We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Grand Boutique”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toronto
Ranked #22 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Grand Boutique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

First of all, if there was a way to give an extra 'half' star, I would rate The Grand Hotel 4.5 out of 5. This hotel is fantastic!! Larger than an average 'boutique' style hotel, but certainly smaller than the mainstream, overpriced chain hotels, Grand Hotel offers everything and more for people looking to relax and enjoy Toronto. The key points for GH:

Location: Not what I would consider to be in the 'greatest' neighborhood in the city, but certainly not bad by any stretch. Within walking distance to St. Lawrence Market (a MUST), and downtown shopping (Eaton Centre, The Bay).

Hotel Amenities: Wonderful! Large pool and hottub in the basement. Double hottubs on the roof! Beautiful views of the skyline. Fitness and business center. Lounge and restaurant. Little gift shop/convenience store. The hotel is very clean and well maintained, even if slightly on the dated side. Free Wi-Fi (although see critques below regarding quality.)

Rooms: Surprisingly large rooms. Well, maybe not 'large', but a well use of space. Our room was suite-like without being a true suite. 2 TVs, kitchenette with microwave and mini-fridge. Cabinets with plate and silverware. Lots of closet space and a desk for working. Nice bathrooms. A little small, but clean. Hotel provides a lot of channels on TV, including our new favorite channel: Much! So wish they had this back in the states.

Food: Really, really good. I had the lamb sliders and fries the first night. Very good. The buffet breakfasts were amble and the food was very well prepared.

Service: Excellent! Luc at the front desk and Diana in the restaurant were very pleasant to deal with. Diana made several excellent recommendations for things to do (and eat!) Luc arranged for transportation and went out of his way to make us comfortable during our stay.

Critiques:

-Wi-Fi in the rooms does not work well. And the ethernet cable the front desk provided did not work at all! W-Fi in the lobby works, but they may want to consider upgrading for better room access, even if it means charging a little for use.
-This seems rather silly, but in a land known for maple syrup, it was a little strange to see the breakfast buffet only provide little containers of Smuckers table syrup! This almost seems like a missed opporunity to provide a little local flare for out-of-towners.

Really, really nice stay. This place is great for weekenders looking to escape for a couple of days. Did I mention the hot tubs on the roof?!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magmystour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Magmystour,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Toronto!

Thank you very much for sharing a wonderful review and for sharing all the great comments with other TripAdvisor members!

I will be sure to share your review with Luc and Diana we well as the entire team here at the Grand Hotel.

Magmystour, we hope you had a safe trip back to the US and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel very soon!

Warmly,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    611
    161
    65
    59
See reviews for
528
636
67
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sudbury
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Recently stayed here for a business trip and was so lucky to stay in the Loft....2 level suite with terrace. Full Kitchen, living room 2 bathrooms, one King room and an other Queen room. Great for a family. Hotel staff excellent very helpful. We cabbed it everywhere so had no issues about the location on Jarvis. Everyone enjoyed the hotel's breakfast and lunch. Will definitely return

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happysanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear happysanman,

It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us during your visit to Toronto!

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the loft suites and the restaurant! I will be sure to share this with the kitchen!

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warmest regards,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We arrived here tired from the flight to be told that the crib requested when we booked months ago may or may not be available as she was not sure if they had any and the receptionist was pretty dismissive about the lack of a crib. The 'suite' was passable if a bit small and spartan for a suite certainly not luxury. We phoned down to reception to ask why they had taken our booking if they did not have any cribs available and as if my magic a crib apppeared 15 minutes later.
Breakfast was nice after the daily 15 minute to wait for a place to sit, usualy on a coffee table as an actual dining table was clearly a luxury you had to wait a long time for. In a three day stay we came to breakfast at three different times in hope of a table but we still had to wait every day. Annoyingly there were empty coffee tables one side of the rope but THESE tables were not for breakfast only the other annnyoingly low coffee tables the other side of the bar could be used for breakfast. The check in also failed to inform us of any of the hotels amenities including the shuttle service which would have been useful considering the hotels location.
The positive side is that the pool is very nice and it has a terrace and two hot tubs on the roof although the roof terrace is in urgent need of a touch up it is still a nice touch. The doormen were also very friendly and helpful,
On our return to Toronto we stayed at a Ramada hotel on the same street and got a much nicer suite for less than half the price of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fresco_pizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear fresco_pizza,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel for your visit to Toronto with your family!

Thank you very much for your review and comments, I will be sure to share them with the respective departments.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the future!

Warmly,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Egremont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
170 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent 4 nights at this hotel
Great location to see downtown Toronto. Lots of places to walk to .
Great service including a shuttle.
Breakfast was very nice but boring after day 2
great view of lake on south side of hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Rstan,


It was a pleasure welcoming you to the hotel and thank you for allowing us to be part of your trip to Toronto. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your day and I'm sorry to hear about the breakfast. In addition to the extensive hot buffet, we do also have a a la cart menu should there be something else that you would prefer.

Rstan, hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel in the near future !


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, IL
Level Contributor
190 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hotel on a business trip to Toronto. The Grand provided a first class experience and exceeded my expectations. I loved the pool in the basement and the rooftop hot tubs provided an incredible panoramic view of downtown Toronto. The room was sleek and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was everything as advertised. I had a meeting room which was exactly what I needed and the staff was professional and responsive. The stay at the Grand was so good I want to come back and bring the family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyhotcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Johnnyhotcakes,


It was such a pleasure welcoming you to the hotel for your business needs and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel with your family !


Hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon !


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a really lovely hotel but the area leaves a little to be desired. The doormen are so helpful and cheery. The suite we had was nice, 2 TVA so no arguments. Nice microwave and refrigerator. The bathroom was a little small and didn't have much counter space. The pillows were either Goodyear blimps or puddles of fluff. I'm sure they would have replaced them but we made it okay. The breakfast buffet was great! We got room service one night and it was the. Best and not $$$$. I know it seems like I'm complaining a lot, but I'm knit picking...I would stay here again!

Room Tip: If you don't like your pillows, switch them early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Pamelasue,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor members and thank you for your comments with regards to your stay, I will be sure to share them with the respective departments.

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Warmly,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary in Toronto and stayed at the Grand. After reading somewhat mixed reviews, I must admit I was nervous. I am happy to report, however, that this hotel exceeded my expectations. It is a quiet little gem in the city. The bed was super comfortable, the room was so quiet (even though the hotel was packed), the hot tub on the roof overlooking the city was amazing, not to mention the staff who remember your name and genuinely care about your experience. Karen at the front desk was amazing, and made our anniversary trip wonderful. Our only regret is not planning a longer stay! Thanks for a memorable experience! We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Erin D,

Its so great to see that we had exceeded your expectations during your stay in Toronto and thank you for allowing us to be part of your special occasion ! I will be sure to share your great comments with Karen and the other staff members at the hotel !

Erin D, I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon and be sure to stay longer this time !!


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toronto

Property: Grand Hotel Toronto
Address: 225 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#13 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#17 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing