We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Toronto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toronto
Ranked #21 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Orono, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel. The hotel rooms are compact but well planned out,, from the sitting area/kitchenette/sleep area. They have underground parking which is only $18 per day which is way cheaper than most places. Also breakfast was included, a lovely buffet with great food, well decorated restaurant and exceptional wait staff. The staff at the hotel are friendly,professional and helpful. This property is a few blocks from the Eatons centre,theatres and lots of restaurants. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear MitchB62,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for other readers on Trip Advisor! It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and to hear your kind words about our team here at The Grand! We pride ourselves on having a friendly, knowledgeable team who are always happy to accommodate our guests in any way. Our amenities, like the buffet breakfast and internet, are a real favourite with our guests – not only because of the wide variety but also because they are always included.

We have just recently finished upgrades to our buffet in terms of layout and design, so be sure to stop in the restaurant for breakfast during your next stay! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    530
    138
    57
    56
See reviews for
442
553
60
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Hotel on a recent trip to Toronto. The location is perfect, right downtown, close to everything including The Eaton Centre! The staff and service were excellent. Very friendly and accommodating. The beds are very lush and comfortable!!! Food in the hotel restaurant was fantastic, includes a free breakfast which is extremely convenient for my husband (and delicious). Highly recommend and will be returning upon our return to Toronto.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara2760898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Barbara2760898,

We are so glad to hear you and your husband had such a great experience while staying with us last month! Our central location, which makes us in walking distance of most Toronto attractions, is often noted by our guests as one of the best in the city! We have recently completed renovations in the guest rooms which included new mattresses, duvets and pillows in all rooms – it sounds like you were one of the first to try them out! It is also great to hear that you experienced Citrus Restaurant during your stay. The complimentary buffet breakfasts as well as the lunch and dinner menus resonate well with our guests.

Thank you as well for taking the time to recognize our wonderful team here at the hotel. Your kind words will be passed along to each department and we all hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

held a party here for a friend who was getting married. nice big room with kitchen made it real easy to accomodate all the people. roof top was cool, had breakfast included and it was tasty, especially after a long night of boozing it up. not a huge fan of the area where this hotel is located found check in tough cause of where I had to leave my car until all the paper work and stuff was filled out then had to go back and get my car off the main street. staff was friendly and rooms were clean

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhopp1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear jhopp1978,
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor! As an all-suite hotel, our large rooms comfortably accommodate families, business travelers, couples, or even individuals! The in-suite kitchenettes allow one to feel right at home – the complimentary breakfast and internet are a great benefit as well! With the area rapidly developing, we are so glad to be centrally located and close to all the wonderful things downtown Toronto has to offer! We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location. Less than 10 minute gentle walk to Downtown so quiet enough but near to everything. Nice bright comfortable rooms. Breakfast is an excellent, varied buffet and is complimentary.

Staff pleasant, cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterfinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear peterfinal,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor! We are so pleased you found the hotel comfortable and convenient for your stay last month. The location of the hotel is great for those who wish to see all the city has to offer but don’t want to venture too far! Our close proximity (walking distance!) to Eaton Centre, Yonge & Dundas Square, the Distillery District, St. Lawrence Market and more make it a very suitable location to experience Toronto.

I am glad you had a chance to take advantage of the complimentary buffet breakfast. It is a great way to start the day and offers plenty of variety to suit many tastes. Thank you also for your kind words about our team – these comments will definitely be passed along to them! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Recently my team held a meeting nearby and we decided to stay at the Grand. It was, well, grand. Cheap taxi fare from Billy Bishop airport, right downtown. Friendly staff and ample doormen. Free buffet breakfast each morning (anyone who knows Toronto knows how much meals can cost...) one free complimentary drink in the bar/lounge. We just had a great stay. Free Shuttle back to the Billy Bishop airport ferry as well.

The rooftop hot tub is excellent. An after dark soak in the hot tub overlooking the lights of the city...just really cool.

My wife and I are already planning a weekend getaway to Toronto and planning on staying at the Grand.

Room Tip: If possible, see if they can upgrade you to a suite...huge rooms. Other than that, everyone in our g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ricketts223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Ricketts223,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor for other members to read. I am so glad to hear that our complimentary amenities such as the buffet breakfast and the house Escalade shuttle service were of use to you and your team!

We strive to offer our guests services that will make their stay comfortable, convenient and memorable, and are happy to offer the added value wherever possible!

it is great to hear you are already planning a trip back to the hotel with your wife - we very much look forward to welcoming you both soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Grand is my business stay of choice hotel in downtown Toronto. Great property, great staff. In the warmer months the roof top patio takes the stress out of a long business day! The indoor whirlpool and spa facilities are super as well. The rooms are ideal for longer stays with the mini fridge and kitchenette. I commend the great staff from the front desk, Citrus restaurant, housekeeping and the doormen. The Grand delivers a great product. Great breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for south side to get the great Toronto skyline and waterfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmabriscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear emmabriscoe,

Thank you very much for writing a review of your stay with us last month! We are so pleased to be your go-to hotel for business travel in the city and are glad to know that our amenities greatly contribute to your stay! We find that guests love having kitchenettes in every room and it certainly helps them feel right at home.

I also want to thank you for the kind acknowledgement of our personnel. I will be sure to pass along the compliments to each department! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel upon your next trip to Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My company held a meeting at The Grand earlier in the month and I stayed for 1 night in a deluxe room. (Wifi was quite decent and free!)
Overall the hotel is excellent. The Citrus restaurant has a nice ambiance and unique dinner menu. They also have an amazing sushi bar at the restaurant.
Meeting room was well set up, and all the equipment worked well, the business center staff helped us with everything we needed (the coffee is excellent!)
The hotel has a nice saltwater pool located on the lower level, and the gym is quite good.
Overall the staff seem to enjoy assisting hotel guests which is nice and provided great suggestions about what to do in Toronto. They were welcoming and I'll certainly stay there again when I'm back in Toronto.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Lisa T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us and other Trip Advisor readers! It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you found all of the hotel amenities to your liking.

Our Chef at Citrus Restaurant is constantly developing the menu to bring new and creative items to our guests and the sushi bar is an added feature that certainly enhances the dining experience! The intimate size and menu selections offer our guests high quality, sustainable food right here at the hotel.

Our fitness centre, indoor pool and rooftop Jacuzzis ensure anyone who is looking to stay active during their trip or just enjoy the relaxation is accommodated.

Thank you for acknowledging our wonderful team here – your review will be shared with them!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warmest Regards,


Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Toronto
Delta Toronto
#6 of 137 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
Downtown West
The Fairmont Royal York
The Fairmont Royal York
#17 of 137 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#29 of 137 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,646 reviews
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toronto

Property: Grand Hotel Toronto
Address: 225 Jarvis St, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#12 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#15 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing