We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extraordinary hotel, friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toronto
Ranked #23 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extraordinary hotel, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I travelled to Toronto on business and decided to try the grand hotel downtown. Hotel is not far from the bay street and shopping area. Very friendly service and very quick. The room was very large, nice bathroom, comfortable bed, has a fridge and good free internet. They have 2 hot jacuzzis on roof with a very nice view, roof is open even in winter. Hotel has a private car that takes guests to locations that are close by during the week days. Room service is very quick and the hotel has excellent breakfast and very good fresh coffee. I will go back for sure when I need to be in Toronto

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vagan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Vagan A,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent business trip to Toronto and for posting a great review for other Trip Advisor readers! We are so pleased to hear that the service you received from our team was to your liking. It is wonderful to know that our newly renovated guest rooms met your expectations and that you enjoyed the suite features that all our rooms boast, such as the fridge, microwave and stove top!

We strive to offer added value to our guests, which is why we always provide complimentary internet and complimentary buffet breakfast! Another feature that we are glad to hear you experienced is our house Cadillac Escalade that offers drop off service around the downtown core. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand on your next trip to Toronto!

Warmest Regards,


Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    602
    160
    65
    59
See reviews for
526
621
67
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at this hotel this past weekend and it was amazing.
The staff was super friendly, and they were easy to work with my restrictions. I can't wait to come back and stay here! Thank you Grand Hotel and Thank you Parris!
Sarina Jain

Room Tip: the rooms are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarina143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Sarina143,

We were so glad to welcome you to our hotel at the beginning of March! Thank you for the recognizing our wonderful staff – they do their best to go above and beyond to ensure all guests have an excellent experience! We hope you had a chance to enjoy the amenities in our hotel during your stay – if not you’ll have to on your next visit! We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Warmest Regards,

Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed for 18 nights as I was on a business trip from Sydney. I was very impressed with the room (very clean), the staff were very friendly and the restaurant was fantastic. The breakfast buffet was very good, I stay at a lot of hotels and this is one I would return to. When I read reviews before I arrived, comments about the area were questionable but it was fine. Also I had a north facing room on level 16 and the views were lovely. A special thanks to the doormen, They were so helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 166Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear 166Linda,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent business trip from Sydney! We are very glad to hear how much you enjoyed your room and some of our other hotel amenities such as the restaurant and complimentary buffet breakfast! We strive to provide a wide variety of hot and cold breakfast foods each morning to ensure we are offering the best to our guests.
I am also very glad to hear that, upon experiencing the location of our hotel, you were satisfied. We are lucky enough to be within walking distance of so many great areas in Toronto, like the Distillery District, St. Lawrence Market and Yonge & Dundas Square.

A sincere thank you for acknowledging our doormen and their service! We will certainly pass the recognition on to them. We do hope to welcome you back during your next trip to Toronto, whether for business or pleasure!

Warmly,

Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just got back from a weekend stay at the Grand Hotel and we greatly enjoyed the hotel.

Citrus restaurant was awesome! Diverse menu and first class service.

Doormen and front desk were very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the pool, very nice clean area and good water temperature.

The room is really spacious modern chic. Grand deluxe room has a nice layout,wood flooring, seating area and two flat screen tvs.

Hotel is close to the eaton centre, king street and the saint lawrence market.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear steveisr,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a great review for other Trip Advisor readers to see! We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your weekend at our hotel and had a chance to dine in Citrus restaurant while staying with us! The indoor pool is a great place to unwind – we hope you also had a chance to take in the view on the rooftop while relaxing in the Jacuzzis! Our close proximity to some of Toronto’s most notable attractions (like the ones you mentioned) make it a great location for people wanting to take in the sights of the city. We can’t wait to see you back at The Grand soon!

Warmly,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My friends and I had booked 3 rooms side by side for a 2 night stay as we were all attending a show together that weekend in Toronto. We arrived around 430pm to discover our rooms were not ready yet and we had to wait in the lobby 45 minutes before they came and told us our rooms were ready. We entered our rooms where I then continued to shower and found used shampoo bottles tucked in with our clean towels from the previous guest, making me wonder if the towels were even replaced after they had left. The show ended that night at 11pm and we proceeded back to the hotel to our room and got harassed by security for noise complaints at 1130pm so we dispersed from the hotel. The next day front desk called and asked when we were checking out (even though we had booked 2 nights) and said if we would like to stay another night the rate of the room would change from $209 to $399 per night. As we were leaving (after of course refusing to pay that ridiculous amount) our bill had been charged an additional $70 claiming 2 others had stayed in our room (with one bed) as well. After explaining multiple times to the reception no one else had stayed in our room they forced us to pay the fee explaining to us the manager would deal with it later, which she refunded when she watched the video tapes proving us right. Our weekend get away was completely ruined because of this hotel and I will never recommend or be returning ever again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Natasha R,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We have further investigated your recent stay with us this past weekend and can see that all 3 rooms that were booked with us were all checked in at different times ranging from 3:12pm to 5:30pm. We did find that 2 rooms were checked into the hotel right away, and the third room at 5:30pm. As a token of our apologies for the late check in of the third room, we provided this room a complimentary gift which was sent up shortly after check in.

As an added security measure, we have security which patrols the hotel in the evenings. During the evening of your stay, we had received a complaint from noise that stemmed from traffic between two suites. This concern was brought to the attention of our Night Manager as it was after the midnight hour. We proceeded to have our security investigate the complaint and discovered that the concern had come from your guest suite. By our security team investigating the issues was by no means harassment but was intended to ensure that your stay and the stay of our other guests in the hotel were most comfortable.

I understand there was some confusion with the number of nights you were staying with us and regarding the rate of the room. We do apologize for this and did offer you a second night stay at a reduced rate that would have matched the same rate at which your first night was originally booked at.

I’m sorry that our added security measures to ensure the comfort of all of our guests ruined your weekend but I truly hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.


Warmly,


Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hubby and I spent 1 night at the Grand (February 18, 2013). Check-in was a disappointment. We had booked a junior suite October 2012 for thes 1 night stay. When we arrived we were told our room wasn't ready so we took the complimentry drink that was offered while we waited. After our drink we checked back and room was still not ready. We were given our parking pass and told we could park our car while we waited, we proceeded to do so. Since we didn't have a room key yet, we had to use the intercom system so that someone could open the door to the underground parking ........... no one answered, back inside we went. When we were told that our room was ready, we were advised that it wasn't a junior suite, we asked how this happened and were told that someone just booked it. Another comlimentry drink offered. Well, no big deal we really just needed a place to sleep for the night. We brought our stuff to our standard room on the 16th floor and left for our night out. The room was nice and suited our needs. The breakfast buffet is a must!! Great selection and taste. We would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank its5oclocksomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear its5oclocksomewhere,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. I want to sincerely apologize for the way your check-in was handled, and assure you this has been brought to the department’s attention. I am very happy to hear you were pleased with your accommodations once you got settled, and that the breakfast buffet was to your liking. We do our best to offer a wide variety of hot and cold items to suit many tastes!

We look forward to having you back at the hotel soon.

Warmly,


Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Took my boyfriend for his birthday on Family Day weekend. We knew it would be busy but overall we didn't really notice the "extra" people. I called in advance and told them we were celebrating a birthday and upon arrival to our room there was a nice gift and personalized card for him. Very nice touch. We arrived at 2pm and our room was ready. We stayed in the Jr Suite on the 15th floor. Yes you can see the lake but try for something higher. Our room was very comfortable. A little disappointed with the size of the bedroom, but really, who cares. The bed was very comfortable.The large pool was wonderfully warm and comfortable lounge chairs. Felt like a spa! The rooftop hot tubs are fantastic.It was COLD out but put your boots and robe on and run out there. Jump in and enjoy! We were there under the stars and again in the afternoon with the sun.. Perfect. Was busy at night but everyone was friendly and well behaved. Dinner at Citrus was nice but not GRAND. The food was nicely presented and the steak is very big but, there was something lacking. I'm not a picky eater, but I did find something "not there". The celery root soup and mussels were very good though. We moved to the lounge area for after dinner drinks. Nice, but the couches could use an overhaul for sure. The hotel is lovely and yes, great deal on the buffet breakfast for sure.. The amenities are wonderful, so use them. If you can find a deal on line, take it and pack your bathing suit and enjoy some R&R.

Room Tip: if you can, reserve a Jr Suite. Always ask for a high floor facing south if you want to see the lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnydazesunnydaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear sunnydaze20,


Thank you very much for the positive review! We are so glad you chose to spend your boyfriend’s birthday with us, and are very happy to have offered the special treat upon arrival. The Junior Suite is a great room if you’re looking for a bit of extra space. We have just replaced all the mattresses in our guest rooms with new ones, so thank you for letting us know the bed was to your liking! Aside from the room, it sounds like you were really able to enjoy all the amenities we have to offer our guests – even braving the cold weather to enjoy the Jacuzzis at night! We do appreciate the feedback regarding Citrus, and are actually in the early stages of a restaurant-wide renovation.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future!


Warmly,


Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toronto

Property: Grand Hotel Toronto
Address: 225 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#14 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing