We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, feux luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toronto
Ranked #26 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2007

Stayed here three nights at the end of July. Had trouble opening our door but we soon got the hang of its little quirks. Once we finally entered the room, we had a mini kitchenette, a separate sleeping area, and floor-to-ceiling window. Nice for three people.
However, you could see worn out places, such as wall paper pealing in the bathroom, smudges on the window, and confetti on the hallway floor.
Pool was nice and large. Very deep, so keep an on your children. Work out room had several things to chose from but some seemed dated. Rooftop hot tubs were very very nice at night, however they seemed to have trouble running their outdoor movies. We once called down to the office to tell them that the screen was frozen, the clerk replied, "We don't show movies, we play music videos." This is untrue because a fellow guest had told us the very name of a movie that was playing before we got there.
Overall, it was a nice hotel but if you are looking for 5 star/5 diamond service, this isn't it. Good attempt, though.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,617 - 1,623 of 2,019 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2007

First we are a family 2 adults 2 children from Ottawa.
Here is a list of our experienced problems;
Our bathroom wreaked of urine, bathtub was very "greasy" looking and feeling.
We wanted to have a sauna, 1 was not working the other wreaked of unrine and it was visible on the floor.
Tried to park the car in the underground garage, was full and the corners are so tight that every turn requires a backing up proceedure to not hit the protruding walls, many cars have left their "impressions" from scraping on these walls. Ended up on the street to park.
Tried to take the kids up to the "roof top" garden Hot tub area, to discover that this is a "PARTY" area for the local youth instead of the hotel guests exclusive use. My children and I witnessed an "exchange of drugs" between 2 of the youths. Then they proceeded to light up. We immediatly left the roof top!
The next morning at breakfast (the food is very basic, powered eggs and stale bread not good at all) we observed 2 hotel guests in their robes, grabbed a plate fill it up and went back up to the room. What class!
Needless to say we cut our stay short and checked out! We completed our vacation at the Intercontenental Hotel and enjoyed the "CLASS" of this hotel. Spend the extra money and stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ditchkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

After a long trip from UK we arrived excited to start our 1st trip to Toronto.....arrived at reception to be greeted by staff...felt like we were putting them out asking for our room....apparently the suite we had booked "was not available"....the only room they had was a dbl for our family of 4....I had booked a suite and even sent email asking that it all be in order for our special trip......after voicing our opinions a room WAS available..but had just not been cleaned....was 4pm??........ Room eventually up to standard......dining staff and door men lovely and very polite...girls on reception...too much attitude and do the hotel very little justice....wont be staying again.....room top whirl pool brill but dont expect the area to be clean in the morning....takes a few hours to remove plates/bottles/glasses from the night before.....Great shame as overall hotel and staff have potential......serious change needed from dolly birds on front desk!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ladyluckUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

We just spent 2 nights at the Grand Hotel with our two boys 15 & 17 yrs old. We were delighted with our room, the pool, hot tubs and the view from the roof. It was an experience we will always remember. The hotel staff was very friendly, helpful and polite.
We ate at the Spegatti Factory and took the shuttle from the hotel to Esplanade St, and the driver was very nice. We walked to Bloor St from the hotel to eat at the Groundhog Pub. Both restaurants had great food and service. The breakfast buffet at the hotel was excellent, and we ate outside on the patio both mornings which was nice. For 4 people in a room, we had plenty of towels which were also supplied at the pool. The rooftop hot tubs were just awesome. The pool and roof areas were very clean except in the early morning at 5:30am the roottop was trashed, so I guess you could have a party all night long if you wanted too. We were able to ride a subway for the first time and after learning what to do and how to get a day pass it was very easy to see many of the sights. We experienced many helpful people from Toronto asking if we were lost and gave us directions. We were all impressed with how friendly people were in Toronto.
The price of the hotel was well worth the money spent.
I booked the Grand Double Room and was upgraded to an Executive Suite this was a two level room with 2 bathrooms, 2 tv's and a nice size living room and kitchen area. We took many pictures and hopefully will be able to share on this site. We only paid $169 a night for 4 people with the breakfast buffet included we got a wonderful deal.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jackipel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

this hotel was good but it could be made great. We had a two room suite which was very large. We had two couples staying in it. It had a kitchen, 2 bathrooms, family room with tv and dvd player and a computer with free internet. The rooms were clean and looked like they had new furniture but the carpet was thread bare and needed to be changed. The pool and hot tub were great but even better were the two hot tubs on the roof. The free hot breakfast was great. The location was on the edge of town more in a residential area that is in transition (new condos).

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sldIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2007

I had reserved 4 rooms at this hotel in early 2007 for an event taking place in July. Four days before the event I called to confirm the guest rooms and the conference room that had been booked for our use on a "complimentary" basis. The reservations clerk, "Amanda", informed me that the conference room would no longer be complimentary, but would instead have a cost of $100, since I had asked for 10 chairs to be set up. When I explained that this was unacceptable, I was met with some very rude and uncalled for remarks.

I asked to speak to the General Manager, "Heidi," to see if the situation could be salvaged. After being interupted by Heidi several times during our two minute conversation, she actually told me that she no longer wanted my party to be guests of the hotel. I was so shocked by this treatment that I didn't even know how to respond. I was left scrambling to find another venue in downtown Toronto for an important event on four days notice.

Obviously, this was extremely disappointing. I will not be giving the Grand Hotel any future business and would warn others against booking important events there. They are not a reliable company, nor do they understand basic customer service principles.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ChloeJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2007

We stayed at the Grand last year and have to say we had a fantastic stay. The hotel describes itself as ‘Sophistication without Pretension’ and I have to say I fully agree with this statement. The rooftop hot tubs with big screen is definitely one of the hotels major selling points. It was great fun sitting there watching movies with views over the Toronto night-time skyline. Hotel restaurant was great and the staff were very helpful. Ok the Hotel is not in the best area, however we did not experience any trouble ourselves. Having stayed here we felt like we had been treated like celebrities. If you are in Toronto look no further than the Grand!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#34 of 137 in Toronto
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toronto

Address: 225 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#15 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $184 - $559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing