We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmm. Hit and miss.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toronto
Ranked #22 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Hmmm. Hit and miss.”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

My stay here was as a result of meetings nearby. The location is not great. The building is a poor retrofit of an old RCMP building. The service is fair. The rooms ok. The bathrooms old. Noisy is the theme. I heard it all at night. Partiers, children, people making children, the works. Poor HVAC system in room. Bed and pillows a 3/10. Breakfast was good. Service there was great. Unless you have a reason to be near this hotel, there are better options in my view.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank tenmile1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    620
    167
    66
    59
See reviews for
542
643
67
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Hotel is a little off the beaten track and would recommend taking a cab to downtown attractions as the area is in transition. We stayed here for one night as our home located about 7 minutes away is under major renovation. Room was comfortable and meals ordered from room service were much better than we expected. Hot, tasty and fresh. Service was great from check in to check out. During daytime in summer the hotel is located a nice walk from shopping and attractions and you can't beat the price!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Joanna D,

Your warm review is much appreciated. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and meals with us. We hope that you were able to use our amenities during your stay in addition to our room service. We hope to welcome you back to The Grand in the near future.


Regards,

Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Our one night stay at this hotel was a treat to ourselves after a stressful week. We found our room to be comfortable, but with one of the smallest bathrooms I've ever seen! This was supposed to be a deluxe suite too. The fan for the heat was very loud, going on and off all night so that I had to turn it off completely. The noise from the hallways is ridiculous and you can hear every word spoken out in the hallway and near the elevators. There is no sound barrier on the doors. The breakfast was just okay and the food (especially the eggs) disappointing. The bed was comfortable, but we did not sleep well due to the noise level which went on until 4 am. I heard people trying to get the noise makers to quiet down, but 10 minutes later the shouting, laughing and even running around the hallway continued. I complained the next morning and was told that they had a no noise policy after 11 am. Sure surprised me!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KHarrington54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear KHarrington54,

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I'm sorry to hear about your experience that you had at the hotel with the level of noise. As with all feedback that we receive, this information will be very valuable when reflecting the needs and expectations of all our guests.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the future.


Warmest Regards,


Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Fun place to stay, rooftop hotub was perfect. Pool is quite nice as well. Rooms nicely appointed, beds are comfortable.
Location is fine, a little off the main areas, but no problems walking to subway with kids. Quiet and clean, breakfast was good.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear R C,

We are pleased to hear that you were able to use all of our amenities to their fullest extent during your stay at The Grand Hotel. With the days warming up, more guests are enjoying the rooftop hot tubs during their stay and you are no exception. We hope to welcome you back warmly in the future!

Regards,


Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This was our first start at The Grand and it will not be our last. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The roof top hot tub was great. In the evening they project music videos. The rooms were quaint and the beds were comfortable. I will most definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jay136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Jay136,


We are happy to hear that your first stay with us at The Grand will not be your last! We pride ourselves on having great customer service from the moment you walk in the door. We hope to welcome you back to The Grand sooner rather than later!

Regards,

Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here for a night on a family vacation. A bit of a walk with our luggage from the closest subway station. The area around the hotel does not initially jive with the overall hotel experience. We had no problems in this respect. The hotel shuttle service made up for it after that. Beds were SUPER comfortable and liked having a fridge and microwave in the room. The hot tub on the roof is beautiful with all of the lights at night. Our breakfast was included in the price and the brunch was excellent. They had a wide variety to choose from and the staff was great. Overall, the staff at this hotel deserves a 5+. They were helpful and courteous at all times.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Susan V,

Thank you for staying with us during your family vacation to Toronto ! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel during your next stay with us !

I will be sure to share your positive 5 star comments regards to our staff and service !

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back soon !


Warmest,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Probably the best thing about this hotel are the staff. Great service from the guys at the door hailing cabs in -20C to the check in staff and the lovely folks in the bar. A nice room with a comfortable bed, a little cramped in the bathroom but not a deal breaker. Reasonable sized gym with new equipment and a large pool (which I didn't use).
We went for PDAC mining conference so its difficult to say it is good value, but probably nowhere in Toronto is at this time. I love Toronto, huge variety of foods and ethnic regions of the city. The Grande is a short cab ride from any of these areas.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Ian H,

We are so pleased we were able to be your home away from home during PDAC. We know the city can be busy as well as participants' schedules during the conference so its great to read that you have the opportunity to enjoy the hotel and all that Toronto has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back this coming March !


Warmest Regards,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 134 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toronto

Property: Grand Hotel Toronto
Address: 225 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#13 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#17 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing