We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel & Suites
Ranked #26 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel! Our room was amazing - very spacious and they have us a free upgrade. Very clean and stylish. Also walking distance to the Eaton Centre, which is a perk! Also, can't beat free buffet breakfast :)
Staff were VERY friendly! Most definitely will stay again!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank dancing_queen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Dancing_queen87,

Thank you for choosing us as your home away from home during your trip into the city, it was great to welcome you and Thank you for sharing your great review with others !


Warmly,


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,182 - 1,188 of 2,019 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel was a great find for us in Toronto. Traditionally, we would've stick to major SPG chain hotels but I wanted to find a place near city center that offered free wifi so I didn't have to use roaming data on my phone.

The hotel must be say, is situated about three blocks away from Eaton Center, the Time Square of Toronto. The area near the hotel is still slowly being gentrified and the skid row characters still remain and clearly visible in my morning visits to the Tim Horton's on the corner. What more than make up for the surrounding area is the service provided by the great staff at the hotel and the ample amenities available at the hotel.

We arrived early at the hotel due to an early flight and wanted to check in early. Unfortunately, there weren't any room available. The front desk staff - Karen took note of our needs and later searched for us in the lobby to let us know a room opened up early. Her attention to detail and great recommendations to restaurants in the area made this a five star experience.

We received similar excellent service at the Citrus - the hotel restaurant that provided the free breakfast every morning. The breakfast was decent but nothing over the top but the staff made sure everything was always in order and never far away when we needed anything - coffee, utensils, etc.

The room itself was elegantly designed with a small separation between the bed area and the living room space by the entrance. The sofa can be converted into a sleeping bed so the room should fit three people comfortably if needed. The hotel has an indoor swimming pool in the basement along with hot tub in the pool area or rooftop. Business center is small but adequate for printing out boarding passes or looking up maps. The best feature is what draw me to the hotel in the first place, the entire hotel is blanketed in free wifi with strong signal throughout. I had no trouble using it to skype with family while in the hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a mid to high range hotel in the Toronto downtown area. The staff member such as Karen made this hotel a five star experience all around.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank amorde5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience Amorde5. Its reviews like the one you shared that reiterate the fact that we are hitting all the right notes with our guests- from the service provided by Karen to the area that is gentrifying.

Amorde5, it was such a please welcoming you to the hotel during your travel and hope that we have the opportunity to do so again very soon !

Warmest,


Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Chose to stay here after reading great reviews from TripAdvisor and it was an excellent choice. The staff are very friendly, helpful and accommodating. They were always happy to answer questions and give us tips on where to visit and eat around Downtown. The entrance itself is magnificent. The decor is excellent. The lobby is very elegant, yet comfortable. Everyone from the Bell staff, concierge, receptionist and wait staff are wonderful! The facilities are phenomenal. The pool and the rooftop hot tubs were a site to see. I would definitely recommend this hotel! Love it beyond words!

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Beachlovergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Beachlovergurl,

Thank you so much for your review with us and others. It was such a pleasure welcoming you to the hotel and we are so pleased that you had a chance to enjoy the hotel during your trip to Toronto.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future !

Warmly,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were in the Toronto area for my birthday so he surprised me with a stay at this incredible Hotel.
The staff were friendly and informative. Check-in was easy and painless. We spent the afternoon lounging in the rooftop hot tub. The rooftop terrace is stunning and I can only imagine it's a happening place in the summer or on the weekend. Large enough to accommodate numerous groups at a time but private enough we felt at ease and the atmosphere was intimate and romantic. With two hot tubs on the roof it's comfortable and inviting. The pool was exceptional; kept at the perfect temperature, clean and crystal clear. Swimming was a treat and lounging in the pool facility either in the indoor hot tub or on one of the many lounge chairs was ideal.
The rooftop terrace was beautiful at night and in the day. the view of the lake and the city is stunning.
The location is fairly close to many sought after downtown Toronto locations like the Eaton Centre and many fine restaurants.
But there's no need to leave the property! The attached Citrus restaurant and lounge has excellent food, great wine and drink selection and a beautiful (and heated) patio.
Spending my birthday here was a really treat for both of us and the hotel was amazing. They really made me feel special.
Our stay ended with a delicious breakfast buffet, complimentary news paper and good coffee.
This hotel does not miss a beat. Underground parking is available and they have a guest shuttle service.
Can't wait to stay again. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MP-Higgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear MP H,

Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to welcome you to the Hotel for this special occasion!

It is so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the pool and the restaurant as well had time to enjoy the hot tubs for your birthday!

I will be sure to share your lovely review with the Grand Hotel team!

We hope that you had a wonderful birthday and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warmest regards,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel at the end of September for four nights and loved it.

I'd booked through lastminute.com and didn't realise our breakfast was included so that was a nice bonus. A lot of the reviews have said it is repetitive, but in my experience that is always the case with a buffet breakfast and the selection is decent and tasty.

The staff were all very friendly, especially one of the girls in the bar - not sure what her name is but she was always very chatty and helpful.

The hotel itself is stunning. We loved our suite, it was a great room to relax in after a busy day sightseeing and the bed was really comfortable. The view of downtown from the rooftop is brilliant, especially at sunset. We were busy most of our nights, but thankfully got a chance to use the hot tubs one night and they were great! We didn't have a chance to use the indoor swimming pool, but it looked great and would definitely have used it if we had more time.

The location is very handy for walking around downtown, there is a shuttle bus but we didn't use it at all. The neighbourhood is a bit questionable when it's dark, but it is easy to get taxis and we didn't find it a problem.

If visiting Toronto again I would go for the Grand Hotel and would recommend to friends!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahe85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Sarahe85, thank you so much for your review and for sharing this with other TripAdvisor members.

We are thrilled that we had the opportunity to have you stay with us during your trip to Toronto!

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and facilities!

We hope that you had a safe trip back and we look forward to welcoming you back soon on your next trip to Toronto!

Warmest regards,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the grand hotel. Great service, clean and modern room. Hotel has an awesome breakfast buffet, yes it can get quite packed when they are busy.
Rooms have two flat screen Tvs and free wifi. Pool area looks great as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rothy332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Rothy332, it was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are delighted to hear that you really enjoyed staying with us as well as the breakfast!

I will be sure to share your comments with the entire Grand Hotel team!

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Have stayed twice on business, total of three nights. There were noise problems during my first stay, but two unruly - likely murderous! - guests were the cause of that. The staff were excellent, the rooms nicely appointed, washrooms clean, up to date. The breakfast was good, too.

Room Tip: For best view, anything above the 14th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Lee T,

It was a pleasure welcoming you back to the hotel for your business trip!

Thank you very much for your review and I am sorry to hear about the noise.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Warmly,

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#35 of 137 in Toronto
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Suites

Address: 225 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada (Formerly Grand Hotel Toronto)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#15 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $184 - $559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing