We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel - Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toronto
Ranked #26 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just spent one lovely night at Grand Hotel Toronto, and are convinced that we will return when ever a downtown Toronto stay is required. We were very impressed with the cleanliness and attention to detail everywhere we turned. Lovely apples at check in, courteous doormen, accommodating front desk and room service staff, not to mention the wonderfully maintained amenities. The room layout was perfect for our 3 person family. My 9 year old son loved his own "bedroom" including TV in the living/sitting area and Mom and Dad enjoyed the privacy around the corner with their own space and TV too! Lovely towels at the pool and in the rooms. We especially loved the comfortable loungers in the warm pool area and bathing suit spinners in the change rooms...I have never seen these at any other hotel. Thanks for a great stay, we will be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Annette G,

Thank you very much for posting a positive review on Trip Advisor about our hotel for other readers to see! It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much! Thank you for acknowledging our staff – we will be sure to pass on the kind words!

Since we are an all-suite hotel, we offer room types that accommodate many types of travellers, and it’s great to know your son was quite happy with his ‘own room’! We appreciate the encouraging words about our amenities – we strive to offer added value for all our guests and do so by offering unique options such as the rooftop Jacuzzis, complimentary wireless internet, indoor salt water pool (with the suit spinners!), and many others.

We look forward to having you and your family back again soon!

Warmest Regards,


Greg Egglesfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,995)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Toronto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,305 - 1,311 of 1,995 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I really mean it, I came in with high expectations from the reviews I read, but a few things let us down (a bit). First the good and great! The staff...super fantastic! From the doormen, front desk, waitstaff they were all excellent! The good: rooms were spacious and comfy, pool was beautiful and warm, rooftop hot tubs were fun, breakfast was great...come on illy coffee with a free buffet :)

No the few things that weren't so good, location is in a sketchy part of TO, close to Young and the Eaton's Centre, but definitely not a part of the city you'd take a casual stroll in the night. maybe it was because it was St. Paddy's celebrations, but it was noisy in the hall, door slamming is very audible in the rooms. We were short a pillow and blanket and had to call 2X to get it sent up, housekeeping was apologetic, and to us that's not such a big deal. The hotel is starting to show so e rough edges and probably could use some updating.

Would we go back? That's a tough one, my wife says no just because of the location and not feeling comfortable walking at night, I'm not sure, the pool and hot tubs on the roof as well as nice rooms is appealing. I guess if the price was right we'd go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear xforce,

We very much appreciate you taking the time to write a review about our hotel for Trip Advisor! Thank you for the kind words about the staff – they work tirelessly to ensure everyone has a positive first impression of the hotel and do their best to accommodate any and all needs! Our buffet is a wonderful feature at the hotel, and guests very much enjoy the wide variety (and most certainly the illy coffee!) and atmosphere.

We understand your concern with this area of Toronto, but we are very happy to let our current and future guests know how much the area is changing and the development that is going on around us. New condo buildings are going up on both corners surrounding the hotel and other city planning is ongoing!

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again!


Warmest Regards,


Greg Egglesfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a decent 4 star hotel. Good sized rooms, very good breakfast, comfortable, had a good night's sleep. However, the hotel really needs a renovation. Sofas in the lobby were stained and it feels like nothing has been touched since 1983. AND it must be in the very worst neighbourhood in central Toronto. I had to walk about 8 blocks to visit my offices when visiting, and the last 2-3 blocks near the hotel were always uncomfortable. Locals told me to relax, but it really is not a nice area. That said, I was never in danger, apparently, and I did kind of enjoy staying at this deeply 1980's hotel. Staff were all good. Taxis ample. Shuttle service to downtown the week I was there as there was a big mining conference going on. Not sure it's always available.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaffeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Gaffeur,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your candid feedback as it helps us strive to meet the expectations of our guests. We have just completed renovations in all meeting rooms and the guest room hallways. Next up for us is a full renovation of Citrus Restaurant and our lobby area, so we do hope to welcome you back again soon so that you can see all of the changes! Also, we are happy to provide year-round shuttle service in our house Cadillac Escalade as one of our many amenities, with drop off service from Monday-Friday within downtown. We will certainly pass along your satisfaction with our team here at The Grand, as they work hard to make sure every guest has an enjoyable stay!. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Warmest Regards,


Greg Egglesfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Took my daughter here for a quick shopping, March Break get away. The hotel is beautiful, clean, and a great value! The pool is gorgeous and the roof top hot tubs were very fun! Free buffet was way better than your average muffins and coffee. So much nicer than a big chain hotel like a Marriot or Sheraton. Almost " boutique- like". I would most definitely stay here again.... I VERY picky and a bit of a hotel " snob"!'nn

The area is a little sketchy but we walked to the Eaton Centre with no probls.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelling-Mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Travelling-Mermaid,


It sounds like you had a great March Break getaway and we are so glad you chose our hotel for your stay in the city! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor for others readers to see. We are so glad we exceeded your expectations in all aspects of your stay. It is great to hear that, as a boutique hotel, we were able to meet all of your needs! We are especially delighted to offer the complimentary buffet each morning of your stay. The indoor salt-water pool and the Jacuzzi’s on the rooftop are open all year round so you can enjoy them 365 days of the year! We hope to see you on your next trip to Toronto!


Warmest Regards,


Greg Egglesfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at this hotel. Staff were amazing, very helpful. Buffet breakfast was included and had everything you would want. Hot tubs on the roof are amazing. We had a great experience at this hotel and would definately come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wthistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Wthistle,

We are so glad to hear you had such a great experience while staying with us, and thank you for writing a positive review to share with other readers! Our team here at the hotel strives to make each and every guest feel comfortable and taken care of during their stay – we will be sure to pass along your kind words! Our hotel is fortunate to have such great features, like the amazing Jacuzzi’s on the roof! They are definitely a crowd pleaser because of the views and relaxing atmosphere. Of course, breakfast is always included when you stay with us so we like to make sure the variety and selection is as wide as possible! We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest Regards,


Greg Egglesfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my family in feb and it was an Awesome hotel. On the roof tops there are the most amazing views,it has a very nice hot tub which we luckily had to ourselves watching the sun rise, pleasant and helpful staff, comfy beds, good choice of breakfast. We sat in the bar area which was very relaxing.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littlemswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear imlittlemsbb,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor! It is wonderful to know that you had such a great stay during your time in Toronto and that you were able to experience our one-of-a-kind amenities like the rooftop Jacuzzis! They are a wonderful place to unwind and take in a 360 degree view of the city. Including complimentary breakfast for our guests is something we are very pleased to offer – we are very glad to hear you enjoyed the selection!

We hope to see you again at The Grand very soon!

Warmest Regards,

Greg Egglesfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We bought this offer through tembuy for an anniversary celebration gateway.. We arrived early (2:15pm) obviously trying to make the maximum use of our stay but was told that the room was not ready. The front desk agent told us she would call once the room was ready.. We didn't mind so decided to go for a drive downtown and head back. We did not recieve any call but headed back to the hotel at approximately 3:20PM. They now said our room was ready. We went up to our "Junior Suite"- not such a big deal. Very tightly compact room with a very tight bedroom aread.. The room was EXTREMELY HOT AND STUFFY. However, we were welcomed with a nut and cookie basket. We tried to use the free internet with our ipad but was unable to connect. After a quick nap and shower we were ready for the dinner at Citrus. The steak was great but the halibut was not so great. Not too much of a variety for the buck. After dinner we spoke to the front desk about the air in the room and how we were unable to sleep because of the heat. The front desk advised us that they would send someone up as we were just heading out to the centre of the city for some night entertainment. However, upon returning to our room we noticed that it was still very hot and stuffy in the room and now we had a plug in fan?? YOU CALL THIS A HOTEL? WE do NOT NEED TO PAY so much money to have to use a plug in fan to keep us cool??

We were extremely disappointed but given that it was pretty late we modified our sleeping patterns and slept closer to the fan to keep us ventilated through the night. The next morning we woke up and went down for breakfast but massive line up. THey offered us a seat in the bar area or on one of the bar nook tables. How bizzare that we have to eat so uncomfortably? Overall breakfast was a standard meal, the potatoes were great. Not much of a variety. We were given a late checkout so it was a pretty smooth transaction. Overall i would not recommend this hotel as I think there is so much more variety for comfort and customer service elswhere. I wish they had tried to accomodate our requests for the room being so stuffy.

Room Tip: Junior Suite was not so junior for me
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#34 of 137 in Toronto
1,818 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toronto

Address: 225 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#15 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $192 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing