We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toronto
Ranked #23 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

we stayed here for two nights at the end our trip to canada, it is a little expensive, but it is just fabulous. the breakfast was really nice. the location is great.There is a roof top terrace and an indoor swimming pool. we thoroughly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank socialite10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Dear Socialite10,

It was a pleasure welcoming you to the hotel and thank you for your kind review.


I hope that we can have you back in the near future !


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    602
    160
    65
    59
See reviews for
526
621
67
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

The Grand is a great place to stay especially if you are looking for something a little longer term. It's near the downtown core and only four Blocks to the Eaton centre and t Dundas Square.
The hotel is clean and welcoming. An amazing variety of hotel rooms which small kitchens and great beds. Check out the fitness centre and the roof top hot tubs.....with a large multi screen for watching movies on the roof! The restaurant and bar are very relaxed and a great treat

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aussie-BeachBumsX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel soon !


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were visiting as a couple but this is a very family-friendly hotel and an excellent value in expensive Toronto. We had a mini-suite on the top floor. There is a roof-top terrace with two spas and lounge chairs as well as an indoor pool in the basement. An extensive hot breakfast is included. the hotel is about four blocks from Yonge Street and the Eaton Center. The hotel isn't quite as luxurious as some of the pictures would imply and could use a little more cosmetic maintenance but nothing significant. There is no ramp up to the elevated entry so you may have to engage the services of a bellman.

Room Tip: Upper rooms offer good views of the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandH621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Dear MandH621,

It was a pleasure welcoming you and your guest to the hotel recently and thank you for the 4 star review,

Located to the left of the entrance of the hotel, is a ramp that will make it a bit easier for your bags to be brought into the hotel. That said, we always have our bellman stationed at the door to assist in anyway they can- they would be delighted to look after this for you !


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

I stayed her for five nights whilst visiting Toronto. Check in was efficient. There is free wi-fi however the signal is appalling and the only place any of our party could use wifi was at breakfast. There is a super free breakfast which makes a nice change from hotels in the US.
This hotel is used by a lot of tourists and you can wait a few minutes sometimes for one of the four elevators up. The rooms are very large and comfortable. The rooms have a kitchen area and sofa bed and fridge. There are even dvd players and two flats screen tvs in the rooms. Conversely, they have very small bath rooms. The room are clean and comfortable.
The hotel has a very well equipped gym and a hot pool on the roof which complemented our stay well. The hotel delivers a very good level of service for the price.
Although l had concerns from previous reviews about the location it actually provided to be i great. It was only a 15 min walk from Dundas Square. Additionally I had no problems walking around the hotel in the late evenings and felt quite safe.
This is great tourist hotel, as it provides a comfortable relaxing environment upon your return from day of sightseeing. In short, a great value hotel and great base from which to explore Toronto.

Room Tip: Get one away for lifts as they are busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cookie1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Dear Cookie1112,

Thank you for sharing your review online. We are happy to read that your experience with us was one that was enjoyable. Since your stay with us, we have upgraded our entire WIFI system making it stronger and more reliable.

Hoping that we can see you again soon !


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights in the Grand Hotel in May 2013. Right from the start the staff made us feel welcome and assured that all of our needs were met. We got excellent assistance with directions, questions about the area, money conversion, things to do, whatever we needed. I started to feel like a pest at one point because I was at the front desk so often, but they assured me I could not overdo it.

The hotel was outstanding! I don't need to go into specifics, just say that everything was as it should have been concerning cleanliness, functionality, space, everything! We had the Junior Suite, and it was more than sufficient for the two of us.

The breakfast was included, and it was superb. A great selection and plenty of it. Our mistake was misreading the hours, and we almost missed it. But even getting there within the last 10-15 minutes did not disappoint. There was still a large enough selection available, and it was still fresh - not sitting for a long period.

Before booking, I read a review that eluded to the fact that the hotel was not "in the best part of town". While it wasn't in the "heart" of downtown, the area was safe, clean, and close enough to the "things to do". We walked to many of the restaurants and activities in the area, we took the metro, drove, whatever we needed to do was possible and we never gave the area a second thought. We walked a straight shot to the Eaton Center and Dundas Square in less than 10 minutes!

The hotel's website describes it as "Intimate, Luxurious and warmly residential". That really sums it up very accurately. It was elegant, but not stuffy. Friendly and inviting!

Not sure that we'll make it back to Toronto, but if we do - guess where we'll stay? :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Dear Tony W,


What a remarkable 5 star review. Its warming to read that you had such a great experience while staying with us. We consistently try to exceed our guests expectations and it certainly seems like we did for your stay.

Tony, we hope that when you do make it back to Toronto, that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back !


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaree Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

I stayed 3 nights in July..4,5,6 & I can tell you I would rather snuggle-up & sleep at The Grand Hotel any day...The beds are without a doubt thee most comfortable & immaculately clean! The facilities are wonderful...a salt water pool, dry saunas', roof top hot tubs & more. Every morning 2 enormous bowls of delicious apples to choose from & then onto the Breakfast Buffet...Which is outstanding! Fresh everything, variety of hot foods, juices & so much more to choose from. I can tell you I'am full for the entire day til' dinner time. The Citrus restaurant has a magnificent menu...After a long flight..French Onion soup is so welcoming! The staff at front desk are helpful & cheerful...the Housekeeping staff are friendly, helpful & do an amazing job! I would encourage travellers to stay here as you can get around so easily in Toronto from this location whether you streetcar, subway, taxi or walk everywhere..BRAVO to all at The Grand..I'll be back for sure! Probably stay longer as well! thank you everyone!

Room Tip: Any room will do! i stay in the Queen Deluxe w/extra pull out which is ideal for son or daughter or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAM499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
What a great review, thank you for sharing with others. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay while in Toronto.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon !


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel was well situated in downtown Toronto within easy walking distance to the main shopping centre. The suite was spacious although the bedroom area was a bit small. The reception staff were very helpful and looked after us well, especially when we had a long wait to be picked up for our flight. Breakfast buffet was very good with many choices. The shuttle service provided by the hotel was also very good. Our only complaint about our room was that the room safe was positioned in the most awkward place under the kitchen sink and we had to get on our knees to access it.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a good view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Dear Heather W,


Thank you for your review and staying with us while in Toronto. We are delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us. I will also ensure that our team is aware of the positioning of the in-room safe to make adjustments so that it can be more accessible.


Hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon !


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toronto

Property: Grand Hotel Toronto
Address: 225 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#14 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing