We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond pathetic customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toronto
Ranked #23 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beyond pathetic customer service”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Management is extremely unprofessional. Hotel security is sleazy. Front desk is rude and obnoxious and they twist "hotel policy" to suit their own agenda. Your stay here will be miserable. To give you an example- We were a bunch of girls and had hotel security come to our room and wake us up to check in on us at 4am to see if we had more people in the room than allowed for.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TheHappyTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear TheHappyTrekker,

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to share your experience with others on Trip Advisor. I’m sorry that you had felt that your experience here was less than perfect and we didn't meet your expectations.
The reason why we have a strict policy that doesn't allow parties in the guest rooms is to ensure the comfort of all other guests that are staying with us.
Throughout the evening, during your stay with us, we had received several complaints that noise was emanating from your suite, from the time of check in until 5:58am. This is why this was brought to your attention during the evening. As our rooms are not designed for housing parties of your size, it would be best in the future to reserve a function space to ensure the comfort and enjoyment of your guests.


TheHappyTrekker, thank you for taking the time to share your experience.


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    638
    174
    68
    60
See reviews for
565
654
69
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The grand hotel has a great staff and is at a great location in Toronto. You can't go wrong with this location. Complimentary breakfast is also a big win here. The hot tubs on the terrace overlook the city - fabulous!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brurogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Brurogers,

Thank you for you review and staying with us during your travels into Toronto!

We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon !


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Our 25th wedding anniversary started nicely with complimentary chocolate covered strawberries, however, the room bathroom was filthy. Housekeeper, Ms. Dellione was very nice had cleaned the area spic & span. Even though it wasn't her room she spent a lot of her time making things right. Unfortunately, the phones, refrigerator, sink faucet & TV were broken. We were offered another room but the bathroom in there was less than clean especially the toliet. Finally, assistant manager Katherine Cizar came to the rescue and moved us to a 2 floor suite with patio. She personally escorted us through the room and had the bathroom freshly cleaned for us. Her attention to detail and care for our comfort made everything right. The hotel is beautiful, free breakfast is plentiful and diversified. Pool and roof top sauna are awesome. Construction being done to exercise room but still usable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klsmcclain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Klsmcclain,

Congratulations on your 25th anniversary and thank you for allowing us to be part of the special occasions. I'm sorry to hear that there was a small hiccup at the beginning of your stay but I am so pleased that Delloine and Katherine where right there rectify the concerns ensuring that the rest of your stay would be most enjoyable. I'm so pleased that you had the opportunity to enjoy the amenities during your stay with us- there was a bit of aesthetics work that was taken place in our fitness center but it has completed!

Klsmcclain, I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future !


Warmest Regards,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
English Harbour Town, Saint Paul, Antigua
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

A good find for our first trip to Toronto. Good location, huge room, nicely furnished, and very comfortable. Great value, but the heating could have been a little warmer, maybe that just me more used to warmer climes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Richard W,

Thank you for sharing your comments with others on Trip Advisor. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to well you back during your second trip to Toronto !

Warmest Regards,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

As the hotel a friend and I usually stay at, as well as others looked at were fully booked, I chanced upon the Grand Hotel, when I used Google Maps to see what was close-by. The Grand Hotel's class and quiet elegance impressed us from the moment we arrived. We found the lobby's decor most inviting, and the floral arrangements, absolutely gorgeous! We loved our room's subdued colour scheme, kitchenette, dark laminate floor and stunning view of Lake Ontario! The hotel is quiet and absolutely spotless. We had great service, and were especially impressed by the shuttle bus made available to clients on a first-come-first serve bases, to downtown locations of our choice. For us, the hotel's only drawback was the lack of a ground-level elevator, as it was difficult for the friend I travelled with to climb up the ramp or staircase from street level to the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlena-3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Carlena-3210,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your trip to Toronto, I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our understated elegance while offering a warm and inviting atmosphere for all of our guests. Reviews like yours let us know that we are hitting the right notes!

Carlena-3210, it was such a pleasure welcoming you to the hotel and truly hope we will have the pleasure to do so again !

Warmly,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of August. We had a welcome reception and the doorman (blonde with ponytail) was very helpful throughout the whole stay. In fact all staff we encountered were helpful.

The room was huge with good facilities. Slightly tired decoration and fittings but this is easily resolved. My husband got ill so we ended up spending most of our time at the hotel, we found the room to be comfortable (not the pillows though), room service was great, we ordered food a couple of times and it was probably the best room service food we have had, highly recommend it. As my husband was ill the concierge kindly allowed us a late check out.

We went up to the roof just for the view which was stunning, didn't use the hot tubs.

Location - as it was our first time in toronto I can't judge that well but it seemed to be right in the middle of a lot of homeless shelters. Made the area feel scruffy and bit alarming passing interesting characters around the area. We walked the wrong way down Dundas once and the area was a dump, we blatantly got followed by a suspicious looking woman who obviously stopped when we we turned around and then walked back. Other than that, if you go the other way you seem to hit central toronto pretty quickly.

Breakfast was vast but some of the food tasted and looked a bit cheap.

Despite that, overall the hotel was better than we expected and we would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank The_Georges07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear The_Georges07,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I'm so pleased that we had exceeded your expectations and your first impression with Anderson at the front door was warm and welcoming.

Over the past year and continuing into the new year, we have and will continue to undergo soft good renovations here at the hotel. As you may have noticed, all our guest room hallways, beds, bedding have been updated. In the coming months there are many wonderful, aesthetics changes that will happen.

The_Georges07, we hope to welcome you back during your next travel to Toronto !

Warmly,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne and wear uk
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Spent two nights at this hotel on a road trip through New York State and Ontario Sept 2013, Suite style hotel, with small kitchen area in room, ideal to chill a beer or re-heat a take away. Good bed and bedding, clean and efficient bathroom.
Shame about the weather when we were there (constant rain) couldn't use stylish roof area with whirlpools and bar.
Buffet breakfast included in price, Parking available in underground car park on site at additional charge (but worth it in my view)
All in all value for money for a city centre hotel but nothing exceptional.

Room Tip: Good views from high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyTyneAndWearUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear andyTyneAndWearUk,

I'm sorry to hear that the weather was a bit less then satisfactory during your stay with us in September. I hope that next time you will have the opportunity to enjoy the roof top amenities !

andyTyneAndWearUk, we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Warmly,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#37 of 136 in Toronto
1,786 reviews
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toronto

Property: Grand Hotel Toronto
Address: 225 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#14 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing