We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Value - Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toronto
Ranked #26 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I booked this hotel months ago with a group buy ad as we had stayed here before and really liked the location and rooms. We had to switch the reservation many times prior to our arrival this past weekend. The person on the telephone was not happy to hear that I had to make yet another switch when I called to reschedule this last time (she was quite curt) but we were trying to meet someone who had been very ill and needed to accomodate for this - hence the many switches. As a result of the last phone call I was really wary of how we would be greeted upon arrival and at the restaurant but was pleasantly surprised! From check in to check out we were treated in "grand" style. I read the review about the staff being disorganized but didn't experience that. We felt that the staff was pleasant, courteous and attentive - in fact the server we had in the restaurant was one of the best that I have had in a long time. I know the area might seem a bit sketchy to some who are not that comfortable in Toronto but my advice would be to book anyway - take advantage of the great value this hotel has to offer and just stay inside! The hotel is clean, offers an above average breakfast - no stale muffins and coffee here - and if it isn't up to your standards, keep in mind it is complimentary. You really can't beat the value - you are after all in downtown Toronto! My advice to the woman who was contrary on the phone? That's why it is called the "hospitality" industry - maybe you should take a lesson from the other staff who were incredibly hospitable!

Room Tip: I found the room a bit warm - you really have to crank down the heat if you like to sleep in a cool...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvtravelling_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear luxtravelling_13,

Thank you very much for posting your experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor! We apologize for your initial experience when changing your reservation over the phone but are very glad to hear you were met with our kind and courteous front desk agents upon arrival! We will pass along your kind words about our front desk team as well as the Citrus Restaurant team and let them know you were very pleased with the service!

We pride ourselves on offering value to our guests throughout their stay. The option for a hot or cold complimentary buffet breakfast is a great way to start the day and is unique to our hotel, so we are very glad to hear you enjoyed it during your stay!

We hope to see you again very soon!

Warmly,

Greg Egglesfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,997)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Toronto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,303 - 1,309 of 1,997 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Would highly recommend this hotel for Toronto. We stayed for three nights for a family reunion. 6 adults and 6 kids ranging from 6-19. What made it so great?
1. Rooms had two queens, wood floors, mini kitchenette, and plenty of space to store our stuff
2. Breakfast included in rate - sumptuous buffet and plenty of seating for us to gather each morning
3. Pool in basement and two hot tubs on the rooftop - our favorite spot to end each day
4. Location - walking distance to Eaton place, subway, streetcars, st Lawrence market, etc
5. Price / Value

Downsides: bathrooms dated, wouldn't let us put a rollaway cot in our room.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiazInCr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear PiazInCr,

Thank you for writing a detailed review and sharing it with other Trip Advisor readers!
We are so glad you found our hotel to be so accommodating and comfortable. We have recently completed renovations to all guest rooms and hallways, so it is great to hear the hardwood floors and new beds were to your liking! We are very proud to offer our guests added value throughout their stay. The complimentary hot and cold breakfast buffet is one of the great perks and the rooftop Jacuzzis speak for themselves!

Our location is very central to all the great things Toronto has to offer, and those places that are a bit farther away can easily be accessed via public transit which we are very close to! We also offer a complimentary drop off shuttle service in our house Cadillac Escalade within the downtown core. On your next visit, you’ll have to use that!

We do appreciate you bringing to our attention that we were unable to deliver a rollaway bed to your room. Regretfully, because this is a fire and safety hazard, we were not able to have one sent to your room. If extra space is needed in the future, please do not hesitate to let us know and we will see what other options we have available!

We hope to welcome you back again to The Grand very soon!


Warmest Regards,


Greg Egglesfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I used what I thought looked like a fantastic Dealfind deal, to go to this hotel. When I called to book, there was limited availability to get a 2 bdrm junior suite, as they only have 9 of them. The second time I called I asked whether it might be possible to use the certificate for a 1 bdrm instead (since it was just me), they were quite accomodating.

The hotel is situated on Jarvis near Dundas, giving you pretty good access to downtown Toronto. Walking distance to the subway, and easy access to cabs. When you walk in it has the air of a higher end hotel. When I arrived a 3pm to check in there were a ton of people still waiting for rooms - whichc surprised. My L shaped room (not really a 1 bdrm) was ready. The room was suppose to be non-smoking, but clearly someone had smoked there at some point, as there was that faint smell of cigarette masked by perfume of some sort. The room was a decent size, had a microwave and fridge and a seperate sitting area. The bed was a king, but had a "wow" in the middle of it - it was a tough nights sleep.

A bkfst buffet was included with the dealfind. In the morning the restaurant was as though there had been a cattle call. Staff was disogranized, people hovering and trying to grab anything open. I grabbed a plate and sat at the bar. The meal was fair.

Parking is $19, $28 for valet - both seem fair given the location. Access is excellent. For a dealfind price of $179 and actually getting a 2 bdrm suite, including movie (from a selection in their gift shop) and 4 cans of pop (Coke), its tough to beat it .... that is if you can actually get a 2 bdrm suite. The $300+ price/value they advertise would have been a complete rip off - but at $179 ... you're downtown, you're eating bkfst, youre in a spacious room, though the staff is pretty disorganized the hotel is clean and central. Tough to beat for value.

Room Tip: Check Dealfind for some great pricing. If a 2 bdrm Junior Suite isn't available see if they'...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauder_Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just spent one lovely night at Grand Hotel Toronto, and are convinced that we will return when ever a downtown Toronto stay is required. We were very impressed with the cleanliness and attention to detail everywhere we turned. Lovely apples at check in, courteous doormen, accommodating front desk and room service staff, not to mention the wonderfully maintained amenities. The room layout was perfect for our 3 person family. My 9 year old son loved his own "bedroom" including TV in the living/sitting area and Mom and Dad enjoyed the privacy around the corner with their own space and TV too! Lovely towels at the pool and in the rooms. We especially loved the comfortable loungers in the warm pool area and bathing suit spinners in the change rooms...I have never seen these at any other hotel. Thanks for a great stay, we will be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Annette G,

Thank you very much for posting a positive review on Trip Advisor about our hotel for other readers to see! It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much! Thank you for acknowledging our staff – we will be sure to pass on the kind words!

Since we are an all-suite hotel, we offer room types that accommodate many types of travellers, and it’s great to know your son was quite happy with his ‘own room’! We appreciate the encouraging words about our amenities – we strive to offer added value for all our guests and do so by offering unique options such as the rooftop Jacuzzis, complimentary wireless internet, indoor salt water pool (with the suit spinners!), and many others.

We look forward to having you and your family back again soon!

Warmest Regards,


Greg Egglesfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I really mean it, I came in with high expectations from the reviews I read, but a few things let us down (a bit). First the good and great! The staff...super fantastic! From the doormen, front desk, waitstaff they were all excellent! The good: rooms were spacious and comfy, pool was beautiful and warm, rooftop hot tubs were fun, breakfast was great...come on illy coffee with a free buffet :)

No the few things that weren't so good, location is in a sketchy part of TO, close to Young and the Eaton's Centre, but definitely not a part of the city you'd take a casual stroll in the night. maybe it was because it was St. Paddy's celebrations, but it was noisy in the hall, door slamming is very audible in the rooms. We were short a pillow and blanket and had to call 2X to get it sent up, housekeeping was apologetic, and to us that's not such a big deal. The hotel is starting to show so e rough edges and probably could use some updating.

Would we go back? That's a tough one, my wife says no just because of the location and not feeling comfortable walking at night, I'm not sure, the pool and hot tubs on the roof as well as nice rooms is appealing. I guess if the price was right we'd go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear xforce,

We very much appreciate you taking the time to write a review about our hotel for Trip Advisor! Thank you for the kind words about the staff – they work tirelessly to ensure everyone has a positive first impression of the hotel and do their best to accommodate any and all needs! Our buffet is a wonderful feature at the hotel, and guests very much enjoy the wide variety (and most certainly the illy coffee!) and atmosphere.

We understand your concern with this area of Toronto, but we are very happy to let our current and future guests know how much the area is changing and the development that is going on around us. New condo buildings are going up on both corners surrounding the hotel and other city planning is ongoing!

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again!


Warmest Regards,


Greg Egglesfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a decent 4 star hotel. Good sized rooms, very good breakfast, comfortable, had a good night's sleep. However, the hotel really needs a renovation. Sofas in the lobby were stained and it feels like nothing has been touched since 1983. AND it must be in the very worst neighbourhood in central Toronto. I had to walk about 8 blocks to visit my offices when visiting, and the last 2-3 blocks near the hotel were always uncomfortable. Locals told me to relax, but it really is not a nice area. That said, I was never in danger, apparently, and I did kind of enjoy staying at this deeply 1980's hotel. Staff were all good. Taxis ample. Shuttle service to downtown the week I was there as there was a big mining conference going on. Not sure it's always available.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaffeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Gaffeur,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your candid feedback as it helps us strive to meet the expectations of our guests. We have just completed renovations in all meeting rooms and the guest room hallways. Next up for us is a full renovation of Citrus Restaurant and our lobby area, so we do hope to welcome you back again soon so that you can see all of the changes! Also, we are happy to provide year-round shuttle service in our house Cadillac Escalade as one of our many amenities, with drop off service from Monday-Friday within downtown. We will certainly pass along your satisfaction with our team here at The Grand, as they work hard to make sure every guest has an enjoyable stay!. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Warmest Regards,


Greg Egglesfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Took my daughter here for a quick shopping, March Break get away. The hotel is beautiful, clean, and a great value! The pool is gorgeous and the roof top hot tubs were very fun! Free buffet was way better than your average muffins and coffee. So much nicer than a big chain hotel like a Marriot or Sheraton. Almost " boutique- like". I would most definitely stay here again.... I VERY picky and a bit of a hotel " snob"!'nn

The area is a little sketchy but we walked to the Eaton Centre with no probls.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelling-Mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Travelling-Mermaid,


It sounds like you had a great March Break getaway and we are so glad you chose our hotel for your stay in the city! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor for others readers to see. We are so glad we exceeded your expectations in all aspects of your stay. It is great to hear that, as a boutique hotel, we were able to meet all of your needs! We are especially delighted to offer the complimentary buffet each morning of your stay. The indoor salt-water pool and the Jacuzzi’s on the rooftop are open all year round so you can enjoy them 365 days of the year! We hope to see you on your next trip to Toronto!


Warmest Regards,


Greg Egglesfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#34 of 137 in Toronto
1,820 reviews
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toronto

Address: 225 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#15 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $190 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing