We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding25”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toronto
Ranked #22 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding25”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our daughter was recently married in Toronto and we chose the Grand for our stay due the proximity to the venue. We also had several family and friends stay as well. From the moment you walked in you were aware it would be a great stay. The staff was friendly, knowledgable and fast. The rooms were excellent, clean and provided everything you would need for a weekend stay or longer. On Sunday we all met for breakfast and had a wonderful meal and a great visit on the lovely side patio. What a way to end a great occasion.

Room Tip: We just had the standard room and ours was a corner unit which was larger then our daughter,s room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Roberta G,
Thank you so much for posting your wonderful experience on Trip Advisor. I hope that your daughter's wedding went extremely well, and I wish the best for you and her in the future. As an all-suite hotel, we are extremely jubilant at our ability to offer our guests with all the amenities that will suit their needs and more. Also, I am glad that you were able to experience The Grand with your family because we strive to provide an atmosphere comfortable for all through our amazing staff and features, whom you applauded in your review.

With the exception of a few rain showers, the weather has been incredible, so we are glad that you were able to take advantage of our amazing patio for your breakfast with your family. We hope to greet you back in the near future for another beautiful stay!
Warmly,
Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    611
    161
    65
    59
See reviews for
527
636
67
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have stayed in the regular suite, one of the 2 level suites and also in one of the suites with the balcony area. The hotel was staffed by courteous, thoughtful employees. The breakfast buffet offers extensive options - perhaps the best breakfast offered as part of the room fees in the city. Bring a swim suit. The hot tub on the roof is so lovely that it is easy to overlook the inviting pool area. We enjoyed room service on the roof deck. I love the sushi and the burger was delicious. It is a relatively seedy area but there are really no worries if you take a quick taxi downtown.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a suite. They are one of a kind set ups that are perfect for socializing in the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yyz_kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear yyz_kat,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us! It’s wonderful to hear you have stayed in many of the different suite types we offer in the hotel and that you’ve had a chance to experience the differences each one has to offer! Dining in our restaurant, either for the breakfast buffet or during lunch and dinner service is a great way to sample the locally grown, sustainable and fresh items offered on our menu! I want to thank you as well for the thoughtful acknowledgment of our team here at the hotel! I will be sure to pass along your kind words and we all look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Central location walking distance to shopping and dining. Staff were super accommodating. Views from room were nice and the rooftop hit tubs were fun with spectacular views both day and night. Complimentary breakfast was the best we've had. A must stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruyters17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Ruyters17,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for other Trip Advisor readers to see! It was a pleasure having you join us at the hotel during your most recent stay, and it is wonderful to hear the kind words about our breakfast buffet! Our complimentary hot and cold buffet breakfast is one of the many amenities guests look forward to when staying with us! It’s great to hear you had a chance to take in the views from the rooftop Jacuzzis – they really are a great place to relax and unwind! We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, Nederland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in "the Grand" for three days in May 2013. We arrived when it was raining like hell. We were very glad that somebody took care of our luggage and parked the car in Valet. Everything was taken care off. Checkin was very swift; personel was very friendly. We got a room on the 17th floor. Room was very clean and well maintained. Even a small kitchen with microwave and fridge was present. Hotel has a roof top whirlpool area where you obviously have a great view over the city. The pool in the basement we did not use. The location of the hotel is good; close to downtown shopping and Eaton Center, however I read on the internet that you should prevent roaming Jarvis street late at night alone. Having said that, we did not feel unsafe at all.
The first night we had dinner in the Citrus restaurant in the hotel. I was not very impressed with the pasta, however the sushi was great. The breakfast was also served in the Citrus restaurant and was included in the price and was very good with lots of fresh fruit, yoghurt, juices, eggs/bacon/sausages. The only thing I missed were some cheeses/cold meats. Overall I really liked our stay at the Grand hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear RogerBas,

Thank you so much for posting a review on Trip Advisor to share with us and other readers! I am so pleased to hear our team of bellmen were of great assistance to you upon arriving at the hotel to check in and that you found our Front Desk agents efficient and personable! The views from the suites on the 17th floor are wonderful, and we are glad to know that the accommodations suited your needs! It is also great to hear you had a chance to dine with us in Citrus Restaurant for breakfast as well as dinner! The buffet breakfast spread offers a large variety of items and I am pleased to hear you found most things you were hoping for! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed on the 17th floor of this lovely little gem. The room was more like a little suite, with a tiny little sitting room(sofa bed) & a tiny bedroom. There was also a good size fridge & a microwave. All the plates & utensils were also there. The bathroom was adequate ,though I had trouble turning the shower off. The handle went around 360 degrees, several times before the water shut off. The bed was a king ,& very comfortable. Once again we had key problems .We must be very magnetic people as ,once again, we had to go back to the front desk to get our key fixed !! The location is a little iffy @ the moment ,but with all the building ,that will change. We enjoyed breakfast on the patio very much. They might want to invest in a cat though. There were a lot of birds .

Room Tip: I'm not sure there's a bad view above the 10th floor. The lower floors ,maybe not so great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zywot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Zywot,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and other Trip Advisor readers! As an all-suite hotel, we are pleased to be able to offer our guests the conveniences beyond a standard room, including a separate living room with a sofa-bed pullout , a kitchenette and of course complimentary wireless internet and full buffet breakfast each morning. I would like to apologize for the trouble you experienced with the shower handle and have passed this information over to our Maintenance Department to examine further!

With such beautiful weather in Toronto the last few weeks, we are so pleased to hear you had a chance to experience breakfast on the patio. It is certainly one of the most enjoyable features of the hotel! We hope to welcome you back very soon for another enjoyable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were looking for a convenient central location for seven nights, which was within easy walking distance, tram or subway network connections of the many sights of down-town Toronto. This place fitted the bill. We did have a car, and found exiting the city to the east convenient for the zoo and science center. Our kids are young (5 and 2 y.o.), so we were looking for on-site facilities to would keep them entertained. The salt-water pool and spa bath in the basement were a real hit, whilst the roof terrace kept us (as parents) happy. We ate on-site (breakfast, lunch and dinner) most days, but there is enough variety on the menu to satisfy everyone. On-site secure parking is pricey (at $19 per night), we could have done with a dining table in our two bedroom Junior suite, but the staff were all very helpful and made our stay most enjoyable. If we return to Toronto, we'll be staying here.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor, but not 18 (too much roof-top traffic), away from the elevators for a restful nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Simon P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor! Situated right downtown Toronto, we are in very close proximity to public transit and ideally located near many of Toronto’s finest sights and attractions! It is excellent to hear that your needs were fulfilled during your stay with us and that you found the on-site amenities to be very accommodating for your family! With a variety of activities like the indoor salt-water pool as well as the rooftop terrace and Jacuzzis, we strive to provide something for everyone! We hope that you make a trip back to Toronto soon and that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A few weeks ago I had the pleasure of staying at the Grand hotel. Upon arrival, I was greeted by all the hotel staff, which ultimately had a profound effect on my visit; I felt welcomed. Additionally, since I have a passion for photography, I grabbed my camera and made my way to the Grand’s rooftop. The view of Toronto’s skyline is truly breathtaking and worthwhile. The rooftop was LIVE. People were hanging out in the hot tubs and music videos were screened. Also, great pool! Was a weekend to remember!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnL1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear JohnL1976,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay for other Trip Advisor readers to see! It sounds like you had a most enjoyable time with us, taking full advantage of our one-of-a-kind rooftop terrace! The beautiful 360 degree views paired with the Jacuzzis and music videos create a wonderfully enjoyable atmosphere and allow you to see the city from a whole new vantage point! We hope you got some great shots of the city and can’t wait to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toronto

Property: Grand Hotel Toronto
Address: 225 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#13 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#17 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing