We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toronto
Ranked #26 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Nice Hotel, lovely service, huge suite!!! Big, big, bed, nice views, great food and room service! fantastic jacuzzi on top roof, very romantic, nice sauna and private heated indoor pool with spa. Heated terrace where you can have cooked breakfast.

Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
Thank Mariayolanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,996)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Toronto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,522 - 1,528 of 1,996 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2009

We stayed at The Grand for two nights - the day prior to and the day after our wedding. The de luxe room that we got was nice - it had a living room area for guests to sit and watch tv, we had a small fridge and kitchenette and the bedroom itself was spacious enough (plus, it had another flat screen tv). The hotel offers free wifi internet service. I brought my netbook and tapped into their wifi service. It was not strong, but functional for basic browsing.

The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet at their restaurant at the lobby. The selection is not varied, but at least, you can toast your own bread or bagel.
Service was great and the lady that did our manicure/pedicure was friendly and accommodating. The "spa" is just a tiny room inside the gym located on the 2nd floor.
We expected more of a high-end clientelle, but was surprised to see many teen-agers. I guess that goes to show that the rooms at the hotel are very affordable.

The location is perfect because it is within walking distance to bloor (10 mins) and downtown (20 mins). There is a newly opened Thai restaurant beside the hotel if you feel like dining out, it is the place to go. 'Just remember that because it is within the dundas/sherbourne zone, you will find many homeless people roaming the streets. Try not to walk by yourself come sun down.

The next time we stay here, we would check out the rooftop pool and jacuzzi. We didn't have the chance to visit the roof top because of the limited time of our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dexdgolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We went to Toronto to go to a baseball game and to sightsee. We picked the Grand from the many to choose from in a Travelocity package deal from Minneapolis. We picked the right place. The staff were friendly and helpful. The daily complimentary breakfast was fantastic. There is a beautiful hot tub on the roof, 19 floors high. The city and Lake Ontario are yours to see from each direction. At night there is a big screen (drive in movie size) on the roof. They had VH1 on, and that was my least favorite thing. The hotel is on the 505 streetcar line and a quick walk to Yonge-Dundas (the "Times Square" of Toronto.)
They also accommodated us with a smoking room, and although I know this is not politically correct, it sure is nice if you're a smoker. There is a full kitchen and 2 flat screen tv's in the room. Nice size room.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat&Cue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

We just returned from a trip to Toronto, and we stayed 5 nights at the Grand from August 28 to Sept. 2. As a family of five, the suite arrangements, kitchenette, and free breakfasts worked out well for our family.

The Grand is a wonderful, classic old hotel--we loved the decor and elegant environment. It is not in a great area...so it's not best for people who are not comfortable in an urban environment. We never felt in danger, though, and we walked to Eaton Centre a few times and up to Cabbagetown and back.

We had a great view out of the city and the lake out of our window (on the 15th floor). The rooftop jacuzzis are great! Don't miss them. The only weird thing about that is that they show TV on a screen late at night...which somewhat spoils the romantic environment! (We were there with our three kids, so this didn't apply to us--but if we had been there on a romantic getaway, this would have annoyed us...)

The only thing we weren't crazy about was the high parking rate...but I suppose that's normal for Toronto hotels.

We went to the Ontario Science Centre, Casa Roma, Centreville in the Toronto Islands, and Cabbagetown, and Riverdale Park. The last night we had a great dinner at the Pickle Barrel in the Eaton Centre--fun!

The hotel pool was FANTASTIC--we loved it! The jacuzzi in the basement was out of service during the last few days we were there, but the ones on the rooftop were working!

The Canadian-American exchange rate was not very favorable when we visited, so the hotel was not as affordable as we initially thought. But overall, we had a great stay in Toronto, and the hotel was a perfect launching pad for our adventures!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrganicMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We had a fantastic stay for 4 nights here! We got a deal through Expedia which meant we could stay for longer than had we afforded normal rates. Loved it!
The doormen were very helpful, desk staff very cheery and helped us book a car (cheaply) to the airport managing to secure us a stretch limo!!!
The room was lovely, overlooking the streets and on floor 18 (one floor lower than the rooftop jacuzzi) Breakfast was included and a huge selection of cooked, pastries, coffee, tea - you name it, you could have it - REALLY REALLY good!
Back to the rooftop jacuzzi - not only did it have an amazing view in the day, it also had an awesome view at night of all the lights and CN tower. You can go up there in the plush bathrobes provided and watch TV on the massive screen whilst sitting in there. Now if that isn't luxury then I've got it wrong - we loved it!
The beds were comfy, rooms well appointed. There's an indoor swimming pool, exercise rooms, you name it, they have it and not overpriced either.
We were only a short 10 min walk to Younge Square and Toronto subway isn't as easy as other cities, but we had no problems getting around and taxis are cheap too.
I'm already trying to work out when we can go back.!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_teacher23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

My husband & I stayed here for three nights. We really liked the Grand; it felt very luxurious and opulent. Our room was I think the basic King room; it was very nice -- had a couch & tv in the entryway, small kitchenette (good-sized little frige, stovetop, large microwave, sink, coffeemaker). Very comfortable bed with a variety of pillow types (I can't sleep wtihout a feather pillow!). Beautiful hardwood floors in the room! Appreciated the robes as well. Also free movie channels & DVD player.

The pool area was very nice and opulent as well (as you can tell by the photo on their website), and the fitness centre was a good size with more than enough equipment and TVs you can watch while on the treadmill etc. The rooftop area with a little gazebo, two good-sized hot tubs and lots of room on the deck had great views day and night.

The free hot breakfast buffet was definitely a highlight -- absolutely delicious and lots of options. You can sit inside or outside in nice weather. We ate dinner one evening in the hotel restaurant "Citrus"; it was quite good. Very good service. In fact very good service throughout the hotel.

We also appreciated the computer in the lobby where we could check email/internet for free.

Many have written about the location; no it's not the best but it was close enough to walk to main attractions and even at night we walked to YongeDundas square and back, with no problems. Sure there are some shady people around but just keep your wits about you. We could have stayed in a "better" downtown area for about the same price but wouldn't have had nearly the amenities as at the Grand. We'd stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

A word of warning about this hotel. If you book a king-sized bed as advertised on hotels.com and which you will pay a higher rate for you may be bitterly disappointed. We did exactly that, ignoring the Hilton across the road, because we thought the Grand looked nicer, and when we got to our suite we found what was effectively a English sized double bed. When we took it up with the reception staff we were told that on our booking it said that they couldn’t guarantee the preferences that people choose. Hold on a minute we paid extra for a king-sized bed! No we were told we had paid extra for the junior suite and the king sized bed was a preference not part of the booking. Also, we were told that some of the junior suites actually have queen sized beds, and even that other guests have previously complained about the king size beds not being that big. Anyway, we looked up our booking on the free internet computer available in the lobby (a nice feature which hadn’t been available in many of the other hotels we stayed in, in Canada) and there was no mention of the hotel not being able to guarantee the king size bed. We had stayed in 7 hotels during our trip and paid extra for king size and in every other hotel got a king size bed. Why does the Grand think it can be different? We were given all sorts of excuses by the reception staff who frankly came across as patronising and to be honest I think they thought we were a lower class of customer because we had booked online and paid less money for the room. Effectively the hotel is mis-advertising its rooms on hotels.com. We were even told that it was Expedia’s fault for wrongly guaranteeing the bed! But it is the Grand that’s puts the information up there. These beds are double beds and they shouldn’t be charging extra for them and advertising them as kings. In the end we were told that the manager wasn’t in until Monday (that old one) and that the staff who were there (who were supervisors) had no authority to do anything about the issue. Basically they weren’t prepared to deal with our complaint – NOT GOOD SERVICE. They were effectively saying that we were wrong and they didn’t even at any stage say they were sorry. Nothing was offered to us to compensate for the problem. I’m not in the service industry but I don’t think this represents good service. We actually felt scared about approaching the reception staff about other matters after this – not a good feeling!
It took us about an hour backwards and forwards checking the internet, speaking to 2 of the receptionists etc etc. In the end we took the names of the 2 members of staff and said we would be explaining all this in a report to their manager and would be quoting their names. Amazingly within about 60 seconds the phone rang and they explained that they had had a cancellation and that one of the king sized beds was now available!!!! And by the way the view from this room was much nicer – towards downtown as advertised on the hotel website and not overlooking the lap-dancing club on the other side of the block. However, the bed in the room still didn’t look like a king sized bed to us although it was much bigger than the other room.
Overall, I would like to say that the hotel is really lovely, very clean and some amazing features such as the swimming pool, the reception area and the Jacuzzis on the top floor with a cinema screen and views of the city (I kid you not!). However, we were really not happy about having to complain and not being dealt with appropriately. Other points about the hotel are that it borders on a really dodgy neighbourhood one side however, it is just a stone’s throw from Yonge-Dundas square which is a great place to visit. The bathrooms in our suites were very small but you do get a kitchenette with fridge etc so you can buy goodies from local stores. The breakfast was one of the best we got in Canada and included in the price but, the breakfast area wasn’t really big enough for the number of residents so quite chaotic. So a mixed bag really.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mkwra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#34 of 137 in Toronto
1,820 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toronto

Address: 225 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#15 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $191 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing