We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel & good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel & Suites
Ranked #26 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is in a good place to go out and explore toronto the staff are friendly has free wifi and free use of business centre. The buffett breakfast is the same every day but there is so much choice it is very good. When its busy tables are a bit close but we were down early so wasnt an issue.
Although did not use pool and gym they looked fab.
We had a suite which was good but lots of children on this level so a bit of running up and down the hall way but when in bed room area was less of an issue. Very small bathroom so hard for us ladies to put out all our lotions and potions but suite was big enough to use different area.
Only thing is very close to hotel is a good neighbours and Salvation Army so sadly there are groups of homeless people which we had no issues with any of them but did make you feel a bit wary when going out of an evening. But having said that did not see or hear anything about anyone being approached by groups. Just Very sad! but hotel super thankyou

Room Tip: suite good has huge microwave and fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janenevill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,112 - 1,118 of 2,020 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Excellent experience overall. Friendly and efficient staff. Room was clean with comfortable beds (14th floor). Excellent full buffet breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausage, hot potatoes, french toasts, fresh fruits, etc.). Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josee004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Josee004,


Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at The Grand Hotel. We are happy to hear that you found everything to be agreeable during your stay with us and that the complimentary breakfast was a highlight for you. Most of our guests have nothing but good things to say about our complimentary hot and cold buffet breakfast that we offer every morning. In addition, our staff go above and beyond to make our guests’ stay wonderful. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back warmly in the near future.


Regards,


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely a fantastic experience all around! From the moment we arrived every single employee was smiling and so helpful! We were new to Toronto and definitely new to Toronto's transit system. Every person behind the front desk was fantastic at guiding us with instructions and perfect directions of subways, trains and trolleys . Roberta , Jordan and the rest of the staff were truly valuable resources and made our stay perfect! Our room was beautiful , the view great, the fresh apples at the front desk and the incredible staff all made for a perfect place to stay! We will definitely stay at The Grand again. Great location too!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinarock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Dinarock,

Thank you for such an amazing review of your recent stay at The Grand Hotel. We are glad to hear that our staff were so helpful in advising you of the Toronto transit during your stay and will pass on your compliments to our staff. We hope that you were able to use the other facilities as well--the two-storey indoor pool, rooftop jacuzzis, sauna, health club and even our complimentary downtown shuttle. We hope that with such a great review you will be staying with us again sooner rather than later!


Regards,


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My sister and I felt very welcome, the room was Loverly , clean and well kept. We could walk to most of the shopping places, and the courtesy car was on hand to take us down to the harbour, breakfast was excellent, on our last day as we were not flying out till late , extended our booking out time. Would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnowen2484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Dawnowen2484,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay. We are glad that we could accommodate your late flight time with a later check out time in order to give you more time in the hotel and in Toronto. We hope to welcome you back warmly in the future!


Warm regards,


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for a weekend, and we absolutely loved it. It felt lavish and posh, both in the lobby and in the room, and we loved that we felt like we didn't have to worry about anything while there.

We ordered room service which was fairly pricy ($50 for soup, burger & fries, sandwich & fries) but it was gourmet quality food. Buffet breakfast was included in the room price and was delicious, and we were given free water bottles and Wi-Fi throughout our trip.

Unfortunately we were both sick and didn't get to enjoy the pool, fitness center, or the hot tub on the roof, but we can't wait to go back and experience everything this hotel had to offer. They also had a free shuttle we didn't avail of, and the front desk staff was very enthusiastic to help us with anything we needed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear MsMichelleThorne,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your experience at The Grand Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed what amenities you could--the room service and complimentary wifi. It is unfortunate that you were unable to take advantage of the other amenities the hotel has to offer but it is a good excuse to plan a future trip back to The Grand sooner rather than later!

Warm regards,


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed for a medical conference. The hotel was great! Room service was prompt and good. We used the pool and it was clean. The staff was also really friendly. The hotel was not extremely noisy and we were very happy with housekeeping as they were very detailed in the cleaning of our room. We would stay here again!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Blpopow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Blpopow2,

Thank you for your glowing review of your recent stay. It is always great to receive well rounded reviews about our hotel from the amenities, to the staff, to the housekeeping, and so on. Our staff definitely can make a difference in a guest’s stay and I will pass on that you had a wonderful stay to all of our staff. We are glad to hear that you will be staying with us in the future and we hope to welcome you back warmly in the near future!



Warm regards,


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

This place has it all. Very close to the city center and Dundas square, rooms are spacious, it has a good breakfast and rooms are spotless. They even have a personalized free shuttle service that takes you anywhere in the city.

I can comfortably say this is my home away from home in Toronto.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank hlughod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Hlughod,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us. Our complimentary shuttle service makes our guests’ stay even more convenient with drop off service in the downtown core, allowing guests to see and do even more in Toronto during their stay and you are no exception. We hope that you were able to use our extensive facilities during your stay, but if you did not, we hope that you will be back in the near future to take advantage of them.


Warm regards,


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#35 of 137 in Toronto
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Suites

Address: 225 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada (Formerly Grand Hotel Toronto)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#15 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $183 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing