We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in the heart of the city.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toronto
Ranked #22 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oasis in the heart of the city.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary in Toronto and stayed at the Grand. After reading somewhat mixed reviews, I must admit I was nervous. I am happy to report, however, that this hotel exceeded my expectations. It is a quiet little gem in the city. The bed was super comfortable, the room was so quiet (even though the hotel was packed), the hot tub on the roof overlooking the city was amazing, not to mention the staff who remember your name and genuinely care about your experience. Karen at the front desk was amazing, and made our anniversary trip wonderful. Our only regret is not planning a longer stay! Thanks for a memorable experience! We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Erin D,

Its so great to see that we had exceeded your expectations during your stay in Toronto and thank you for allowing us to be part of your special occasion ! I will be sure to share your great comments with Karen and the other staff members at the hotel !

Erin D, I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon and be sure to stay longer this time !!


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    611
    161
    65
    59
See reviews for
528
636
67
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

perfect stay! loved it here. nice staff, clean and spacious rooms. comfortable beds, great (!) pool, lovely terasse with jacuzzies, good bar for tasty pre dinner drinks and very (!) tasty food @ citrus

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luke_sch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear luke_sch,

It was a pleasure welcoming you to the hotel and we appreciate that you took the time to share your review and experience with others and we are so pleased that you had enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future !


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Yesterday sept 26th I was meeting friends who had checked in just after noon, I was coming in at 1 pm. I went to the desk, a man was checking in , he was told $400 deposit, he said he had been staying there for 6 years,never a deposit,he would not pay it. He was very mad, desk waived deposit, he checked in , left very upset. I asked desk had my friends checked in, they had, phoned room ,not there. I asked desk was there a message for me , "no". I left message when they came in, I would be reading in my van in outdoor parking. They had gone to market, left room key and my name at the desk. They returned went to desk, asked had I arrived," no",any messages "no". They went to the room wondering where I was, at 2.10 pm looked out window , saw the the roof of my van, came and got me. Went to the desk asked what the hell was going on? Told not their fault, given back key and 3 drink tickets. We went to the room, called room service, ordered 3 beer, told them we had 3 drink tickets from the desk , told" no problem". Beer comes told " drink tickets no good for room service". This hotel is not cheap, Is there anyone in this hotel with " unsurpassed service" who knows what they are doing besides the doormen who were friendly and helpful?

Room Tip: rooms on south side better view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilN33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear PhilN,


Thank you very much your comments and sharing your feedback with us and other Trip Advisor members. We are sorry to hear about your experience as this is not the standard that we hold ourselves too. I'll be sure to share your comments with the respective team members at the hotel.

Again, thank you for your comments !

Warmly,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Booked this through booking.com and was displeased that the website didn't clarify to us that the rate we were paying was actually only for two adults, not the three of us that actually stayed as we had booked. If we had known that, we would have gone elsewhere from the start. Please sort out clarification issues with the website and thank you.

Otherwise, the hotel itself is rather clean - definitely not in the best parts of Toronto - the area around it is a little on the shady side but you really can't necessarily improve the location much at this stage.

Repetitive breakfast: having had the exact same breakfast buffet options for the whole two weeks of our stay was really not an enjoyable experience - that said, the home fries were to die for! One of the waiters seemed to be ignoring our table in purpose and this went on on more than one occasion however the restaurant manager did take care in making sure we received an apology and assured us that he was reprimanded.

Fitness centre could use a great deal more care. The pool is good. The rooftop spas are also lovely and relaxing with a phenomenal view of downtown Toronto which is probably the positive element of the shady location the hotel is in.

Shuttle service into downtown is okay, we didn't need it often as the hotel was minutes from Eaton Centre so we only used it the last day as we had luggage to the train station.

Rooms a little on the small side for the three of us, perhaps we should have upgraded? And lighting in the bedroom side was horrendous and not conductive to any reading, please do something about it and add more light near the bathroom door vicinity and on that side of the bed.

WiFi became rather unstable during our stay, business centre computers were blocking websites such as viarail.ca which made absolutely no sense.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank flyout101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
flyout101, thank you very much for staying with us during your visit to Toronto, it was a pleasure having you with us for two weeks!

Toronto is a very multicultural city with many pockets, it makes it a vibrant and diverse city!

Thank you for your review, I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the rooftop and pool. I will also pass your suggestions and share this with our team!

flyout101 I hope we can welcome you back on your next visit to Toronto!

Warmly,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel is very good, though I do agree with some reviews about the area but it is centrally located, close to downtown which is a plus.

The hotel itself is very nice, has an old world charm to it, rooftop hot tubs are amazing, especially after a long day of walking around. Free buffet breakfast is nice. The staff is great- the bellman and the front desk staff- very helpful and friendly. Defintely would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna46602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Donna46602,

Thank you very much for your review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us at the hotel!

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the rooftop and the hot tubs while the weather has been sunny and warm in Toronto!

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Toronto!

Warmly,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humansdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a "grand delux" room which had a small kitchenette which was nice.Very small bathroom but adequate.Room also small..there is no place for a side table at the one side of the doublebed which is not comfortable.Nice terrace up top with small pool and tub.Free Wi-Fi in rooms.Great breakfast included in price with nice outside seating.We had a hire car and valet parking was provided.Walked around the area and to the Eaton Centre without problems although we did see homeless people we never felt in any danger(hey we are South Africans after all..!)Made use of their business centre which had everything one could need.All in all a good place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tokkelosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Tokkelosh,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your visit to Toronto!
I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed all the facilities as well as the rooftop!

I hope that you had a safe trip back home and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Toronto!

Warmest regards,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The room we had was a Deluxe and it was very spacious. Cleaned thoroughly every day and requests dealt with quickly.
All if the staff could not have been more helpful or friendly.
The area is not the best but is being rejuvenated currently.
There is a Salvation Army hostel just down the road and quite a few homeless folk in the area. Didn't feel threatened in any way tho.
The pool is big enough to have a swim in.
Great breakfasts and only a 10 minute walk from Dundas-Yonge centre!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloraG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
FloraG, it was a pleasure welcoming you to the hotel and having you stay with us!
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the pool and your stay at the hotel!

Thank you very much for sharing your review!

We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Warmly,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toronto

Property: Grand Hotel Toronto
Address: 225 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#13 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#17 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing