We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toronto
Ranked #25 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed October 23, 2010

This hotel is located in a great area - close to theatre district, great restaurants, etc. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms are great. The room had a seating area with a wall mounted flat screen tv as you enter. There is also a fridge, microwave, plates, cutlery, etc. Moving into the sleeping area you have floor to ceiling windows (which open!), another flat screen tv and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on in a hotel. The bathroom is all tile, very clean and lovely lotions, etc. Would highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    645
    180
    69
    62
See reviews for
576
659
69
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

This is a nice hotel for a stay when you have a business meeting within the hotel. It is a bit of a walk to some of the main restaurants and the theatre district. The hotel rooms were nice but starting to show signs of age and wear especially the bathroom that was so worn the floor and shower looked dirty. There were a couple of holes in the bed sheet. The service was great and the food was very good. I didn't have an opportunity to check out the roof top hot tubs or pool. The price was excellent for a downtown Toronto hotel, there is a full breakfast buffet included and free wi-fi and movies in the rooms. So for value in downtown Toronto, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moltrasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Staff was very helpfull with directions around the city. Location was fine , We had no problems with anyone in the area despite what other people have said in their reviews.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matticher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

I had a comfortable night here, but did not find it to be good value for the money. I had to call the desk after checkin to have the coffee table and countertop cleaned. There appeared to be sticky dried soda on both. One of the phones did not initially work, and the internet was very spotty. I was there for work and needed the connection, but it came and went almost hourly. The bed was reasonably comfortable, but the room otherwise showed quite a bit of wear. They did have flat panel TVs which were pretty nice. I used their business centre to print a couple of short documents, but otherwise did not use the hotel amenities.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnTraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The reception and restaurant areas are first class, however the pool and gym changing areas are begining to look tatty and could do with improving. The pool was a little cold and the hot tub was 'HOT'!! The room was a good size but the couch was begining to be a bit threadbare, the was no door on the freezer compartment. The bed sagged in the middle and the bathroom door didn't close properly. Saying all that though the hotel is well worth the money and is in a good location close to the Eaton Centre.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamSoltsLeedsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

This is one of those hotels that with a little bit of reno money could restore the opulence of days gone by. It has all of the elements with which an excellent hotel is known for....

Dual hot tubs and a giant screen on the roof top terrace.. two story Grecian-inspired indoor pool.. saunas in each dressing room. A 4 star complimentary buffet.. (don't forget to tip! they deserve it with the professionalism we received; despite it being a free breakfast!) A gorgeous patio with fountain. Doormen that pleasantly greet you and hold the door for you in a genuine manner...not just because they have to! What they need is to replace the missing hot tub tiles... repaint the mural in the pool room and fix the broken shower taps in the change room. In the dining room...new baseboards or at the very least..new coat of paint on them. The hallways could use new carpets..(or easy clean flooring!)

Small details make the difference in how tired a hotel can look to the guest. BUT the Grand has HUGE POTENTIAL!

We loved it and would shoulder 20 - 40 dollars more per night in order to subsidize the repairs needed.

Now the bathrooms are the size of a secondary bathroom in the average home...so yes, they are not huge rooms! If you struggle to fit into an airline seat... you will not be pleased! My husband and I found it more than sufficient for our stay. But the design of the room is very much a european take on maximizing a small area. The living area and the bedroom were divided by a kitchen area complete with cooking elements, dishes, microwave, sink and fridge.. I felt very comfortable and relaxed in this suite. Beautiful hard wood floors made a huge impression.

The parkade is a bit tight, but once you park it...you won't need it. Places to see abound and are only a short walk away.

The only complaint would be that I would prefer more of a sound barrier to the hallway noise... woke up a few times because of someone arriving late to the hotel..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daintre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We read some negative comments about the hotel location before we stayed, so were prepared for the worst and were pleased when we found the location isn't too bad. It's handy for the Eaton Centre, Dundas Square (tour bus stop) and Yonge St. Yes, if you head East from the hotel, you might see some run down buildings and homeless people begging for money, but that's as bad as it gets.
We had a Grand Deluxe Room for 4 nights. It was comfortable, but not as luxurious as suggested by the photos on their website. The bus driver on the Airport Express bus had told us the building used to be the HQ for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, and the layout of the rooms clearly showed it was not a purpose built hotel. That said, the room we had was quite spacious and being on the 5th floor, had a good view looking North.
The fixtures and fittings were starting to look a bit tired, but were functional - apart from the remote controls for the 2 TVs. The bed was comfortable and the room was cleaned well each day.
We had the buffet breakfast each morning - good selection of healthy and not so healthy food. We also had an evening meal at Citrus - very good, but very pricey.
The pool is a saltwater pool, quite small and a bit cold, but lovely after a hard day shopping. The rooftop jacuzzi was amazing. Fabulous views and great to share a bottle of wine in.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippadidoodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#36 of 137 in Toronto
1,803 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toronto

Property: Grand Hotel Toronto
Address: 225 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#15 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing