We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shuttle service was terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Toronto Airport Marriott Hotel
Ranked #54 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott before our trip and the room was fine. Service in the restaurant was some of the slowest I have ever experienced. The shuttle to the airport in the morning was fine.

When we returned home from our trip, we checked the shuttle schedule to ensure we were ready and waiting for the shuttle. We were at the shuttle stop 12 minutes before the scheduled pickup time. The shuttle did not come at all for the 10:40pm stop. We waited in the cold and snow until we finally got a ride on the 11:05pm shuttle. During this time, the Hilton shuttle stopped 6 times to pick up. There were multiple stops from many other airport hotel shuttles as well.

I called the Marriott twice while we waited only to be told they" could not reach the shuttle company" and they were unable to offer any assistance. When we finally reached the hotel lobby, I asked for an explanation and was told that the shuttle company could not provide an explanation for missing the 10:40 shuttle time. No further explanation was offered to me. I pressed Monica at the front desk for a more detailed explanation and asked if we would be offered anything for our inconvenience. We booked at this hotel based on the promise that the shuttle runs "every 25 minutes". Monica said she could offer me a cup of coffee but nothing else. I explained that I would be noting a Trip Advisor review and asked again if a reason could be provided for this poor service but Monica said no.

I will definitely NOT be using this hotel again! A very disappointing end to an otherwise wonderful family holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family_of_Four_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

503 - 509 of 733 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stay here when ever we fly out of Pearson. It is just so convenient to be able to leave our car in the underground garage for the week. The hotel is clean and the staff is great. The only complaint I have is that it would be nice to come down for the shuttle and have a coffee and muffin without having to go into the restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Marriott in December for a night before flying to Mexico. The hotel is very clean and the front desk staff go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and memorable. We paid under $150.00 for each room which allowed us to leave our cars in their underground parking garage for the week we were away. Very good deal since you pay close to $100 to park in the covered parking garage at the airport.
Rooms were spacious, clean and the beds very comfortable. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for anyone staying one or several nights.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuellaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonHolliwell, Manager at Toronto Airport Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear LuellaMarie,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We do a great amount of Park and Fly business and guests love our underground parking.

We also have about 50 parking spots above ground. During yesterday's huge snowstorm, our Sales team treked out into the snow and brushed off all of our guest's cars. We imagined that they were somewhere nice and warm - but that they would appreciate the effort when they got back.

I hope your vacation was enjoyable. Thanks for staying with us.

Jonathan Holliwell
Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nice Hotel , but nothing out of the ordinary . I stayed here for a couple weeks in the early summer. The Hotel is nice and clean , it's close to several restaurants and close to the airport.
I got a company rate so thus the reason I stayed here. Nothing to complain about but an average hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LONDON232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonHolliwell, Manager at Toronto Airport Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear London232323,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay last summer. We were glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Jonathan Holliwell
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Let me start off with it's nice hotel. We stayed for the park and fly. The check-in was great, we had drinks in the bar and a great night sleep as well. For $249 you think you would get breakfast included but no. Then we went down to meet the shuttle and he left three min. early because of bad weather????. Not a problem just irritating. If you can get this hotel for a good price then stay, but if it's going to be a couple of hundred go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesjegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonHolliwell, Manager at Toronto Airport Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Jamesjegen,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. There are times when, due to business levels, our rates are higher. Typicaly our rate is much lower that $249/night.

In terms of your Shuttle experience, i am sorry that the driver left 3 minutes early. We do track the timing accuracy of the shuttle. Each time the shuttle arrives, the driver enters the hotel an marks the time on a tracking form. This way we can monitor the accuracy. On time shuttles is very important to our guests.

I hope you have a nice vacation.

Kind Regards,

Jonathan Holliwell
Director of Hotel Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We only stay at Marriott hotels, because of their reliability in terms of great comfort and service. The beds and pillows are fabulous: I even ordered a couple for home. We also love the room service option, which is great when you get in after a long day of travelling. For stopovers, the underground parking lot is ideal. We also loved the breakfast, which now offers the option of fresh fruit instead of home fries (healthy and tasty!)
However, on both nights of our stopover stay, the noise from the corridors was intrusive and disrupted our sleep. Also, I should have mentioned this at the time, but the room had a very unpleasant, musty smell, like dirty carpeting. At the end of a long day, I didn't have the energy to move. I'm surprised a housekeeping staff or manager did not notice this.
Management, can you separate groups and families with children more effectively from those who specificallly request quiet rooms? What about a designated "quiet area" in a separate wing or floor?

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool/green space is attractive. Watch out for large and raucous groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the hotel before and after our Caribbean trip over Christmas. The underground parking is a definite 'draw' for us as one hates to scrape the car after returning home to a past snowstorm. We were happy to have scored a wonderful price as compared to other times of the year! The lobby was decorated tastefully for Christmas with a gorgeously decorated tree in the center of the seating area. Beautiful. :-) As well, several departments had had a contest for the best gingerbread house and guests were asked to vote on them, which were located on a long table. It was fun!

The front desk staff cannot do enough for the guests. They are so friendly and professional, it really is a treat. In fact, their shuttle to the airport doesn't begin until 4 a.m. As we wanted to be at the airport before that time., one of the receptionists called the van the night before and had them come early to pick us up. What great service THAT is!

Our rooms were lovely and roomy. The king-size bed is extremely comfy. The television has good reception. A large chair with ottoman provides for relaxing, reading or watching t.v.

We always enjoy staying at the Marriott!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wegothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonHolliwell, Manager at Toronto Airport Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Wegothere,

That you for posting this review. We were thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay.

I have personally thanked the Front Desk, and our Shuttle Service for making accomodations for your early flight. I am glad that worked out.

Thanks again for your comments.

Kind Regards,

Jonathan Holliwell
Director of Hotel Operations
Toronto Airport Marriott

P.S. The Front Desk won the gingerbread decorations contest, with their "Who-ville" design. They get a pizza party at their next staff meeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toronto
Westin Toronto Airport
#64 of 137 in Toronto
65 reviews
Etobicoke
Sheraton Toronto Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
Etobicoke
Courtyard Toronto Airport
Courtyard Toronto Airport
#73 of 137 in Toronto
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Etobicoke
Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Airport Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Airport Marriott Hotel

Address: 901 Dixon Rd, Toronto, Ontario M9W 1J5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Etobicoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#40 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $124 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Airport Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto Airport Marriott Hotel is situated just minutes from Pearson International Airport, downtown Toronto, Brampton, and Mississauga. Our Toronto airport hotel's location is perfect for business and leisure travel, and we offer complimentary airport shuttle so you don't have to worry about taxis and airport transfers. Our hotel features an indoor pool and fitness facilities. Toronto Airport Marriott Hotel also boasts a business centre and a superb restaurant, Bistro East by West. Stay at Toronto Airport Marriott Hotel and enjoy everything you need for a pleasant and memorable trip to Toronto, Canada. Our spacious hotel rooms offer comfort and elegance, featuring contemporary design and an array of thoughtful amenities including deluxe bedding, a flat-screen TV, and an ergonomic work area. Toronto Airport Marriott Hotel sits on 7 acres of land overlooking Royal Woodbine Golf Club. Our luxury hotel provides the perfect backdrop for guests who have come to Toronto to work or play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toronto Airport Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing