We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,362)
Filter reviews
2,362 results
Traveler rating
1,173
787
235
91
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,173
787
235
91
76
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 2,362 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2019

We got to the hotel, and were very disappointed in the appearance of the hotel in comparison to the Website and that is where it began, we walked in to the lobby to the first impressions of couches that were old worn and stained. Baseboards that are banged up, the desk staff was very helpful and considerate we cancelled our reservation for the two nights and took the first night as it had already been charged to my card that should of been my first clue. Why would they have to charge my card before arrival, I am sure it is because this happens a lot the people leave, rooms were ok in our case tight , mirror replaced with foil type material on the mirrored door no end table on one side of the bed. Very very expensive as we went to higher end hotels and paid less money. Would never ever ever go back or recommend it to anyone. Breakfast which they offered us for free was nice but definitely not worth the money if we had to pay for it we travel often and to many boutique hotels and to many high end hotels as well. And it’s the first time we have ever canceled a reservation because of the accommodations

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank Petersen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2019

Dear Petersen7,

Thank you for taking your time to leave a review. We appreciate all of your feedback and we will work hard to improve upon these issues.

Kindly,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019

The location of this hotel is good, easy walk to the Eaton Centre and to theatres, cheap taxi ride to Union Station. The guys at the front door are great, the service at the front desk is very good. The room was on the small side, no bedside table on one side and the bathroom door was right beside the bed - not a good layout. No issues with the bed, and the fridge was roomy. There was a safe on the floor of a small closet in a very inconvenient location. The floor was just about worn out, cheap laminate. The rooftop hot tub area isn't very inviting at all, even a few plants would be a big improvement. Overall not a bad place to stay, if you get it for a decent price. We stayed for three nights, will look elsewhere next time.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Finncanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2019

Deart Finncanuck,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We will work hard to improve upon those issues and would like to thank you for your feedback.

Kindly,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2019 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here on a combined business and leisure trip. It is located near downtown, within easy walking distance of the Eaton Centre and theatre district. The hotel is comfortable, clean, and quiet even though it is located on a busy street. We tried the breakfast one day and it was a fairly standard breakfast buffet. We would definitely stay here again while visiting Toronto!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank DianeJoan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2019

Dear DianeJoan1964,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. With all of the options, our breakfast buffet is great way to start the day. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you in the future.

Kindly,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2019 via mobile

Grand Hotel And Suites
Summary?
4.3
Very good
1,210 reviews

Rooms
3.5
Location
4.3
Service
4.3
What guests are sayingMORE
"Great location, friendly staff, cozy rooms and a rooftop hot tub."
"Good atmosphere good service good prices overall good experience"
"Ordered room service (just one pitcher of water) and waited 45 minutes."

Families
4.2

Couples
4.3

Business
4.2

4/5 · 2,294 reviews
TripAdvisor

4.3/5 · 6,133 reviews
Expedia.ca

4.3/5 · 5,797 reviews
Orbitz.com

4.2/5 · 5,725 reviews
Travelocity.ca

8.4/10 · 2,055 reviews
Booking.com

8.8/10 · 150 reviews
Priceline

8.3/10 · 104 reviews
Agoda

4.4/5 · 2,606 reviews
Hotels.com

4.4/5 · 5,790 reviews
Wotif.com

4.4/5 · 5,790 reviews
Ebookers.com
Reviews

Search reviews

bruiserbob007
2/5
5 hours ago on Google
We stayed here three days, so it was easy to observe the good and the bad.
Good points - customer service excellent, breakfast buffet very good, gym good lots of different equipment, indoor pool good
Negative points- location. We took the train into Toronto, decided to 20 min walk it to the hotel. As soon as we passed Yonge st (any area east of Yonge st) we were asked several times for spare change or a cigarette. This hotel is within a few blocks of Salvation Army and other helpful groups. So if you travel by taxi or your own car, you won't experience this. We ventured out after 9pm once to go to the Dundas Square area to eat (10 min walk). We didn't feel safe and decided to take a cab back to the hotel. Not a lot of close by food options for dining unless you went back 3 blocks to Yonge St.
Also, the room air controls didn't seem to function temp wise. The speed worked but it didn't matter if we set it low or high. If we were cool, we Plugged in the baseboard heater. The bathroom had crappy wall patches. Our room had a kitchenette. There was no pots/pans supplied for the stove top or small oven. Nor was there any kitchen cleaning supplies like small dish soap, scrubber or dish towel. I have stayed at other Toronto hotels with kitchenettes and they were fully supplied. We did use the microwave and plates, we would leave our dishes in the small sink. When we came back to serviced room, the dishes were put away cleaned. Bottomline, if you choose this hotel and plan to walk on Dundas St, Jarvis St or Church St., be prepared to be frequently asked for some spare change!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank londonontariotrvl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019

Arriving at Toronto International airport late at night I was pleased to be able to find the hotel and get in their parking facilities easily with my hire car. Check in was easy and friendly and the bed was nicely comfy after a long flight. The suite is spacious & quiet if not particularly attractive with though a disappointingly standard size bathroom with in bath shower. The included buffet breakfast was pretty good though and I made good use of their sports bar in the evenings and dining facilities for convenience with the weather one night which I thoroughly enjoyed. The two doormen that were on duty in the foyer were very helpful & good at getting taxis sorted which was a bonus. As the Toronto locals I met told me Jarvis isn't exactly the best street in Toronto but I found the hotel pleasant, friendly & convenient if not grand.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank foodfozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2019

Dear foodfozz,

Thank you for taking your time to leave a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Every day we strive to provide personalized care for all of guests. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kindly,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews