We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First-rate service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toronto
Ranked #22 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
RBA09
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First-rate service”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Excellent service from start to finish. We asked to change rooms because we had two people joining us for the last night of a four-day stay. This was done courteously and efficiently with minimal disruption. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and varied with seating indoors or on the beautiful terrace. We also enjoyed a very good lunch on the terrace. The rooftop is wonderful! Rooms were comfortable overall with some drawbacks: bathrooms very small, kitchen lacking basic equipment, eg. bottle opener, corkscrew, wine glasses, service for four, dish liquid, dishcloths and towels. Beds should have lamps and side tables on both sides. Bedrooms lacked overhead lighting (1418). Lobby furniture needs refreshing. Location is not perfect but this can't be helped.
Overall a very good stay. We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors and south-facing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RBA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear RBA09,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to the hotel during your stay with us- we appreciate the time you took to share your review.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future !


Warmest Regards,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    620
    166
    66
    59
See reviews for
542
642
67
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, and wish we could have stayed longer. Room was so comfortable & spacious with excellent amenities, such as fridge, microwave & basic dishes. The view from the room was very nice, but the rooftop was spectacular. Quirky 80's music videos on big screen were fun. Got to see lots of fireworks during Canada Day - a nice highlight.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank flatosanfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Flatosanfran

Thank you for your glowing review of your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you wanted to stay even longer with us! We hope in the future that we can welcome you back warmly!

Regards,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingersoll, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have been staying at the Grand frequently during the past eight years. It is consistantly excellent with friendly staff and great amenities. The building used to house the headquarters of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. Now it is an elegant place to stay that is within walking distance or a short cab ride of most things one would like to do and see in Toronto. The price of the room includes a full hot breakfast and in good weather it is a fine thing to start your day with coffee on the large outdoor terrace. The rooms are well turned out with fridges, microwaves, and windows that open. I travel a lot in my work and have some pretty severe "hotel fatigue". I certainly don't feel that way when sitting in one of the roof top hot tubs at the Grand!

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms on the upper floors will give you a view of Toronto harbour and the islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Breather-162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Breather-162,

Thank you for your review of your stays with us. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us and keep coming back to stay at The Grand. We will welcome you back warmly in the near future!

Regards,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Elegant and charming, this hotel, while not situated in the best neighborhood, offers wonderful value. The breakfast buffet was terrific, the rooms spacious, and the staff very helpful. Would stay here again, hands down.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank playwrightmxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Playwrightmxm,

Thank you for your concise review of your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet as well as the staff during your stay. We hope in the future to welcome you back warmly.

Regards,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were given the upper floor room with a great downtown view. The breakfast buffet and service was very good compared to American standard but not comparable to level in North Europe. The front desk service was very friendly and helpful. Airport taxi was needed and it was organised well. Especially the pool was a pleasant suprise for children. There was not many people using pool so it was very relaxing and peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TarjaF F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear TarjaF,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found the front desk staff hospitable during your stay and that they organized transportation for you. We hope in the future to welcome you back warmly.

Regards,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I booked this hotel for World Pride and encouraged my friends to do the same. All in our party reported an excellent experience. Great staff! Larger rooms than expected. We stayed in room 1710 and the view was great. Location made it easy to walk to many of the popular neighborhoods. Be sure to visit the rooftop and relax in one of the jacuzzis. The pool is on the lower level and very impressive. The number of yummy options on the breakfast buffet was welcomed . During our next visit to Toronto, we plan on staying at this hotel. I travel 4 months out of the year and could have stayed at one of my staple hotels, where I have executive lounge privileges, but this hotel is one I am pleased to say exceed my high expectations.

Room Tip: I recommend you ask for rooms on the even side of the hotel. Higher floors offer a good view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHMiNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear LHMiNY,

Thank you for your glowing review of your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you encouraged friends to stay with us during World Pride. We are also happy to hear you utilized all of the hotel facilities during your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back warmly in the future.

Regards,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Grand Toronto. The doormen were pleasant and helpful with luggage upon our arrival. The front desk associates were also very helpful, especially a gentleman named Luc. The hotel lobby and restaurant were nicely decorated, clean and pleasant. The breakfast buffet had many items to choose from including hot items (eggs, potatoes, and meats), fresh fruits, pastries, cereals and a selection of juices. The pool was beautiful and well maintained. The elevators were all operating and there was never a long wait, even while staying on the 17th floor.

Our room, 1709, was pleasantly decorated and offered plenty of space for our family of 4. We had a king bed and a small living area with a pull out bed. The space was organized efficiently and there was a safe and a pair of bath robes in the closet.

The biggest drawback of the hotel is the location. Although there is a shuttle service made available by the hotel, the hours are very limited and you are not able to book this service in advance. That said, you need to walk through some pretty sketchy areas when walking in any direction from the hotel and or to reach public transportation.

Best attributes: The staff was courteous and appeared professional. The breakfast buffet offered plenty of variety for our family. The climate control for our room was perfect and the king bed in our room was very comfortable.

Areas with room for improvement: It did not appear that our floor was wet swiffered and or mopped each day. When wearing socks and or bare feet the bottoms of our feet would become blackened. Not a good feeling!

Also, my family would have loved to have spent more time on the roof top had there not been guests smoking cigars. Very stinky!

Room Tip: The king beds are very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmerci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Nmerci,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us. I will definitely pass on your comments to our staff as they definitely go out of their way to help guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We hope you were able to utilize all of our facilities. We hope to welcome you back warmly in the future.

Regards,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 134 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toronto

Property: Grand Hotel Toronto
Address: 225 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#13 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#17 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing