manager
Studio 6 Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Yes it's basic, yes it's a bit tired, yes it's not the best location but it's clean, the beds are really comfortable, it's quiet inside and out and it's amazingly cheap. We would stay here again if ever we were lucky enough to come back to Toronto!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NannyLaptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumar S, Manager at Studio 6 Toronto, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Good Day;

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Studio 6 , Toronto.

Your feedback will be shared with the team to serve as recognition and encouragement; as we strive to continuously improve our guest experience.

Thank you again for sharing. We hope your next visit will be even better.

Sincerely,

Gajen Nadesan
General Manager
Studio 6 Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Got a voucher for this place on dealfind/wagjag for $60 a night any day of the week (amazing right?!) Booked it for a Saturday night to go out for a friends birthday. good location downtown i felt we were very close to everything but because it is set back in a residential area it wasn't noisy or crowded. Looks like it used to be an apartment building. the outside looks old but everything inside has been completely redone. very modern and clean looking. i loved the fact that the bed spread smelled like laundry detergent. Room had a full size fridge, stove top, microwave, toaster, and kettle. It was great, i loved the fact that we didn't have to go out and find take out for dinner just brought some easy meals along with us. Overall I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumar S, Manager at Studio 6 Toronto, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Sabrissa;

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Studio 6 Toronto.

Your feedback will be shared with the team to serve as recognition and encouragement; as we strive to continuously improve our guest experience.

Thank you again for sharing. We hope your next visit will be even better.

Sincerely,

Gajen Nadesan
General Manager
Studio 6 Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Great location between Queen & College on the west side of the downtown core. In a residential area near Kensington Market & Toronto Western Hospital. Tons of restaurants. Rooms are small, newly renovated on main floor & include kitchenette with full fridge, wifi, cable tv & cheap parking ($10). Okay for a short stay @ a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumar S, Manager at Studio 6 Toronto, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Susie;

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with regard to your recent stay at the Studio 6 in Toronto.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

Look forward to welcome you for your next stay at the hotel with your friend and family.

Sincerely,

Gajen Nadesn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

My friend and I went to the hotel last weekend. We booked our trip with a website online (not the official one). I was wondering what the room would looks like since there was many different pictures online. Seems like some rooms are better than other. We had a room with old-school look. Something like a dorm room.
But everything is OK. The staff are friendly and charming.

It's obviously not at 5 stars hotel, but for the price it's hard to have better. It's cheaper than a youth hostel if you are more than one... So that's a good thing!

It's about 5 mins from Queen street and Dundas street Few meters away from Kensington Market, Chinatown and not too far from Younge street. There are a lot of nice spot to hang out around, to eat or drink a beer.

It was kinda hard to find at first, but it's part of the charm of the hotel.

I would recommend to friends that are traveling and are not asking for too much. People that are ok with just sleeping there and not hanging around in the hotel. If you are looking for a high class hotel, this is no the place for you.

I would go back anytime. Can't beat the location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroleuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumar S, Manager at Studio 6 Toronto, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Carol;

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with regard to your recent stay at the Studio 6 in Toronto.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Gajen Nadesn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Chinatown
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#99 of 132 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Chinatown
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
#64 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#79 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Street and West Queen West
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#76 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Downtown
Isabella Hotel and Suites
Isabella Hotel and Suites
#108 of 132 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#66 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio 6 Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio 6 Toronto

Property: Studio 6 Toronto
Address: 165 Grange Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5T 2V5, Canada (Formerly The Grange Hotel)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Studio 6 Toronto 1.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated guest rooms feature fully-equipped kitchens that include cooking utensils, a microwave, stove top, refrigerator and coffee maker. Along with the comfortable, residential feel, guests will enjoy free Wi-Fi Internet access, 32-inch flat-screen HD TV with expanded cable, multi-media panel with A/V connections for mp3 players, video game systems and laptop computers. Guest laundry facilities and on-site parking are also available $15 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Studio 6 Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing